Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning _baw _baw _baw  Introducing Echo Show Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis GNO Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 148 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 441 reviews
on October 7, 2015
I've watched this movie several times now - the brilliant cinematography with reeling panoramas and fractured, disjointed camera work (at times!) really puts you inside of Joe Simpson's head as he is suffering the effects of pain and dehydration. This film is an excellent recreation of a triumphant climb gone horribly wrong.

The interviews also show the climbers as real people - not climbing demi-gods. You suffer along with Simon as he makes the heart-rending but necessary decision that he is forced to make. Joe is very likable, and shows a fierceness of survival spirit that got him through.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 4, 2014
This is one of my two favorite survivor docudramas (the other is "The Endurance: Shackelton’s Legendary Antarctic Expedition" with Liam Neeson). These films show that we are capable of surviving when that appears to be impossible. "Touching the Void," like "Endurance," shows survival when one in desperate circumstances knows that there will be no help from others. A mountain climber must cut the rope to save himself. The climber on the other end of that rope has a badly broken leg. He's as good as dead -- but he lives. A remarkable thing about this film is that it brings the climbers together to discuss the experience, and the climber who was cut loose (Joe Simpson) is totally understanding and sympathetic with the the climber who cut him loose (Simon Yates).
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 14, 2016
Really well done, the whole story narrated by the actual guys who were there; no third party narration trying to amp up the drama (it's way dramatic enough on it's own). I had read the book first and while it has more detail, especially about the ascent, the movie captured the essence of what they experienced.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2017
This is a brutal and almost unbelievable true story. The arrogance and pride that goes along with pushing the limits of mountaineering in violation of every well-accepted safety guideline is folly. The filming is extraordinary and it's worth seeing from that perspective only...but it left me feeling pity for the heroes...who conquered the mountain but lost themselves.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 26, 2017
This movie is fantastic. What an amazing story of survival. I have not read the book yet but I heard it's equally as impressive. Out of the many stories of survival, this one is definitely at the top of the list. Simply incredible!

NOTE TO BUYER: This won't play in many DVD/Blu-ray players. Something about the REGION.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2016
Had this for several years on DVD. Was happy to see it come out on Blu-ray....so purchased that, too. Just today sat to watch it...will not play in U.S. Pretty disappointing and a bit devious that this was not stated on the description. Buyer beware.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2017
Unbelievable story. I was exhausted. Not sure how he lived. Excelent docu-movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2015
Extraordinary camera work and cinematography. This is a gripping tale of mountaineering ethics and human spirit. What would you do if faced with the same choice? The fact that both actual participants speak about their roles in the events depicted (by actors) in the movie makes for a deeply moving story.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2015
I saw this movie in a theater years ago and I never forgot how it made you feel chilled just watching it. An amazing story! Incredible footage. Even though it is narrated by the survivors you forget that he lived to tell the story while you are watching the horror of what happened. Unforgettable!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 27, 2016
I believe that I reviewed this on a prior purchase. There is nothing like this story. It is true and it is amazing. And the DVD is reenacted by the actual people who experienced the ordeal.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here