Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Toy Story of Terror (Blu-ray)
Your Garage Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Benjamin Leftwich Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$13.39+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on May 26, 2014
Some of my best childhood memories, and favorite stories to tell while reminiscing with family members during get-togethers, are those times when a movie or TV show scared the daylights out of me. My poor Mom took me and my sister to see "Psycho" during it's initial run in theaters in 1960, I believe. I was 6 years old at the time and loved "monster" movies, and "scary" movies. She, and my sister and I, had no idea what we were in for. The original "Night of the Living Dead" was a grim, gut-wrenching hour and a half that left me and the rest of the Saturday afternoon matinee kids shell-shocked when I was about 13 or 14 years old.

I watched "Toy Story of Terror" during its run on the Disney Channel during the Halloween season with my grownup children, and with a 5- and 8-year old brother and sister foster kids. Needless to say, we all loved it, and the little ones wanted to watch it each time it was broadcast. Sure it was scary, but in a "Scooby-Do" kind of way, and that's the fun of it. I will be ordering at least two copies of "Toy Story of Terror," one for the kids and one for me. If you love the "Toy Story" gang, you'll love this one, too!
11 comment| 70 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 27, 2014
When you start to play your Toy Story of TERROR! disc, be sure to choose to watch it with the commercials. You’ll be glad you did. This was an ABC TV special last year—the first Pixar TV special ever—and it was constructed to break for commercials. So for the Blu-ray, Pixar included the ones they created especially for the show.

Sure, this is a great for Halloween watching, complete with a cheesy black-and-white Saturday drive-in style movie (love that puff of smoke!), but it’s also year round fun for Toy Story fans, as it could be thought of as an unofficial “sequel" to Toy Story. Many of the characters introduced in that film are here again, and they get more screen time, like Mr. Pricklepants, the self-appointed movie expert (you can almost see Marshall McLuhan making a cameo to contradict him, á la Annie Hall).

The 22 minutes focus mostly on Jessie, which is welcome. She’s a character with a lot of layers and audience empathy. Who among would want to be shut into a suitcase or box? The others characters are supportive in their various ways. One just wants to watch them do things together for as long as possible.

In this story, they find themselves at a creepy old motel with a manager hiding creepy secrets, but don’t worry about it being kid-friendly, it’s not Psycho, though nods to numerous suspense conventions abound. There’s a lot packed into this special.

The three Toy Story Toons included on the Blu-ray alone are worth having, since they in effect are follow-ups to the Toy Story films. Michael Keaton and Jodi Benson walk away with “Hawaiian Vacation,” Rex gets his time to shine in “Partysaurus Rex” (a stunner in high-def), and the characters have to grapple with their happy meal identities in “Small Fry.” Everything in this package is highly rewatchable.

The original movie voices are here, including Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, Joan Cusack and Don Rickles, plus Carl Weathers voicing Combat Carl, a G.I. Joe type action figure with the fierce intensity of Liam Neeson (“Hurry! There’s no time!”) and the tendency to speak in third person like Regis Philbin likes to.

There's even audio commentary (thank you!)
22 comments| 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
The Toy Story of Terror short film has a runtime of approximately 21+ minutes. It's a quality production with an interesting Halloween-time story, focusing on Jessie and the gang's unplanned stay at a roadside motel. The original "commercials" that aired with Toy Story of Terror are featured at the end of the film, spoofs of Combat Carl as a GI Joe style infomercial, a short on the Old Timer clock, and finally the "Transitron" transformer-style robot in a Japanese-style commercial. Each commercial has a runtime of about 60 seconds. Overall, it's a fun collection for true Toy Story fans.

As a bonus, three Toy Story Toons are included, Hawaiian Vacation (6 min.), Small Fry (8 min.), and Partysaurus Rex (7 min.). These are great shorts and add some value to the purchase if you do not already have them.

Finally, included is a behind the scenes feature with the director giving a look at the day-to-day work to make a Toy Story short.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 21, 2014
Our favorite toys are back, but when the road trip they're on gets delayed at a roadside motel, they find themselves trapped in their very own scary movie. In classic horror movie form, they disappear one by one and it's up to Jesse to overcome her fears, save the day and solve the mystery. Toy Story of Terror uses flips the clichés from the horror, suspense and monster movie genres with nods to adults and without getting too scary for the little ones. Pixar keeps the quality strong with top notch animation and the original voice cast returning and even adds to it. If you didn't catch this on TV it's worth picking up.
The 22 minute short is great as is, but Disney has put together a really terrific Blu-ray release with this title. There are the usual start-up trailers but you can go ahead and jump to a cute haunted house menu which looks to be pulled from the vampire movie the gang is watching in the trunk of the car, the feature with can be played with or without commercial breaks (more on those later,) and quite a few bonus features. For most people the Toy Story Toons will be the main draw here, including Hawaiian Vacation, Small Fry (love the surprising appearance of Jane Lynch as Neptuna,) and Partysaurus Rex. All three are great. There are three deleted scenes and explanation from the editor about what they are and why they got cut. They are rough line drawings with temp voices, but they give you a good idea about the scenes and some insight on the animation process. There's a behind the scenes called Team of Specialists which really gets into the new characters and what it's like at Pixar. There's the trailer for the special that was shown at D23 and three vintage toy commercials. The commercials really show how deep Pixar goes with its characters, giving us a commercial for Combat Carl (still voiced by the amazing Carl Weathers,) Old Timer, and Transitron, all done in the style that they would have been done back in the day. If you're a child of the 80s you will appreciate these. Additionally there are a number of audio options, including English in 7.1, 5.1, 2.0, English descriptive 2.0, French and Spanish both in 5.1. There are also English, English for Hearing Impaired, French and Spanish Subtitles. There are some sneak peeks tacked on including a very brief commercial for Star Wars Rebels.
Overall it's a fantastic short and a jam packed release with quite a few extras. The digital copy is easy to add through Disney Movie Rewards and Disney Movies Anywhere and includes many of the extras above. If you enjoyed the special when it aired of like the characters, go get this disc! It's a wonderful companion to the films and deserves a spot on the shelf right next to them.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
I saw Toy Story of Terror when it aired on TV back in 2013 and loved it. I was really happy the main cast returned to voice the toys for a 30 minute show. Now for anyone looking for something really scary should know right off the bat that this won't be like the scary movies you see in theaters, it has more of a Scooby Doo feel to it where someone/something goes missing and they got to find out what's going on.

There are references to events from the Toy Story movies and an we're introduced to a character I personally like named Combat Carl, voiced by Carl Weathers (Apollo Creed from the Rocky movies)

I'm looking forward to the Blu-Ray release, and I suggest anyone who is a Toy Story fan, you'll want to add this to your collection
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
We saw this as a special on television and absolutely loved it (keep in mind we are a family of adults). Kept the recording on our DVR until we saw that the video is being released August 2014, and immediately ordered it. It is a delightful treasure.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 14, 2015
The short films included in this bundle are awesome. Our whole family is huge fans of the Toy Story Franchise. The only reason that I didn't rate this 5 stars is that it would have been much nicer to have all the "behind the scenes" stuff and interviews as either a separate part of the video or at the end after all the shorts have played. They are interesting for the adults but the kids have no interest in them and we are constantly fast-forwarding to the next short.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2015
Honestly this is a VERY cute addition to the Toy Story series. It's funny, silly and enjoyable. The ONLY reason I'm giving it 4 instead of 5 is it's basically a full price DVD but the movie is only about 25 minutes long. The "shorts" that come with it are also available on other Disney DVD's so I actually have all of them already. My 3 year old twin boys love it and will watch it over and over, and I'm sure will for years to come. I just think it could be priced a little lower due to the length.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2016
This fun movie has tons of cool plot twists and suspense. It makes fun of horror movies and horror conventions while also using brilliant story telling, and uses a group of vintage toys as a sort of team of specialists Ala mission impossible. Combat Carl, a name mentioned in Toy Story as their version of GI Joe, makes an appearance as a key character (Although eagle-eyed Pixar Nerds like me will notice the Combat Carl in this is black while the one in Toy Story is White. Obviously, like GI Joes, there are different versions of Combat Carl.) And the commercials included are amazing! I definately recommend watching it first with the commercials. As for the Shorts, it has Hawaiian Vacation, Small Fry, and one I haven't seen before: Partysaurus Rex, which is AWESOME in High Definition (you may want to turn your volume down in some spots. It gets pretty loud!) All in all, a fun time for and Pixar Nut or Toy Story fanatic. The biggest complaint I have is I wish they hadn't put the menu in black and white!!! Because the highlighted stuff is White and the unselected stuff is a whitish gray, it's hard to tell what you're selecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2014
We love the Toy Story shorts and Toy Story of Terror is a really cute one. But it only has a runtime of about 20 minutes and for $12.99 it's really pricey. Especially if you already own the three other shorts in the Toy Story series which are the only other shows included with this.
0Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse