Buying Options

Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $2.96 (17%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

You've subscribed to ! We will preorder your items within 24 hours of when they become available. When new books are released, we'll charge your default payment method for the lowest price available during the pre-order period.
Update your device or payment method, cancel individual pre-orders or your subscription at
Your Memberships & Subscriptions

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.
Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others

Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more

These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Kindle app logo image

Download the free Kindle app and start reading Kindle books instantly on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required. Learn more

Read instantly on your browser with Kindle Cloud Reader.

Using your mobile phone camera - scan the code below and download the Kindle app.

QR code to download the Kindle App

Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
The Tower, The Zoo, and The Tortoise: A Novel by [Julia Stuart]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.

The Tower, The Zoo, and The Tortoise: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 244 ratings

Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Always the perfect gift

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for THE TOWER, THE ZOO, AND THE TORTOISE:


“The Tower of London’s the center of this hilarious love story about Beefeater Balthazar, his wife, their tortoise and their eccentric friends.  As Balthazar struggles to save his marriage, the rest of the cast carries on in a charming tangle, and when Balthazar is put in charge of a Tower zoo, hilarity breaks out.  Sprinkled with fascinating Tower lore,
the book will steal your heart.”
--
People Magazine, 4 out of 4 stars

“Charming, witty, and heartfelt, Stuart's second novel is even more delightful than her debut,
The Matchmaker of Périgord. A perfect suggestion for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; highly recommended.”
--
Library Journal
 
"History buffs, animal lovers, and simply the tenderhearted will swoon over this captivating story."
--
Entertainment Weekly, grade A

"
The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise is the perfect summer confection — feather-light without being feather-brained. Julia Stuart has penned a work that is original and every-page amusing, and she's peopled it with characters that move into your heart."
--
The Denver Post

“[The] delightfully zany and touching novel,
The Tower, The Zoo, and the Tortoise, by British writer Julia Stuart, has jumped the queue to take readers on a fictional romp through the Tower’s realm…With her deft and charming style, Stuart brings this comic story to a satisfying and heartwarming end.”
The Washington Post

“Julia Stuart spins
a confection of whimsy in The Tower, the Zoo and the Tortoise.”
–Cleveland Plain Dealer

"
Julia Stuart's sweet The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise is a blessing, undisguised and undeniable, and apparent from ...

From Publishers Weekly

A Beefeater, his wife, and their nearly 180-year-old tortoise live in the Tower of London, and if Stuart's deadly charming sophomore novel (after The Matchmaker of Perigord) is any indication, the fortress is as full of intrigue as ever. Balthazar and Hebe Jones lost their son, Milo, to illness three years ago, and while Beefeater Balthazar grieves silently and obsessively collects rainwater in perfume bottles, Hebe wants to talk about their loss openly. Hebe works in the thematically convenient London Underground Lost Property Office, and the abandoned items that reside there (an ash-filled urn, a gigolo's diary, Dustin Hoffman's Oscar) are almost as peculiar as the unruly animals (lovebirds not in love, a smelly zorilla, monkeys with a peculiar nervous tic) in the Tower's new menagerie, given to the queen and overseen by Balthazar. Passion, desperation, and romantic shenanigans abound among the other Tower-dwellers: the Reverend, an erotic fiction writer, has eyes for a bartender, and the Ravenmaster is cheating on his wife with the cook. Though the cuteness sometimes comes across a little thick, the love story is adorable.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.
--This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Product details

  • ASIN ‏ : ‎ B003F3FJI2
  • Publisher ‏ : ‎ Anchor (August 10, 2010)
  • Publication date ‏ : ‎ August 10, 2010
  • Language ‏ : ‎ English
  • File size ‏ : ‎ 1905 KB
  • Text-to-Speech ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Screen Reader ‏ : ‎ Supported
  • Enhanced typesetting ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • X-Ray ‏ : ‎ Not Enabled
  • Word Wise ‏ : ‎ Enabled
  • Sticky notes ‏ : ‎ On Kindle Scribe
  • Print length ‏ : ‎ 322 pages
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.2 out of 5 stars 244 ratings

About the author

Follow authors to get new release updates, plus improved recommendations.
Brief content visible, double tap to read full content.
Full content visible, double tap to read brief content.

Julia Stuart is a British author and journalist. Her first novel, published in 2007, was The Matchmaker of Périgord. Her second was published in 2010 as Balthazar Jones and the Tower of London Zoo in the UK, and The Tower, the Zoo, and the Tortoise in America. The latter is a New York Times and national bestseller.

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
244 global ratings

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on November 6, 2010
11 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 23, 2014
9 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States 🇺🇸 on August 11, 2012
One person found this helpful
Report abuse

Top reviews from other countries

Johnny Waldron
5.0 out of 5 stars A magical and humorous story of love & loss
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on June 14, 2020
jacquelyn crow
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy and delightful read
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on October 21, 2021
WALTON Gabriel Mary
3.0 out of 5 stars ... of Pèrigord" by Julia Stewart and found it marvellously funny, but "The Tower
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on September 26, 2014
Robinson-Portland, Oregon
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in the United Kingdom 🇬🇧 on December 4, 2014
Alison Phalen
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!
Reviewed in Canada 🇨🇦 on October 29, 2013
Report an issue

Does this item contain inappropriate content?
Do you believe that this item violates a copyright?
Does this item contain quality or formatting issues?