<Embed>
List Price: $19.95
Save: $5.47 (27%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Friday, Oct 9
Fastest delivery: Saturday, Oct 3
Order within 5 mins
Details
In Stock.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon.com
Sold by Amazon.com
Ships from
Amazon.com

Sold by
Amazon.com

Return policy: Returnable within 30 days of receipt
In most cases, items shipped from Amazon.com may be returned for a full refund.
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: FORMER LIBRARY BOOK with the usual stamps and stickers, well worn, Ships Direct from Amazon!!1

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$6.89
+ $5.00 shipping
Sold by: Hope-in-Books
Add to Cart
$11.99
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Online Servant
Add to Cart
$11.00
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: Amazn Same Day Shipping
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes) Hardcover – August 30, 2016

4.7 out of 5 stars 1,197 ratings
Book 2 of 4: An Ember In The Ashes

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$14.48
$6.89 $3.84

Amazon Book Review | Discover your next great read
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

An Amazon Best Book of September 2016: With sequels there’s always an underlying worry that the second book won’t live up to its predecessor, but Sabaa Tahir’s A Torch Against the Night not only meets expectations—it surpasses them. Tahir returns to Elias and Laia’s quest to rescue Laia’s brother from an impenetrable prison while eluding the Emperor and Commandant. Helen, now the Blood Shrike, is under the Emperor’s orders to kill them, and it’s clear that she still knows her former best friend as well as ever. The stakes are higher in this novel and the suspense just keeps building from new directions. The characters’ internal conflict is almost painful to read, but that’s part of what makes the story so intense. How can you kill someone you love? And how do you watch someone you love die trying to save you? Packed with cliff hangers, A Torch Against the Night ends with the same feeling as the first: a burning desire to read the next book. Right. This. Minute. --Seira Wilson, The Amazon Book Review

Review

Named one of the best books of the year by:
TIME
Entertainment Weekly 
Buzzfeed
Amazon
PopSugar
Bustle
Paste Magazine
PopCrush


Praise for A Torch Against the Night:


“The stakes here are high and the plot runs like a well-oiled machine, ratcheting up the tension with every chapter.” —NPR.org

“An adrenaline rush till the very last page.” —Buzzfeed
 
“The sequel to Tahir’s bestselling smash An Ember in the Ashes finally comes out in August, and let me tell you, it does not disappoint.” —Book Riot
 
A Torch Against the Night is an unabashed page-turner that scarcely ever pauses for breath.” The Christian Science Monitor
 
“Fast-paced, exciting and full of adrenaline, A Torch Against The Night is everything fans of Tahir’s debut could possibly anticipate in a sequel.” The Bucks County Courier Times

“Thrilling…Tahir meticulously plots these novels, ramping up the suspense and including plenty of surprises.” —The Buffalo News

“Delivers in every way...The stakes have never been higher, and the tension is acutely felt as Elias and Laia run for their lives.” —USA Today’s Happy Ever After blog
 
“At last, it’s here...It’s as heartbreaking as it is action-packed, delivering a worthy second installment in Tahir’s bestselling series.” —Paste

“Tahir proves to be a master of suspense and a canny practitioner of the cliffhanger, riveting readers’ attention throughout.…[An] action-packed, breathlessly paced story.” —Booklist, starred review

"This sequel has a darker tone and even higher stakes than its predecessor, setting the stage for a thrilling conclusion." —Publishers Weekly, starred review

"Excellent." —Kirkus Reviews

"The rare sequel that improves on the original...unputdownable." —Common Sense Media (Five Stars)


Praise for An Ember in the Ashes:

“This novel is a harrowing, haunting reminder of what it means to be human — and how hope might be kindled in the midst of oppression and fear.” —The Washington Post

“An Ember in the Ashes could launch Sabaa Tahir into JK Rowling territory…It has the addictive quality of The Hunger Games combined with the fantasy of Harry Potter and the brutality of Game of Thrones.”—Public Radio International

"An Ember in the Ashes glows, burns, and smolders—as beautiful and radiant as it is searing."—Huffington Post 

“[An Ember in the Ashes] thrusts its readers into a world marred by violence and oppression, yet does so with simple prose that can offer moments of loveliness in its clarity. This complexity makes Ember a worthy novel—and one as brave as its characters.” —The New York Times Book Review 

“Sabaa Tahir spins a captivating, heart-pounding fantasy.” —Us Weekly

“An Ember in the Ashes mixes The Hunger Games with Game of Thrones...and adds a dash of Romeo and Juliet.” —The Hollywood Reporter

Blew me away...This book is dark, complex, vivid, and romantic—expect to be completely transported.” —MTV.com

“Fast-paced, well-structured and full of twists and turns, An Ember in the Ashes is an evocative debut that has left me invested in knowing what happens next.” —NPR
 
“Once you get caught up in the story, it’s addictive, and there’s no way you can put it down before you figure out what happens to the characters you have fallen for over the course of the 400 some-odd pages. So I didn’t.” —Bustle 
 
This epic fantasy set in the Martial Empire has it all: danger and violence, secrets and lies, strong characters and forbidden romance and a touch of the supernatural.” —The Atlanta Journal-Constitution 

“A setting inspired by ancient Rome; a fierce battle for freedom in the face of tyranny; and a villain who makes Cersei Lannister and Dolores Umbridge look like a pair of pathetic amateurs...An Ember in the Ashes is at the top of our must-read list for 2015.” —MTV.com

“Be prepared to be blown away by this fantasy-thriller-adventure.” —Girls’ Life

“An Ember in the Ashes is a book that's too good to put down.” —RedEye
 
Perfect for fans of Maggie Stiefvater's The Scorpio Races or Sarah Maas's Throne of Glass series…The book is already set to be a film, which will be EPIC!” —TeenVogue.com

“Tahir’s deft, polished debut alternates between two very different perspectives on the same brutal world, deepening both in the contrast. In a tale brimming with political intrigue and haunted by supernatural forces, the true tension comes from watching Elias and Laia struggle to decide where their loyalties lie.” —Publishers Weekly, starred review
 
“Tahir’s world-building is wonderfully detailed and the setting is an unusual one for fantasy novels. All of her characters, even minor ones, are fully realized....For fans of Game of Thrones and of Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock.” —School Library Journal
 
“An original, well-constructed fantasy world...truly engaging.” —Kirkus Reviews 
 
“An epic fantasy debut about an orphan fighting for her family and a soldier fighting for his freedom. It’s a story that’s literally burning to be told.” —Hypable.com

“First-time novelist Tahir has written an ambitious sword-and-sand adventure story that is notable for its suspense and scope.” —Booklist 
 
“Here's one of the year's most anticipated young-adult debuts.” —io9.com

I was so engrossed with this book that I missed a connecting flight. If that doesn’t convince you to read An Ember in the Ashes, I don’t know what will. An explosive, heartbreaking, epic debut that will keep you glued to the pages. I hope the world’s ready for Sabaa Tahir.” —Marie Lu, New York Times bestselling author of Legend
 
“With An Ember in the Ashes, Sabaa Tahir shows us light in the darkness, hope in a world of despair, and the human spirit reaching for greatness in difficult times.” —#1 New York Times bestselling author Brandon Sanderson
 
“An Ember in the Ashes is a spectacular page turner that asks readers to consider how far they’d go to save the ones they love. Sabaa Tahir is the next superstar in young adult fiction and her debut is as cinematic as Gladiator and as high-stakes as Game of Thrones.”—Holly Goldberg Sloan, New York Times bestselling author of Counting by 7s
 
A heart-pounding story of love and loss, with the most original world-building I’ve read all year. Deeply felt and deeply moving, I could not put it down.” —Margaret Stohl, New York Times bestselling co-author of Beautiful Creatures
 
“This electric debut is a pulse-pounding action-packed Romeo and Juliet story in a richly imagined world with a great twist and heroic characters you’ll root for and won’t stop thinking about.” —Melissa de la Cruz, New York Times bestselling author of Frozen and The Ring and the Crown

Product details

  • Lexile Measure : HL670L
  • Grade Level : 9 - 12
  • Hardcover : 464 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1101998873
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1101998878
  • Publisher : Razorbill; 1st Edition (August 30, 2016)
  • Product Dimensions : 6.25 x 1.38 x 9.25 inches
  • Item Weight : 1.01 pounds
  • Reading level : 14 - 17 years
  • Language: : English
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 1,197 ratings
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: books by stephen king, from the ashes, german english books, new stephen king book, npr books