Kindle Price: $2.99

Save $9.00 (75%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Torched by [Colt, Andrea]
Kindle App Ad

Torched Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 41 customer reviews

See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$2.99

Length: 376 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Teen Summer Reading
Sing
Sing
Sing
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

Review

"With its well-developed, funny, and engaging characters, surprisingly sweet romance, and a mystery that doesn't wrap up until the very end,Torched is a book that delivers the much-loved elements of a great YA story." ~ The Bookish Babes
 
"... fun and sexy and perfect for fans of Miranda Kenneally's Catching Jordan/Hundred Oaks series. This sweet contemporary romance is being hailed across the blogosphere and with good reason."  ~ The Starry-Eyed Revue
 
"It was fun, it had twists, turns and two characters that were just sizzling with chemistry!" ~ Danny at Bewitched Bookworms

About the Author

Andrea Colt grew up reading and squabbling with her twin. She lives in Alexandria, Virginia with her fiancé, a fridge full of cheese, and two muses in feline form. 
 
Visit andreacolt.com to get to know her better, get swag and read free excerpts.

Product Details

  • File Size: 1643 KB
  • Print Length: 376 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publisher: Andrea Lynn Colt Books (September 6, 2012)
  • Publication Date: September 6, 2012
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0097GON7O
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #875,958 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I was asked by the author to read and review this book. Boy, am I glad she sent me a copy! I wholeheartedly give this book a full five stars, no question.

Torched by Andrea Lynn Colt is a YA contemporary novel that I stayed up all night reading (in PDF on the computer no less, which I've NEVER done) because it was so riveting. The book stars Rose, a mean girl in her prime, head cheerleader extraordinaire, who seems to have the perfect life-- the perfect best friend, the perfect boyfriend, the perfect car-- you get the picture. Senior year seems like it is going to be the best ever. The only thing marring its perfection is her prank war with her boyfriend Ryan's best friend, Paxton. Then someone torches Ryan's family boat, and all clues point to Rose. Suddenly, her perfect life isn't so perfect anymore, and she struggles with herself to see the person she has truly become over the past few years as well as to find out who committed the crime and set her up.

I absolutely adored this book. The pacing was terrific, it was well written with a lot of style and wit. As you can tell from above, I devoured it from cover to cover, even though I still didn't have a comfortable reading format, which says a lot about the book. The characters were terrific, and Rose while not a pleasant character has redeemability, which is essential for the plot. Paxton smoulders in the background, and other characters end up delightfully three dimensional-- something I absolutely loved.

Overall, I was incredibly impressed with this first novel of Colt's and I'll be following her career closely from here on out. Everyone should read this book!
28 Comments 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Everything's going great for Rose Whitfield - she has a ton of friends in school, she's the head cheerleader, and she's dating the cutest guy in school.

But then everything changes one morning, when she wakes up to to police banging on her door! Apparently somebody's torched her boyfriend's parent's boat - and framed her for it! Now not only is she in trouble with the law, but her boyfriend no longer trusts her, and her best friend hates her!

And the worst part is Rose knows exactly who did it - her arch-nemesis, Paxton. The two have never gotten along, and have played pranks on each other years after year - except this one has gone too far.

I don't want to give any more of the plot away as I don't want to spoil the surprises - but I can say that this was an amazingly fun, well written, and romantic book! It has some great plot twists and the characters really develop over the course of the story.

Also, there's an extremely romantic ending - I have to admit, it even made me tear up a bit at the end (and I'm a guy!) :]
Comment 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Rose Whitfield has it all: the perfect boyfriend, a popular BFF, the captain spot on the cheerleading squad and the top GPA at her high school. But, with a little fuel for the fire and the strike of a match, Rose's perfect life goes up in (actual) flames. Framed for arson, Rose quickly learns who her allies are when the people who should stand behind her – her boyfriend, best friend, and even her parents – don't seem to believe she's innocent. With only one person to rely on, and the absolute last person she ever expected to believe her, Rose digs for the truth. But thanks to her history of pranks that sometimes go awry, Rose discovers that she might have made more enemies during the last few years than she could have ever guessed.

A humorous and surprise-filled debut novel, TORCHED is an enjoyable mystery that will keep you glued to the pages from start to finish. Colt writes with plenty of humor, giving Rose an amusing voice that feels fresh and authentic. While the romantic aspect of the story is easy to see coming, it's an endearing inclusion that rounds out this mystery novel very nicely. Speaking of mystery, Colt keeps the suspense alive and burning throughout most of the novel – giving small hints here and there, but saving the reveal until much closer to the conclusion. Even when I originally guessed the culprit, Colt made me doubt my choice left me changing my mind repeatedly. If you're looking for a fun story with a dash of romance and plenty of mystery, I would highly suggest checking out TORCHED.

HIGHLIGHTS: Colt's writing is fun, fresh, and very easy to enjoy. Rose's transformation and effort to be a better person was gradual and realistic. The romance was sweet and genuine. Each character was authentic in their own right.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
I positively adored this book. At first I was a little put off, since the main character Rose is a preppy cheerleader. Personally, I hated that type of girl in high school, and I thought it would disconnect me from the novel. I'm so glad that I was wrong, and that I gave this book a chance.

+Starting with the cover, this book has it going on. I love the design and the teal coloring, since it's my favorite color. It's what drew my attention in.

+Paxton. I. Love. Paxton. He has officially been added to the fictional boyfriend list on my blog. He may pretend to be cool with his quarterback status, but he's a little nerd at heart. I love my boys muscular, funny, and able to quote Spock. I know Rose is the lead, but Paxton was my favorite character within this book.

+The intensity in this book is through the roof. There are so many emotions happening at once that it's like an awful roller coaster ride of feels. I was furious when no one would believe her, heartbroken when her best friend shunned her, giddy and sexually frustrated on her behalf when she feels kisses get a little bit heated. Emotions are hard to perfect, but Torched accomplishes it.

+Honestly, I wasn't sure who did it. Normally, my problem with mysteries is that I catch on rather quickly and then find myself twiddling my thumb for the next 200 pages. Pleasantly enough, that wasn't the case for Torched. I changed my guess about half a dozen times in uncertainty, only to find out that it was one of my first guesses. It drove me crazy, not knowing, and that was my reason for flipping the pages of this novel so quickly.

This book is a sizzling, arson-y five stars. This book is perfectly balanced parts of mystery, romance, and humor.
Read more ›
Comment 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Torched
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Torched