Industrial Deals Beauty STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7, starting at $39.99 Kindle Paperwhite GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 132 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 150 reviews
on August 17, 2017
We all know "Torchwood" is an anagram for "Doctor Who," so this spin-off series carries on with Captain Jack Harkness, the impossibly handsome, charming, openly gay and destructible hero who dropped in on the original series occasionally. We see his team and watch as he adds another member, a former police officer, all the while fighting against impossible odds and using his brilliance to great advantage.

If you want to watch a heartbreaking episode, be sure to spend some time on Episode 13. That one left me in a mood for several days. I then bought the series so I could watch it again and again,
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
Terrible packaging and way too easy to scratch the disks, also this does include children of earth which isn't specifically mentioned in the description.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
Great series, dark, sexy, grim at times (mainly Children Of Earth, SO grim!). Not afraid to be funny, shocking and sad. The acting is sometimes a bit hammy, and the occasional script will have Whovians shaking their heads a little (Cyberwoman in heels??) but overall very solid writing and story lines and diverse actors who aren't afraid to try something new. Refreshingly bold.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 2, 2016
It's different, unique, interesting. Good cast. They should probably leave the special effects to the Americans who've been at it a lot longer and therefore have a lot more experience. Some of the special effects take me back to the old Dr. Who days. Still liked it though.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 29, 2017
We are big Dr. Who fans and this is a spin off that ended too soon. If you love Dr. Who you'll like Torchwood.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 11, 2016
How wonderful to watch Torchwood again after all these years. The best part was watching it uncut which tended to leave one wondering if they had missed something because of the dialog.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 18, 2014
The stories were great. However it got much more graphic than i expected. I was used to Doctor Who. No gruesome scenes.
I expected some more violence on Torchwood, but it went beyond my expectations. too bad the plots are great ad the actors too. I would suggest an edited version with stronger scenes cut. I really didn't need to see a person in middle stage to turn into a cyberman.

Docter who had already made a wonderful Job in seriesOn Rise of Cyberman and Age of Steell in the new sees.. What wasn't seen but suggested was enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2014
This is the more adult view of the Dr. Who universe. I would recommend Torchwood for the mature audience. While I felt the episodes were somewhat uneven in writing and plot as is the case with most TV shows this is a great SciFi show. It gives you a more in depth look at the rogue Captain Jack and the rest of the Torchwood team. I was hooked on Torchwood after watching one episode of MD the 4th season. While the concept was interesting in the 4th season the first 3 seasons are a step above. It would be nice if American Sci Fi would reach the level of Torchwood.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2017
The 1st season moved along slowly, picks up speed in the 2nd & 3rd seasons though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 26, 2017
Good but impossible to get out of case with out finger prints on the disk
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse