Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Little FIres Everywhere STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now ToyHW17_gno


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14 reviews
on July 16, 2017
very thorough. Everything you would want to know about eclipses
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 6, 2017
good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 6, 2017
Well written and informative. Very happy with it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2010
This is a thorough review of what we know about eclipses of the Sun: how they occur, how they are predicted, and what we have learned about the Sun--and the universe--from them. There is detailed information on how to observe eclipses and how to photograph them. The distinguished authors provide detailed information about all upcoming total eclipses through 2017, for those who may wish to travel to see one. The language is accessible to general readers; you do not need a science degree, or even a science major, to understand this readable book.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 19, 2001
Even if you have other eclipse books at home, TOTALITY provides fresh information about this fascinating phenomenon. This book describes in clear language what makes a total solar eclipse so special. The authors explanation of the science behind eclipses helps to demystify the eclipse, while the chapter devoted to impressions from a group of dedicated eclipse chasers, gives a sense of the magic of a total solar eclipse. There are plenty of drawings and photographs complement the writing, with an excellent set of references in the appendix. Highly recommended, Jerry Levy ....
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 19, 2015
This is the third edition of THE bible on total solar eclipses. August 2017 brings a total solar eclipse to the US, and charts are in this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2017
Excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 10, 2014
Great pictures, and the information is well organized.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2014
Nice mix of technical info, practical experience, stories and the feeling of wonder.

The drawings are helpful but some of the older photos could use better reproduction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 24, 2014
This book is now 15 years old. Some of the material on photography is hopelessly out of date because of the electronics revolution in photography. There is, however, copious material available on proper exposures for SLR cameras with a variety of zoom lenses. The ideas for photography are also quite good and I suspect timeless. The early chapters give an excellent description on the aspects of celestial mechanics which apply to eclipses of the sun (book does not deal with lunar eclipses although they are mentioned in the mechanics chapters). I have not yet finished the book and am still looking forward to the chapter on the life of one of the eclipse cycles. I purchased another book on eclipses a few years ago. I liked that one. I like this one better. I am hoping to see the 2017 eclipse which will be visible across the central United States. I will be reading several more books to prepare.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here