Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch New Album by Foo Fighters PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon BradsStatus BradsStatus BradsStatus  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$15.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 27 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 85 reviews
on August 30, 2016
This is a great book. If you dislike it, it is likely because you have been personally offended by it. That is sort of the point. Take a step back and try to understand that the author is challenging everything and everyone, including you. Great and creative story. Characters are good enough. Very much recommend this book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2017
I really enjoyed this book. As an agnostic who leans toward atheism I found the material to be excellent. That said, it points and proceeds to laugh at the cultural divide between those who who are either militant in their theism or atheism. It struck a fair balance in poking fun at both sides, without ever feeling preachy. I highly recommend this book to anyone who is even remotely interested in the idea of God, even if that interest is purely academic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 26, 2017
Inspired! Hilarious! Awesome and inventive . . .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2010
God is dead. No literally, the giant, physical body of god is dead and it is floating in the ocean. This premise is used by the author to poke at the readers sensitive beliefs, to tease apart the sacred in order to get the reader out of their comfort zone. By the time the starving characters find a divine solution to their sustenance, the reader will be completely desensitized. The author uses these tools to remove our preconceived notions in order to examine the source of our morality. In a world where you can literally walk on the rotting carcass of god, where does our morality come from? This is something that challenged Nietzsche, who famously pronounced the death of the deity. He felt that although modern rationality had rendered the death of god, he feared that the christian ethos was necessary for the stable functioning of society and the loss of this organizing principle would be devastating. Nietzsche's pessimistic view is countered in the book by a catholic priest/quantum physicist who has made it his life's work to wed science and religion, the rational and the divine. I appreciate the author's inclusion of such a paradoxical character. This priest hopes that Immanuel Kant is correct in his assertion that we have an internal moral compass and that the loss of god won't lead to a loss of morals. In addition to the priest, we are introduced to a biology professor who gets stranded when her ship sinks on a re-enactment of Darwin's famous voyage to Galapagos on the Beagle. This character is a feminist, skeptic who is determined to literally sink god in to the bottom of the ocean to prevent the world from the old testament, misogynistic, anti-rational onslaught that would occur if god was proven real. Through this character, the author pokes a great deal of fun at the skeptic's societies, staunch feminists and atheists that was extremely amusing. All these forces collide in to a blasphemously hilarious seafaring journey that most readers will enjoy.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2016
Beautiful book. James Morrow is an underappreciated treasure. Few writers can weave tales as complex and fascinating as Morrow, combining science, philosophy, religion, history, psychology, and other disciplines to form stories of real depth and interest. The rest of the trilogy is also wonderful. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2010
When I started to read this book, I was physically jealous of Morrow. What an absolutely great idea for a novel. God is dead, and his body has fallen into the sea. The captain of an infamous Exxon Valdez-type tanker gets hired by the Vatican to go tow him... somewhere.

For the first third of the book, I was entranced. I kept tapping my husband on the shoulder-- "What a good idea for a book. Listen, isn't this clever?"

And with this build up it kind of feels as though I'm going to say that I didn't like it in the end. But I did. It was okay. It was even pretty good. Sadly, it didn't live up to its promise. (How could it? is another question. But a question for another person another day.)

The major issue lay with the characters-- somewhere halfway through Morrow changed the book from being concept driven to character driven. He just wasn't quite as convincing or clever with Van Horne and his supportive characters.

It reminded me of Oh Pure and Radiant Heart by Lydia Millet. Another book that just couldn't live up to its own wonderful premise.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 28, 2010
Morrow writes a good story, little strange sometimes, but a nice tale. The writing is concise, clear, and pleasant to read. This book suffers from same problem that his other books suffer from, the characters are cliches and the story is more of a parody than a real story. The problem arrives because it balances between parody and story, and this leaves the reader unsure if they should be laughing at the parody, or thinking about the merit of the characters. The purpose and reason for the characters actions sometimes seems intentional and well considered, like true character development... And other times seems flippant and shallow like a satire to make a point. It can be disconcerting.

Still, a pleasant read if you expect or understand that the book is both a story and is trying to make a point through vague absurdity. A enjoyable read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2015
I wasn't sure what to expect when I picked up this book and as I kept reading, I felt the same way throughout. In the end, I decided what I expected and it was that I likely will not find anything quite like it again.

I don't think it's a book for everyone, but if you like odd, interesting, and the sometimes ridiculous, silly and even cerebral, then this just might be the book for you.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2010
This book feels almost satirical in some places. It is told in very serious, no compromise prose. This is not a tongue in cheek introspection of what if's, it is a serious novel that just happens to be based on a completely ridiculous premise.

If you're expecting comedy it's not really there. The story deals with parental relationships, destroyed careers, and succumbing to the most basic of human instincts.

Overall it's a captivating story that will keep you interested throughout. The ending is odd and leaves a bit to be desired for me personally but definitely worth the purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2015
The notion of God as a two mile long corpse floating in the ocean sets the tone of the book. An enjoyable read that could have dealt a bit more with the interaction of angels and the church.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse