Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: TomTom VIA 1505TM 5-Inch GPS Navigator with Lifetime Traffic & Maps(Discontinued by Manufacturer)
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Dolly Parton Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon ElvisandNixon  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on August 25, 2016
cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
It works fine but does not last long! The customer service people are willing to help, but sometimes I have trouble to their accent in English. What can I say? Just keep your fingers cross and wish this thing will not break when you are in an unfamiliar and remote areas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
Map insufficient!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2016
We were looking at some of the more expensive models, studying features and eating reviews. Down your due diligence. Ultimately it became clear the upscale models had some nice bells and whistles but fell short of adding enough value to warrant spending more.

This model VIA 1535TM arrived in 2 days (Prime) was neatly packaged and came with just a basic quick start guide, along with the charging cable and charger and USB cable. The suction cup grabbed the windshield firmly and stayed put, the bluetooth paired with my wife's phone quickly, voice direction worked well and planned our routes without issue. The split screen feature at highway exit is very helpful. Overall a great GPS for the money. We both have owned previous Tom Toms in the past and this was a nice upgrade.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
It give clear directions well in advance of the next turn. Much better than the model. Have not tried the voice commands yet
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 20, 2016
unfortunately, tomtom apparently suspends or ends the lifetime maps program if the device goes more than 90 days without an update, this rendering the "value" of the lifetime map program moot. This device now uses maps from 2011. what a great way to treat customers.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
This GPS has all the good features of my Tom Tom XXL except it is not as large (as you would expect). The voice recognition is AWFUL. I might as well be speaking Swahili. And YES I speak English perfectly and have worked as a radio talk show host. One oddity it has is that there is an antenna built into the power cable. You can power it with any micro USB, but if you use the provided cable you get the benefit of the speed cameras and all that because of this little antenna. The problem I encountered is that if you wrap the cord around the unit and this antenna gets anywhere near the actual GPS it will interfere with the satellite signal and cause the unit to be constantly searching for satellite signal. One nice feature it has is that you can mount it right side up or upside down and it automatically adjusts for which way is up. It has one other quirk in that the suction cup mount cannot be disconnected from the unit itself. It is manufactured of a piece. So if you choose, as I did, to use a Hippo type weighted dashboard clamp, you cannot take the suction cup thing off. Strange, but not a problem. Finally, the power button is poorly placed on the back of the unit instead of conveniently on the edge corner as before. Overall I think Tom Tom is the best GPS on the market, but in this one they made some unnecessary and wrong headed modifications.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2016
PURCHASED 2 UNITS 1 USED FROM WAREHOUSE DEAL AND THIS UNIT HAD MISSING PARTS.....NO ONE SEAMED TO CARE.....

PURACHSED ANOTHER NEW UNIT FROM AMAZON DIRECTLY AND FOUND IT TO BE OK. OTHER WISE PERFORMS WELL.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
I had an older TT that I never really used, but when I decided to use it, it worked fine until I had to updat it and that was the end of it. Spent hours to fix the issue, but no luck. When I browsed online, I found out that a lot of people have been having updates issue.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2016
Works good but voice recognition is very week.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 227 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here