Salon Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Shop Now HTL17_gno



on April 23, 2017
This guide was not current or comprehensive. Of all the guides I purchased this was the weakest. I wouldn't recommend this book to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 15, 2006
During the past few years, I've become increasingly convinced that L.A. is one of the most interesting cities in America. Unfortunately, much of what is there is overshadowed by ersatz "attractions" like Disneyland and Universal Studios.

This guide overcomes that problem by focusing upon different areas of interest and then listing the top 10 attractions within each area. Yes, Disneyland and Universal Studios are still covered, but so are the numerous museums, architectural landmarks (this book first made me aware of the Bradbury Building), parks, restaurants and hotels.

Despite the enormous amount of material covered, the guide is compact enough to easily fit in a pocket or purse, yet still offers attractive graphics and intuitive organization. I bought Fodor's guide at the same time, but despite its greater amount of text, found that I used the Top 10 Guide virtually exclusively.

The 10 to 12 pages on Pasadena are quite good. Pasadena is a city worth a visit, especially the Norton Simon Museum which offers a fine collection of art in a peaceful, uncrowded setting. Highly recommended.

Since "The Loved One" has just come out on DVD, I especially wanted to visit Forest Lawn, the cemetery satirized in that film. Interestingly, none of the guide books I scanned provided directions, although the Top 10 Guide does provide directions to the Hollywood cemetery where some of the top stars are buried. As it turned out, there are six Forest Lawns scattered about the LA area, with the Mother Church being on the west side of Glendale along I-5 [Los Feliz exit]. Well worth a visit.

Since I visit LA on a regular basis, I plan to use this book a lot in the future, but to augment it with other, special purpose (e.g., architectural) guides.

If you can find a copy, there's a fine book about LA, L.A. Lore: A Scintillating Exploration of Los Angeles by Stephen Brook, that provides a narrative overview of the city. Brook is an English journalist who came to LA in 1990 with an excellent list of contacts, and visited virtually every section of the city. His observations are intelligent and generally unbiased.
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 28, 2011
This pocket-size book is a convenient addition to whatever other travel books or notes you have. The top ten lists are helpful in that they enable you to focus your attention when you are considering a complex, sprawling metropolis like Los Angeles. Best parts were the sub-sections on things you should see in a particular part of town -- i.e., a walk around Hollywood or shopping in Beverly Hills. Interestingly, at least for Hollywood, the info in this book is actually more useful than the info provided by the Hollywood tourist info bureau, which is basically a list of stores and commercial museums.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 4, 2017
Can't go wrong w/ a DK Top 10
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2014
Either LA does not have a lot to offer or the book is not very good. The top 10 lists for different parts of the town, are weak. We have not make the trip yet, but the book did not make me feel like, wow how will we fit all this great stuff in. It was more like, is that all there is do see there.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2013
i would probably not have spent even that little $ if i had known how out of date it is. luckily the iconic stuff is still around, but the pricing in it is old and way out of date
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 1, 2017
Eyewitness guides are the best. This is the only book we used for 8 museums in 8 days in LA. Portable and durable. I've used eyewitness guides for 20 years all over the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
The pages were uncut. It was a mess to cut them. I am requesting a no-charge replacement copy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2014
This was a waste of money. The format is dreadful. As you read the text you have to click to see photos and maps, it's very distracting and completely misaligned with the reason I buy Eyewitness guides - the printed ones are far easier to follow.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 24, 2011
Being a fan of the Eyewitness Guide series, I was somewhat disappointed in this one, but it's my fault. It's not a complete guide to LA - it's exactly what it says it is: a guide to various Top Ten categories. That said, it's only partly my fault. Why should one buy a Top Ten book when you could have an ordinary city guide? But wait, Eyewitness doesn't have one for LA. They have one for California - what gives? I suppose there isn't enough in LA for its own guide. OK, New York wins again.

Pet Peeve: one of the alleged top ten restaurants named is Valentino's. Good grief. These guys have been paying off somebody. We went once 30 years when there weren't many Italian restaurants and it was good, if very overpriced. We went again last year and got a truly underwhelming meal - the special risotto of the night yet, undercooked and dry. This is unforgivable in *any* restaurant. And the prices are still stratospheric and the service cool at best. But even without this warning, one should not rely on *books* for restaurant recommendations in LA. Things change too quickly.

My recommendation - buy the California guide and limit your time in LA.
44 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse