Lyft BCA Month Salon Beauty Most Anticipated Fall Children's Books Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pick of the week Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment outlanders3premiere outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels outlanders3premierealtText Watch Outlander on Starz with Amazon Channels  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 20, 2015
I became interested in reading Alice Munro's stories after she received her Nobel prize. I should admit I didn't know who she was prior to that date.
Although I usually don't read much fiction, I am addicted to her work. Out of the many books of her short stories I've read, this one is one of my favorite ones.
Alice Munro not only writes extraordinarily well but has an acute ability to describe the most diverse characters in a way the reader can get into their souls. She relates to human strengths and weaknesses, choices, and circumstances with no prejudicial judgement. To all those able to immerse themselves into the beauty of reading, I highly recommend this book.
A. Aranovich
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2015
A very good read, the amazing talent and skill by Alice Munro to write with so distinctive language.The very interesting stories, keep you to carry on reading, the fantastic disguise into the human psychology, people's interaction, just life events. Highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
Alice Munro is one of my favourite writers and she does not disappoint in this one. It is amazing to consider that nearly all of her stories take place in rural Canada and yet they convey all the dimensions and richness of human existence, feelings, emotions. Alice Munro is so incredibly skilled at creating a mood and making the reader feel very strong emotions just by describing the scene and the story and not really using any big emotionally charged words. She reminds me of Hemingway in that way.
My favourite story from this collection is "Dimensions" - a very chilling tale of dealing with a tragic personal loss. As a mother myself I found it heartbreaking to read and yet somehow uplifting as well. There is light at the end of every tunnel although maybe the light has a different quality than before entering the tunnel.
I heartily recommend this book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2015
Munro is the master story teller. You seem to know the characters well within a couple of pages, the story often takes a different direction from what you expect and she leaves you asking questions about it when you are finished. As a result you end up thinking of how the stories relate to your own life.When you have finished a story you spend a day or so in a sort of meditation about your own life story often coming to conclusions you hadn't though about before. There are not many, if not any, other writers that you can say this about.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2013
The author's use of language makes the book an easy read. The situations and their resolutions seem possible, although rather noir. In all but the last story the characters seem to be meandering through life, responding more or less randomly to random events. The outcomes left me wondering why I should be particularly interested in them. I found most of the stories eminently forgettable, despite the author's writing skill.

The last story was different, in that it presented historical characters who were deeply interested in things of some import, and worked hard to make progress toward goals that they thought significant. This probably reflects the source of the story in the stories of historical mathematicians.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
Each story in this collection of short stories is a polished gem. Munro's simple style draws you in until almost without your noticing it you are invested in a tale bizarre, surprising and utterly believable. She takes you into her confidence and shares with you her marvel at the determination, the courage, the flair, the destructiveness, the meanness, the obtuseness of her characters, and all the while soliciting from you your understanding and recognition of the inner logic of their actions. And the endings are always unexpected.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2010
Munro lives up to her reputation as the best contemporary writer of short fiction in North America. A writer of fiction myself, I regard her as a kind of guru. I marvel at the economy, subtlety, and ease with which her fictions unfold. In Too Much Happiness, the choice and placement of stories keeps the collection's protagonist in the reader's awareness, even when she has only a walk-on part or when her husband is the focal character of a story. The effect of that is a layering of views and voices that cumulatively expands the reader's sense of the place and space in which the protagonist emerges and the emergence itself -- like watching a picture develop on a photo paper in a tray of developer fluid. What I am calling "the larger story" is a mostly unspoken revelation of the many dimensions of the central character, who gradually turns out to be the protagonist of the collection. But looked at another way, the larger story is better thought of as the drama of the central character's becoming fully alive in the reader's imagination -- an exquisite revelation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2017
Gruesome, funny , macabre , and poignant Ms Munro does it all. These timeless stories encompass all moods , sins and joys of life . A great if harrowing read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2015
Alice Munro talks of small-town life, unraveling relationships, and cruelty of children .... characters so simple you'd think you see them every day. And simple stories..except one rather unbelievable one
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2013
Munro casts a cold eye on the human condition in Too Much Happiness. Lives don't have happy endings and experiencing one tragedy doesn't save you from another. I like the realism and beautiful writing in these stories, but I also like stories with a glimmer of hope. There wasn't even a twinkle to be found in any of these. Nonetheless there was writing in these stories that took my breath away, and my admiration for Munro remains intact.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse