Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 232 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 428 reviews
on June 18, 2016
I love this story and have read it multiple times. Certainly one of the best survival stories out there. I originally saw and purchased the movie which could only have been better if it was in Imax as the photography is absolutely breath taking. The book certainly has some more detail however I think having seen the movie helps a bit with visualizing the extreme conditions these guys were in. There is a scene in the movie that starts as an incredible panoramic view of the mountain range and the camera slowly pans in to the point where you see these two specs climbing the shear face of the mountain. For me that scene really puts the whole story into perspective. There were no margins for error here and then how these two dealt with it and their emotions when the worst occurs. I highly recommend this one
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 12, 2016
I've read a few mountain climbing books but this true story entrapped me more than the others. The first hand accounts by the author and his climbing partner so clearly not only described the terrain, the exertions, the fears, but made me feel them to an extent I have not experienced reading other true life accounts. I could not put it down. And when I finally did, exhausted, and shared it with my wife she stayed up all night until she, too, had come to the end.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2017
Joe Simpson
One man’s journey back from the edge of death…

In 1985, Joe Simpson and Simon Yates made an assault on the previously unclimbed West Face of Siula Grande, in Peru. Reaching the summit was a proud moment. Now, it was time to climb down. And that’s when disaster struck…

There were no fixed ropes, but Simpson and Yates were connected by 150 feet of line. When Simpson fell suddenly he shattered his right leg at the knee. In excruciating pain, Simpson was unable to do much climbing. Yates tied two ropes together, making 300 feet. He began to slowly lower Simpson bit by bit down the mountain.

Unfortunately, Simpson again fell. Unable to pull him back up, Yates made the only decision he could. Badly worn out himself, he had to ensure that he could climb down to base camp. He cut the rope, sending Simpson into a crevasse. Very certain that Simpson was now dead, Yates carefully made his way into camp.

This is the story of a miracle. By any odds, Simpson should have died. Unable to use his right leg, Simpson made a perilous journey back to camp, dragging himself inch by inch. The power of the human spirit is often amazing. In his own words, Simpson tells the story of his ordeal. His story is inter spliced with Yates thoughts, the loss of his friend and the guilty thoughts of his decision to cut the rope in spite of the fact that he knew he could have done nothing else.

Bravery and adventure in the world of mountain climbing! I give the book five stars!

Quoth the Raven…
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 22, 2014
I climbed, I clawed, I hung on for dear life through the entire book. This true story of two men climbing in the mountains of Peru had me figuratively climbing with them. This well written book describes what goes on in a climbers mine and the physical toll one experiences while knowing death is possible at any moment. The range of a climber's emotions are extreme. One can be joyful over the smallest detail like a sip of warm tea in the morning or an ice pick that never leaves your hand. The terror of what can happen in the blink of an eye (it happens) and the knowledge of an experienced climber of what to expect now begs the question; is it worth it to go on? An inner voice constantly prodded Joe Simpson forward despite the hopelessness that lay before him. My fingers got cold just reading it.
We all have a built in desire for survival; some more some less. I believe my desire to live, to survive, to just keep going, grew from experiencing this book.
Richard
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2016
Incredible story of survival and a person's will to live. Sometimes the story got a little confusing with the bouncing back and forth between the different narrators, and sharing past experiences of disasters while mountaineering. Overall though it is a good book for any one who loves the outdoors, rock climbing, mountaineering, or just wants to have an adventure vicariously through someone else.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
This was the best book I've read about dying and then somehow and beyond any possible hope Joe Simpson does not die. The writing about how he felt knowing there was no hope is really excellent. The book gives new meaning to NEVER GIVE UP!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2017
This book rates up there with "Between a Rock and a Hard Place" (f.k.a. 127 Hours) as one of my favorites of overcoming incredible odds in the wilderness. Simpson's determination to survive, him and Simon's immediate reconciliation over an impossible decision, and his reasoning of "better to try and die than sit here and wait for death to come" makes this book an inspiring read.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 25, 2017
A truly inspiring story, in this book oe Simpson tells the story of how his partner felt he could no longer hold Joe who had a broken leg, vits the rope between them. The next morning he checks on and comes to the conclusion that Joe is dead. Meanwhile, Joe climbs out of a crevass and crawls back to camp
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2017
An amazing story. Even knowing how it turned out (obviously the author survived!) it was very suspenseful. Amazing photos too, gorgeous, but places no sane person would go to. Joe Simpson's persistence in a terrible situation was amazing. His honesty about how he felt seemed very real. One thing that bothered me, the author at times writes in the voice of his climbing partner. I did not realize until reading the notes at the end, that it actually wasn't the climbing partner writing. This seemed deceptive, should have been made clear earlier. Despite that, I highly recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2017
The book is as new apart from the slight curvature caused I think by being slightly bent in transit from the UK. It was despatched in a plain plastic envelope with no padding as protection. It is currently being pressed and I am sure it will be fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse