Industrial Deals HPC Magazine Deals Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide Limited time offer Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon JCVJ JCVJ JCVJ  All-new Echo Save $10 on Fire 7. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now HTL17_gno

Tombstone
Format: DVD|Change
Price:$4.99+ Free shipping (Addon item)


on May 9, 2016
This is probably the most entertaining western ever made. Truly a classic. Kurt Russell gives his best acting performance as Wyatt Earp. This movie was made in 1993 and will likely never achieve the critical acclaim it deserves. It’s the type of movie that truly separates and divides professional movie critics and the movie-viewing public. In short, this story is about Wyatt coming to Tombstone with his brothers (and their wives) to settle down and put lawman days behind him. Unfortunately, Tombstone just won’t let that happen; a local gang (The Cowboys) on the loose, local law enforcement doesn’t make anything their problem, a crooked poker dealer ripping off the casino and bar.

What makes this film superior to other westerns is the depth of the story and the realistic performances of the cast: Kurt Russell, Val Kilmer, Michael Biehn, Sam Elliott, Billy Bob Thornton, Bill Paxton, Billy Zane, even Charlton Heston. Even supporting roles whether major or minor are carefully crafted and played to perfection. While not necessarily intentional, this movie has fun pieces for everyone: western action, romance, lust, comedy, 1 liners, friendship, regret, self-discovery, addiction, and family. Also, the director seems to have paid close attention or done heave research on period accuracy in costume, language, and props. From what I can tell, it all holds accurate. Particularly, the firearms and scripting used throughout the film.
44 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 8, 2017
What can I say? Absolutely hands down one of the BEST westerns ever!! DEFINITELY about the GF at the OK corral. The entire movie is exciting to watch history unfold (there are some artistic licence taken in the truth, but most find it pretty close-albeit the time line isn't exact). Amust see for fans of western, Wyatt Earp & Bros, Doc Holiday , Kurt Russell and especially Val Kilmer who played Doc Holiday to be the highlight of the movie!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 5, 2017
I was kind of disappointed just a tad as the was the directors cut.......really didn't see much difference.......I think this movie has to be rated in the top ten of westerns......just my opinion.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 14, 2017
This is my favorite among the Wyatt Earp movies! Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer, et. al., develop their roles so well that I forget that I'm in a movie! Superbly done! And without profanity, unless of course, you include the blood and gore of a "shoot out at the O.K. Corral."
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 28, 2017
One of the great westerns - sure to be among the classics. There is one line in this movie that sums up everything I've ever thought about Life. You'll have to watch it to figure that one out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I had to watch this, I live fairly close to Tombstone here in Arizona and have been there a bunch of times! It's a great little city if you've never been.
This movie was actually made in part in Tombstone, though I forgot to look for landmarks I'd recognize!
I really enjoyed this, never thought I was much of a "cowboy movie" lover! I thought the cast was darn near perfect, I just love Kurt Russell and Val Kilmer!
I'm glad I bought this, will watch it over and over again!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 13, 2015
Much like The Young Guns in that this is an all-star cast with Kurt Russell, Sam Elliott, Val Kilmer, Bill Paxton, Dana Delaney, Jason Priestley, Micheal Biehn, and Charlton Heston. WOW. The O.K. Corral is a true story about one of the biggest gunfights in U.S. history! Russell plays the role of Marshall Wyatt Earp and Kilmer plays Doc Holliday. They form a team to take down some outlaws but as with all fights, tragedies occur. Once again, this is a true historical event and they put time and money into costumes, authentic accents and behaviors, and town looks and desert locations in the American West. In an area of Old America known for ruthless aggression, law was needed. Earp and Holliday provided! TRUE STORY!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 12, 2017
On if three best western i heave ever watched. Great cast of characters reliving Inge if the most controversial events in the American west. Lived thus movie, plan on purchasing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2015
Well done, not perfect but well done. Russell as Wyatt Earp is quite good, very believable, and Kilmer as Doc Holliday is superb. The supporting cast is generally excellent too (e.g., Sam Elliott as Virgil Earp.). The film has a "good feel," an authentic feel, to it. And Wyatt Earp's final parting with Doc Holliday is poignant beyond all measure. Yes, the movie mixes fact with myth but then those who would deal with the Old West with only facts are missing a big something about one of the most iconic "episodes" in all of American history, or of any history for that matter since myth is as important to the human condition almost as much as fact is. A film definitely worth seeing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 29, 2013
I have lived in Texas 20 plus years! And in Texas, we still love cowboy movies! Tombstone is the all time and best cowboy movie ever made in history! No cowboy movie can ever match or beat this movie! Not even the cowboy movie Young Guns! The story tells you, how three brothers move into a new town, as retired sheriff from Kansas, and trying to start a new life again as regular civilians! But trouble started whenever the leader of the cowboy gang murder the sheriff in town, and no witness to the crime! That's when the three brothers took the job as the new sheriff of town and made the no guns in town laws! The cowboy gang kill one of the brothers and injured the second brother! Leaving one brother left as the sheriff of town! And than, that's when Kurt Russell became a US Marshall who joined forces with Val Kilmer as, "Doc Holiday," and started hunting down and killing every cowboy gang member who wore a red scarf! This is a must I love to own type of movie! Get it! You won't regret it!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here