Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Top 30

4.7 out of 5 stars 3 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, June 24, 1997
"Please retry"
$25.00 $105.90

Stream Millions of Songs FREE with Amazon Prime
Get Started with Amazon Prime Stream millions of songs anytime, anywhere, included with an Amazon Prime membership. Get started
Available from these sellers.

Editorial Reviews

30 track 2-CD compilation that includes tracks from all his records plus rarities. It presents a powerful example of Alex Chilton's incredible talent over many years.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Bangkok
  2. Can't Seem To Make You Mine
  3. My Rival
  4. Rock Hard
  5. Like Flies On Sherbert
  6. Alligator Man
  7. Tee Ni Nee Ni Noo
  8. Stuff
  9. Lost My Job
  10. Paradise
  11. No Sex
  12. Underclass
  13. With A Girl Like You
  14. Take It Off
  15. Volare

Disc: 2

  1. Thing For You
  2. Make A Little Love
  3. Nobody's Fool
  4. Lonely Week Ends
  5. Rubber Room
  6. Nice And Easy Does It
  7. Guantanamerika
  8. Baby, Baby, Baby
  9. I Will Turn Your Money Green
  10. My Baby Just Cares For Me
  11. Time After Time
  12. Frame For The Blues
  13. Save Your Love For Me
  14. September Gurls (Live)
  15. I'm Gonna Make You Mine (Live)

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 24, 1997)
  • Original Release Date: 2000
  • Number of Discs: 2
  • Label: Last Call Records
  • ASIN: B0000DEM9G
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (3 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #487,339 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

Amazon's Alex Chilton Store

Customer Reviews

5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 3 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
Alex Chilton has long been a part of America's consciousness - the problem was that most of America never realized it. This double disc contains ample proof that Chilton was criminally neglected for practically his entire solo career. Most music fans know Chilton as the lead singer of the Box Tops ("The Letter" "Neon Rainbow") but it was being the leader of Big Star that gave him his real place in music history. Neither of those bands are included here - the discs sample his solo career from the breakup of Big Star through his acoustic CD "Cliches" from 1993. Highlights abound and if you're looking for a great place to begin your Alex collection, this is it. Alex was never an easy artist - he loved challenging himself and his audience and there are numerous cuts here that display that. But Alex was also adept at writing and performing great pop numbers. What amazes here is that there are so many styles - everything has that tinge of Memphis Soul but it becomes crossed with provocative lyrics ("No Sex" concerns AIDS, "Guantanmerika" discusses TV evangelists among others) and even some standards ("Volare" sung in Italian and a great acoustic rendition of "My Baby Just Cares for Me"). But the CD's are just plain fun from the start - hooks abound and so does Chilton's sense of humor (try to listen to "Lost My Job" without laughing). There's so much here to enjoy on different levels that when you finish, you'll be just as amazed as I am that this guy never achieved the fame, recognition and probably most importantly, the money that those he influenced received. If you're looking for one of the truly deserving unsung artists in American rock, give Alex a try. You won't be sorry.
Comment 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Sadly, Alex Chilton is not a household name like other less-influential names in Rock. But it's also that bit of truth that makes him a diamond in the rough and makes a person's discovery of him such a sweet experience. There are very few artists or bands that make such a strong impression on us that cause us to remember when we first heard them. Chilton's "The Ballad of El Goodo" makes such a strong impression on me that I can hardly forget every time I've heard it, much less the first time.

I don't know if Alex Chilton is a genius. I do know that Alex Chilton is a rock god. That's not a term to be bandied about, either..."god"...in most countries and religions you get stoned or your hand chopped off for calling some mere mortal a god. Alex would likely be pissed off, too. Listen to the live Big Star album and hear Alex explain how critical acclaim is all well and good but it doesn't pay any of the bills. So along with begin a rock star I'm sure Alex would enjoy more people hearing his songs and buying them. So buy this record! ;)

Songs like "Bangkok" and "Guantammerika" are gems and have been known to be played on the radio by those in the know. Listening to the early solo "With a Girl Like You" is a great glimpse at the post-Box Tops period. But as covers go, "Can't Seem To Make You Mine" (the old Seeds standard) is superb. Though you'll find a version of "September Gurls" on this set, don't buy it looking for Big Star songs. Buy this for the Alex solo material that you may not have heard. Be treated to "Volare"...probably my favorite because it just feels like Alex having fun. He's been in it for the fun, right? It's rare when that comes off the disc, through the speakers and into your ears so clearly.
Comment 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
If you like Big Star, and you consider buying an Alex Chilton compilation album because of this there is a risk that you may be disappointed. On this particualar always there are only few songs, that could mistaken for Big Star recordings. The two 1977 recordings "Bangkok" and "I Can't Seem to Make You Mine" are not that different from some of the "Sister Lovers" songs. And Chiltons version of The Troggs' "With a Girl Like You" also has some band charm to it.

In general the songs on "Top 30" are very different and the quality of the recordings could be described as "uneven".

Four recordings come from the 1979 album " Like Flies on Sherbert" and they all sound pretty sloppy or chaotic. A bit like some of the loosest tracks on "Sister Lovers" - just worse.

Four songs are from the 1985 EP " Feudalist Tarts" and among those the two Chilton originals are the strongest; especially "Paradise" is quite a good song. All four songs from the 1986 EP "No Sex" are included; the two live recordings are placed as the final tracks on CD 2. By far the best song among those is the title track "No Sex".

There are five songs from his 1987 album "High Priest" and among those I actually find his cover of "Nobody's Fool" worthwhile. Also one song stand out among the "Black List" tracks from 1989. "Guantanamerika" is great and one of the highlights of this compilation. Finally there are four songs from his 1994 album " Clichés" which consists of acoustic versions of old classics. Could be called nice, but also pretty uninteresting.

If you are going for Chilton albums that have some Big Star quality, I would recommend "Bach's Bottom"; which I almost consider a Big Star album, and "1970"; especially the new version.
1 Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse


Look for Similar Items by Category