Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Tom and Jerry: Shiver Me Whiskers (Blu-ray)
Amazon Vehicles GoldBox Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
59
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$8.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 10, 2010
We rented this movie a couple of days ago for our 5 year old. He has watched it so many times in just three days. he doesn't want to return it. So now we'll have to buy one.

Personally I would rate this movie 2 stars, since I did not really find it that great. It's basically a constant repetition of the same. Jerry outsmarting Tom, Tom after Jerry, pats-boom, Jerry gets hurt, and start over again. Throw the bulldog character in, pirateships with pirates with there parrots, a treasure map, and treasure island, a curse, and some obstacles, where Tom and Jerry do there repetitive pats-boom, till the end, where of course the usual character ends with a smile.

But our 5 year old loves it, and watches it over and over and really likes it. And since it's really a kid's cartoon movie, I have to respect his opinion on this one. Hence based on his constant watching of it, I have no choice then to rate it 4 stars.

I do like it though that classic cartoons like Tom and Jerry never go old, and new generations still love to watch it.

Ps. If you want to try something different then classic cartoon,... take a look at Playmobil: The Secret of Pirate Island.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2015
Tom and Jerry are two sailors aboard a pirate ship, captained by Red Pirate Ron who talks through his parrat because all he can say is "YAR", that is caught in heavy storms on the sea. When a particularly large wave crashes on deck it brings with it a glass bottle with a treasure map leading to the "Lost Treasure of the Spanish Mane". Tom and Jerry fight for the map only to lose it to the Captain, who; as it turns out, has been searching for this treasure of 40 years. Red Pirate Ron brothers, Blue Pirate Bob and Purple Pirate Paul, have also been searching for this lost treasures. As the ship sails to Yo-Ho-Ho Island where the treasure is buried they encounter Blue Pirate Bob's ship.

It turns out that when these pirates where young and aboard their mother's pirate ship they found this map, but fought over it resulting in the Pirate mom taking all their maps from from them and putting them in bottles and dumping them out to sea. Anyway, as Tom manages to get his paws on the map again we find out, from the ghost of Don Diego de Clippershears, that a terrible curse will befall them if the map is not returned to bottle before sunset. This doesn't happen due to the battle between Blue and Red Pirates, which results in the curse awakening the long dead pirates of the Spanish Mane who seizes Red Pirate Ron's Ship.

The rag-tag pirate crew make their way to Yo-Ho-Ho Island where both Tom and Jerry are able to get the map back and look for the treasure. Meanwhile the Red and Blue Pirates are also looking for the treasure, Tom and Jerry, and fighting amongst themselves. Tom and Jerry also encounter Purple Pirate Paul who has been on the island for 10 years and not be able to find the treasure....not sure how that happens but whatever. Anyway, Tom and Jerry manage to outwit Purple Paul and find the treasure, but alas the ghost of Don Diego awakens and leads Tom and Jerry on an elaborate Rube Goldbergesque hunt for the buried treasure. Both Tom and Jerry manage to outwit the traps, working together and getting a bit of treasure as they sail off to live on their riches...and then go back to chasing each other.

The Good:
Well, I will have to say that this is truly the first Direct to DVD movie that understands how important the music was to the original Tom and Jerry cartoons. The soundtrack is featured very heavily in the action and movements of all the characters especially Tom and Jerry. This movies also heavily relies on some of the old cartoon sound effects, especially Tom's scream. The animation is pretty solid hand-drawn work and very fluid. I enjoyed how clever traps were to find the treasure. The other stand out of this is how Tom and Jerry interact with each other. There is the obvious rivalry and not the overt chase for the sake of chasing.

The Bad:
For the love! The endless "YAR","yar", "YAAARRRR" from Red Pirate Ron and Blue Pirate Bob really gets old. REALLY! It doesn't help that the parrot companions on each captain's shoulder is annoying too as they translate the grunts and the yars. The funny thing is that Purple Pirate Paul actually talks normally and has a parrot that yars and grunts. The traps that Tom and Jerry have to go through, were elaborate, but ended up being ridiculous with each progressive solution.

The Ugly:
Captain Ron's "yarring" really got annoying after more than a half hour of watching this. But my biggest beef with Shiver Me Whiskers was there hardly seemed to be a break in the chase scenes. One right after the other of endless running, chasing, dodging, fighting. It became exhausting watching this. Now I get that Tom and Jerry chase each other...it's kind of their thing; but there comes a point of being excessive after an hour of chases.

Overall, I think this one of the closest the new Tom and Jerry's have come to the magic of the MGM era. It is a testament to Joseph Barbera still being alive at the ti
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2014
I was apprehensive about this purchase. I find that most of Tom and Jerry dvds are of poor creative quality. I love Tom and Jerry and the old classics. A lot of the T & J products put out remind me of that Saturday morning cartoon fiasco when they made toys and then put out poor creative quality cartoons to sell them. This dvd is great. It's new style animation. I can live with that.
It's a good story, lot's of pirates, a volcano, a fun movie for a child who loves pirates. No misrepresentation here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2015
TOM AND JERRY SHIVER ME WHISKERS: ORIGINAL MOVIE [2006] [Blu-ray] Enjoy the Ho-Ho-Hilarious of the World’s Favorite Cat & Mouse Team in Their Original Movie!

It’s a swashbuckling pirate adventure when Tom sets sail as a lowly cabin cat for the biggest, baddest pirate on the high sea: the infamous Captain Red. Tired of swabbing the deck all day, Tom thinks his luck has changed when a mysterious bottle a treasure map washed on board. But poor little Jerry has been guarding the treasure map and now has a greedy cat on his paws. The race is on and Tom and Jerry must work together to get past coconut-throwing monkeys and a giant slimy octopus, and then outsmart the pirates to find the buried treasure!

Voice Cast: Kevin Michael Richardson, Kathy Najimy, Charles Nelson Reilly, Wallace Shawn, Mark Hamill and William Hanna (archive recording uncredited)

Director: Scott Jeralds

Producers: Scott Jeralds and Tom Minton

Screenplay: Chris Painter

Composer: Mark Watters

Video Resolution: 1080p

Aspect Ratio: 1.37:1

Audio: English: 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio, Spanish: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Danish: 2.0 Dolby Digital, Norwegian: 2.0 Dolby Digital and Swedish: 2.0 Dolby Digital

Subtitles: English SDH, Spanish Danish, Norwegian and Swedish

Running Time: 71 minutes

Region: Region A/1

Number of discs: 1

Studio: Warner Home Video

Andrew’s Blu-ray Review: The adventures of the William Hanna and Joseph Barbera creations, ‘Tom and Jerry Shiver Me Whiskers: Original Movie’ is their latest adventure. Although the director of this outing, Scott Jerolds, has done a number of other direct-to-video cartoons, for example ‘Superman’ and ‘Scooby-Doo’ and the like, so he has the experience, he doesn't seem yet ready for the big screen. ‘Shiver Me Whiskers’ plays like a children’s television product, but despite this, it is still an enjoyable cartoon adventure.

In this adventure, Tom and Jerry are crew members aboard a pirate ship sailing the Seven Seas. They engage in the usual hijinks, with Jerry usually getting the best of his big buddy, Tom, and the ship getting the worst of their pranks.

One day a wave washes a bottle on deck, and inside they find a treasure map. At first, they fight over the map, and we get typical Tom-and-Jerry, Roadrunner-and-Coyote type shenanigans while they wreak havoc aboard the ship. Then Tom learns the map comes with a curse; he's got to put it back in the bottle by sunset or face dire consequences. The rest of the animation film involves Tom, Jerry, the ship's captain, Red Pirate Ron, and others trying to find the map's treasure, the "treasure of the Spanish Mane," hidden away by the most famous wig maker in Spain.

The gags are routine, mostly slapstick, but not very imaginative slapstick. I'm sure the animation film will entertain the youngest members of the family, for whom the filmmakers intended it, but there probably is not enough originality to any of the tomfoolery to interest most adults. About the only other things of interest in the film I haven't mentioned are an erupting volcano and a rock rooster.

The film boasts some good voice talents and they are Kevin Michael Richardson plays the Red Pirate Ron and Blue Pirate Bob; Charles Nelson Reilly does Red Parrot Stan; Wallace Shawn is Barnacle Paul; and, best of all, Mark Hamill voices the Skull, possibly the most interesting character in the story.

Blu-ray Video Quality – ‘Tom and Jerry Shiver Me Whiskers: Original Movie’ is brought to you via a stunning high definition voyage, and a wonderful 1080p encoded image, with a generous 1.37:1 aspect ratio. Colours are bold and bountiful, with piercing primaries and deep blacks, and contrast is at least fairly consistent, but the rest of the image is fraught with some slight pixilation and shadow outline.

Blu-ray Audio Quality – Warner Home Video 5.1 DTS-HD Master Audio audio track delivers an exciting experience, but even at its most chaotic and adventurous has its quiet moments. Voices are bright and effects are crisp and clear, and the output is strong and seaworthy, and music has its way with the sound field. The rear speakers are used sparingly and sporadically, with a hint of dynamics. Yes. Exciting and enveloping. And all the family will have a very enjoyable cartoon adventure.

Blu-ray Special Features and Extras:

Trailers: ‘Scooby-Doo! Mask of the Blue Falcon’ [Blu-ray + DVD] [1080p] [16:9] [0:45]. ‘LEGO® Batman – The Movie’ [Blu-ray + DVD] [1080p] [16:9] [1:50]

Sneak Peaks: ‘Tom and Jerry & The Wizard of Oz’ [Blu-ray + DVD] [1080p] [16:9] [1:00]. ‘Tom and Jerry & Robin Hood and his Merry Mouse: Original Movie’ [Blu-ray + DVD] [1080p] [16:9] [1:02]

Finally, Yo ho ho and a bottle of fun... and for me it was an enjoyable romp, as Tom and Jerry is one of my favourite Warner Bros. comedy duo. Warner Bros. have brought us some of the best short cartoons ever made. Some people have slatted this Blu-ray, because they are moaning in stretching a seventy-one minute feature film. Well I thoroughly enjoyed this cartoon romp and critics should not be up their pretentious pompous attitude. This is a great modern version of the old M-G-M cartoon characters and cannot recommend this brilliant cartoon adventure. Highly Recommended!

Andrew C. Miller – Your Ultimate No.1 Film Fan
Le Cinema Paradiso
WARE, United Kingdom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 17, 2013
My son and his cousins love this movie. They were Tom and Jerry fans to begin with. There are other Tom and Jerry movies out there and this is one of the best. I recommend it to children that like Tom and Jerry.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2014
It is a great collection of Tom and Jerry cartoons... one of my favorite classics. I bought it for my daughter who at this writing, has only watched it a couple of times. With that said, it is colorful, animated, and classic funny. It won't disappoint so you might as well get it now to add to your collections. Remember it is a classic cartoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2014
Bought this for my 4 year old granddaughter. She love Tom & Jerry cartoons. She enjoyed most of the DVD but then got a little board. It is over an hour so for a 4 year old that's too long. The story line is cute.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2013
My kiddos absolutely love Tom and Jerry. Shiver Me Whiskers was a perfect addition to their Tom and Jerry Collection. Even though this is the modern Tom and Jerry Cartoon it captures the original series perfectly. It has great animation and humor. Absolutely love it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 2, 2013
My 4 yr old really likes this cartoon. He is into pirates right now so this is perfect. We have a couple of seasons of Tom and Jerry on his Kindle and this was a great addition to the collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2012
My 5 year old son has seen just about every Tom and Jerry episode so I was looking for something new. It's not the typical Tom and Jerry but he loved it!! Good purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse