Industrial Deals Beauty Save up to 90% on textbooks STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $99.99 Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 68 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 120 reviews
on August 12, 2012
Many of the 1-star reviews are not about the book proper but the lack of availability. The book lives up to previous books in the series in every respect and indeed seems to advance the plot quite significantly.

In this book, Amy and Dan are in Australia trying to follow their late parents' trail. Here they come up against a new antagonist, Isabel Kabra (mother of Ian and Natalie). She is delightfully ruthless and sadistic and provides a whole new level of menace to the series. In contrast, Irina, following the lead of the previous books, continues to evolve from a standard two dimensional "bad guy" to a complex and even sympathetic character. The Holts, while still mostly comic relief, continue to show flashes of competence. At least Hamilton does.

Throughout the book the circumstances of Amy and Dan's parents death become clearer. The mysterious Alistair Oh reappears. Amy and Dan continue to puzzle over the very talented Nellie.

Highly recommended. Great fun for all ages.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
Great book series but NOT ALL BOOKS ARE WORD WISE ENABLED!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2014
Only no more than another 5 books? Craving to finish the whole story ... finally able to sleep at a rightful hour. Most probably ending again in the good, sound States where everything begun ... likely. For the moment being another continent, another overturn, just settled into the present place and ready to start out to newhere to know since the very page, again and again and again ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
All of my grandchildren love to read and we are thrilled they do. We try to preorder the books in any series they love so they will have it as soon as it comes out. They loved this series and the books are passed to the next reader. Eventually all six of them will read and enjoy this series.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 23, 2009
I am a school librarian. My fourth and fifth grade kids enjoy the series and can't wait for each new volume to be written. The online games and links are an intriguing addition!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2011
My 8-year old daughter is currently reading book 9, after devouring 1 through 8 of this series. She absolutely loves it and wants to continue reading past bed time. This series will stimulate your child's imagination. I have read most of them myself to make sure of the content's appropriateness. I have purchased all 9 books from Amazon, and purchased the 10th at a scholastic book fair. Amazon's prices are the best!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 7, 2013
Just like all of the 39 clues books this series ceases to amaze me. This series makes me wonder and dream about what might happen next and what if I where in their shoes. I would recommend this book for all ages it has so many wonderful qualities that make this series AMAZING.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2016
Awesome completed by brother collection thanks !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2017
It was a gift and was liked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2014
This is a great continuation of the story and the children are beginning to find out things about their past and their parents that they may not want to know.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse