Industrial Deals HPC Design the future with O'Reilly Media Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on September 29, 2015
This just best story of the most positive man in the music industry. The only person that comes to mind is to possibly compare him to George Martin except he worked on the ABB. I think it's Gregg Allman who calls him his mentor and best friend…oh yeah he's the guy that got Duane Allman and Eric clapton together and then they all made that album called….what was it oh yeah Derek and the Dominos "Layla and other assorted love songs" or something like that. I need to have this in my possession to refer to anytime I thinks something is out of balance. Because I play, write, record, and just generally live and sleep music in my life. Check me out: at YT /user/loowood2
review image
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 26, 2016
That's what people keep asking me when I show them this -- and the answer is, YES, from nuclear physicist working on the atom bomb, at an amazingly young age, to probably the single greatest and most important jazz, R & B, and rock music producer in history -- HOW DID IT HAPPEN? Just watch this video. Stunning man, stunning life; he will be forever missed. ALL YOU SUPPOSED "PRODUCERS" OUT THERE, OR THE 90% OF YOU WHO ARE JUST CON ARTISTS: WATCH THIS, AND LEARN WHAT YOU NEED TO BE DOING FOR MUSICIANS!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 21, 2005
I happened to catch this film on the Sundance Channel, and was floored by this man Tom Dowd. A name that I had never heard of, and yet one that had been so vital in the deveopment of the music, musicians and recording technology that I grew up with and still love today. Anyone that has or is still playing or recording music owes it to themselves to pick up this DVD. All other music lovers and historians, if you want a glimpse into the mind of the man that was behind some of the best sessions coaxed out of Cream, Eric Clapton, The Allman Brothers, Derek and the Dominos, Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin. Booker T and the MGs, classic acts from the southlands and primo Jazz sessions caught on the fly by state of the art recording equipment built by Mr. Dowd will find this DVD interesting too. One other note, Tom always worked for hire, he never got rich even though he revolutionized the recording industry. He really loved the music.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 18, 2016
If Tom Dowd was still alive he would be The Most Interesting Man in The World. This DVD captures the history and some of the most famous recordings of this century: Clapton, Ray Charles, The Allman Brothers Band, Lynyrd Skynrd and hundreds more, all produced by Tom Dowd.
What's also fascinating is the secret work he did with the U.S. Government on developing the atom bomb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2015
Tom Dowd probably had more influence on both jazz and rock in the 50's and 60's than anyone else who was behind the scenes. He was a child prodigy, worked on the Manhattan Project (the atom bomb), recorded many of the jazz legends of the post WWII era, even suggested the back beat for Sunshine of Your Love. I've given three copies of this DVD to friends. My only complaint is that it appears the project ran out of money and out of steam just as Tom Dowd's life on this earth was also running out. But what an amazing person.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 14, 2009
I could call myself an amateur music historian. I prefer to think of myself as a music history nut. No study of modern music history would be complete without viewing this video. It tells how Tom Dowd, the lead audio engineer at Atlantic Records, helped create his sound. Interviews with Dowd help music history students and rock music history lovers understand what a profound influence audio engineers have had on the sounds we all enjoy.
Tom explains, mostly in layman's terms, how he created the sounds that went onto the records and how the artists were "discovered" by Atlantic, Stax, and other record producers. Many stars in the business are interviewed, from Ray Charles, to the Allman Brothers, showing how Dowd helped them create the sound they were looking for without him being too overbearing on sensitive artists' creativity. In doing so, Dowd was as much a A&R man and a publicist as he was an audio engineer. He was nothing short of a genius and this video tells his story as well as the story of music creation during early rock'n'roll better than any of the books I've read.
More than this, the video tells how Dowd, Atlantic, and Stax were foremost in breaking down the walls of segregation in the south through music and helped bring soul music to the masses. I highly recommend this video to anyone who loves rock music and would like to know more about it's history.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 7, 2013
Having been a life-long musician and fan, I've read liner notes since my first Elvis record. One name kept popping-up...Tom Dowd. After reading Eric Claptons autobiography and then chancing upon this DVD, I immediately bought it and have watched it, maybe 10 times. It's easy to see why he was so good at what he did and so loved by the people that he worked with. His life was an American success story in that it appears that he did what he loved his entire life and was a real force in shaping the sound of music as we are able to enjoy it. His inventions and techniques changed the recording industry just in time to usher in musics golden age. R.I.P. - Tom Dowd.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 27, 2010
this video is a must-see for any audiophile or musician. well researched and written. takes you from the beginning of tom dowd's career as a recording engineer to recorded music as we know it today. it is amazing to see how primitive the technology was and how sharp and instinctive the engineer had to be just to capture the basic sound of the performance. he worked with a virtual who's who of artists. thelonious monk,john coltrane,tito puente, ray charles,aretha franklin, the cream, led zepplin, allman brothers, leonard skinner, and many others. includes historical footnotes about tomas edison and tom dowd's involvement in the development of the atomic bomb. interviews with eric clapton,gregg allman,dickie betts, ahmet ertegun,jerry wexler,phil ramone, and other musicians and industry people. it is not an exageration to say that tom dowd was a genius. he also had an excellent knowledge and feel for music and was an excellent teacher, arranger, and motivater. he worked extremely well with all the musicians and became friends and mentor to them. if you love music and history you will love this documentery.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on February 18, 2010
If you have followed popular American music of the last 50 years, you will love this portrait of Atlantic Records engineer Tom Dowd. Using interviews and concert and rehearsal footage, the documentary traces Dowd's career, from the days of direct-to-disc live recording in the late '40s through the advent of digital recording in the '80s and '90s. Dowd was there at every stage and he played a critical role in the development of jazz, soul, and rock. As an engineer, producer, and coach, he helped create some of the most important music from people like John Coltane, Ornette Coleman, and the Modern Jazz Quartet, through Ray Charles, Aretha Franklin, the Drifters, the Coasters, Rufus Thomas, Charles Mingus, Eric Clapton, the Allman Brothers, Lynard Skynard and countless others. Dowd appreciated all music, and he had the musical chops as well as the technical expertise to help bring the artists' potential to realization. Fascinating and uplifting, and highly recommended for artists, engineers, producers and anyone else who loves music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 20, 2015
Very enjoyable and elightening documentary. I was growing up in Miami durng that era and Criteria was concidered Mecca for musicians in the area. As a musician and music lover, there were no greater and influencial producers as Tom Dowd and George Martin. Interesting also to hear him speak very briefly as to how he didn't get rich from his body of work, but felt enriched for the expereinces of his colaboration with some of the all time greats.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse