Your Garage Luxury Beauty Killers of the Flower moon STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Mother's Day Gifts hgg17 Shop Popular Services animestrike animestrike animestrike  Introducing Echo Look Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Amazon Video|Change
Price:$2.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,880 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 2,448 reviews
on October 7, 2015
My son loved it.
review image
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon February 6, 2014
‘Toy Story’ is truly one of the most beloved franchises in all of film, not merely animated film. Children and their parents (and even adults without children) are in love with these films, and it’s easy to see why. They are clever, exciting, original and they build such strong emotional ties to the audience, delivering a beautifully moving cinematic experience. Everyone is familiar with the story at this point, so I’ll spare you a huge plot breakdown, but know that you won’t regret getting to know Woody and Buzz (not to mention the rest of their crew), and the impact they’ll have on you cinematic life is huge. You’ll fall in love, which is why parents and children were bawling their eyes out at the end of ‘Toy Story 3’. With crisp animation, superb character development and a plot that stirs deeply profound emotions (this look at childhood, innocence and friendship is remarkably astute), ‘Toy Story’ may be almost twenty years old, but it is just as profound, poignant and lovable today as it was upon its release!
22 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 25, 2016
I love this movie!!! Once upon a time I owned every Disney VHS there was, and then, well, VHS was a thing of the past (can you imagine!!!?) and my final ability to play my beloved movies broke for the umpteenth time and I just couldn't justify fixing it again. I tried converting them to DVD or digital media, but no go--I finally just gave them away and am in the process of rebuilding my collection. For any body who hasn't seen Toy Story (is there really anybody out there who hasn't?) this is a hilariously-funny movie with quotable lines that you will remember (and use!) years down the road. But underneath the hilarity and memorability, there is an endearing story that has earned this movie its' place in the "Classic" hall of fame.

Amazon Digital is wonderful--it's nice to have this movie there in my forever library so I can watch it whenever and wherever I wish. The process was simple--press buy and viola! It showed up in my library.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 29, 2000
If you liked, or even loved the "Toy Story" movies the two disc set is probably the thing for you. However, if you're the kind of person who likes to know how the whole thing is put together, a film student say, or just an overly curious viewer, this is the one to have.
Both films come with audio commentary, Acamdemy Award winning and nominated short films, French language tracks, and are THX certified. "Toy Story" also includes a multi language reel (where Buzz and Woody's first encounter with each other is shown in some of the many languages the film was translated in),a making of featurette, & on set interviews with Woody & Buzz. But the best thing on this disc is the 'Toy Story treats', which are about 51 short almost commercials that Pixar created for ABC's Saturday morning cartoons to help promote the movie. They're nothing more than ten second blips with all the characters from the first film, and this is the first place you can see them all together.Really cool!
The "TS2" disc includes the hilarious outtakes that were put in the film after its' initial release, and a rather dull and drawn out sneak preview of Pixar's next feature, "Monsters, Inc."
But the real reason to spend the extra bucks is for the third disc. Every aspect of both films is covered from pre-production to publicity. Extensive interviews with the directors of the films include conversations about why they chose to do a sequel, as well as discussing traditional elements of the film making process. The art department of both films discuss specific locations, and both have original song demos from Randy Newman. There's also a great bit where they show you all the inside jokes the animators put into the second film.Even the menu screens for each of the sections is painstakingly thought out.
In the liner notes John Lasseter,(The Director), says the set is "fun, it's entertaining, it's even scholarly. But most of all this DVD is a tribute to the geniuses I get to work with every day. Warm up your remotes, remember where your 'angle' button is-and get ready to ride!"
A collector's dream gift.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2000
Since the announcement of the potential of DVD, I had been waiting for a set of films that could fully be of incredible potential. The biggest news was not only the Fantasia Anthology, but the Toy Story Ultimate Toy Box! Coming in a custom-slip case, a clear plastic holder featuring Woody and Buzz can be lifted to reveal the understructure wireframe. Each DVD comes in different packaging (Woody is on the cover of TS1, Buzz on TS2, and the little squeak alien is on the special disc 3). The first Toy Story has indepth articles on the development, including the first attempt to match Tom Hank's voice to a Woody doll stand-in. There is even a short 2 minute animation test that was used to help greenlight the project. Also included was the first OScar-winning animated short: Tin Toy, the basis for Toy Story. The Toy Story 2 disc features the animated short "Luxo Jr," as well as sound and various features. The joy of this set is Disc 3, which contains animated menus based on different scenes in the film. You get to see Wire-frame models, animation tests, deleted animation, character 3-D renders, errors in production, as well as a redone "crossing the street" sequence that was intended before TS2 was remade for the big screen. The most fun of all are the audio commentaries by John Lasseter and the other directors, writers, and producers on the film. TS2 will make you laugh til it hurts. There are even links to merchandise, posters, Tv previews, and other goodies you'll have to discover on your own, as well as a look into hidden gags in the two movies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 20, 2000
If you're thinking of getting the Toy Story movies on DVD, then spend the extra money and get the box set over the 2-disc set. You wont be sorry. The box itself is pretty amazing - with a silver background that has sketches of the characters, and a big plastic protective cover with the color versions of Woody and Buzz. The plastic slides over the main silver box where the individual DVD cases are stored, and matches the sketch drawings. Very slick.
The box set includes 3 DVDs: Toy Story, Toy Story 2, and a special third DVD jam-packed with so many extras from both movies, that it took me 2 hours to get through it all! You'll be amazed at all the work that went into creating the two features. It's fun to look through stuff like early sketches of Woody, interview clips with the stars who provided the voices (Tom Hanks, Tim Allen, etc), storyboards, trailers, publicity posters, outtakes, deleted scenes, and much much more. Did you know that the first draft for Toy Story was in 1991? Me either! Lots of little fun facts in there as well.
Pixar really takes DVD technology seriously, and it shows with The Ultimate Toy Story Box set. This has become my new "show off" DVD, which I use to demonstrate the power of DVD technology to friends who are still using VCRs.
I strongly recommend this to anyone who is a big fan of the Toy Story movies. The picture quality is wonderful. If you also love getting tons of extra features on DVD for your hard earned money, then you'll be in total heaven with this set.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 4, 2008
I bought this back when it was $45 used, and I considered it a steal then. The Toy Story movies are absolute classics, no question about it. Even as computer animation gets better and better, these movies don't feel dated at all. (hint to Dreamworks: it's because the movies are filled with rich characters, not weak pop-culture references masquerading as "jokes.")

There are better versions of the movies available, but the differences are small and the Toy Box is a bit cheaper than getting the other editions separately (as of 6/4/2008, at least). You miss out on a few special features, but most of the ones on the other editions are taken from this set. The picture quality is also ever-so-slightly better on the other editions (although picture quality is not a problem at all on this set).

It should also be mentioned that the DVD packaging on this set is beautiful. The DVDs come in standard cases housed in a silvery box with wireframe versions of some of the characters from the films printed on it. A clear plastice slipcase goes over that, with the fully-rendered versions of the characters replacing the wireframe versions. It's pretty clever, really.

The other editions are here, if you really must have the very best versions of them:
Toy Story (10th Anniversary Edition)
Toy Story 2 (Two-Disc Special Edition)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon November 1, 2010
Toy Story and Toy Story 2 would have worked very well in traditional animation, and it's rather a pity they weren't done that way. Toy Story especially shows the results of its audacity in pushing computer animation well beyond what was then its comfort zone, and one does think at times that the mature techniques of traditional animation might have served the story and the characters better.

Even so, something had to push computer animation forward, and Toy Story did it with flags flying. The characters and the story elevated what could have been a clumsy and disagreeable experiment into something that, despite certain deficiencies in the animation process, was little short of sublime. Had this not happened we wouldn't have had Toy Story 2, which picked up where Toy Story left off and not only did its predecessor proud on all fronts but still stands today as one of Pixar's greatest achievements.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2000
If anyone still needs a reason to buy a DVD player, this is it. Disney has produced one of the most astounding DVD box sets ever created, setting new standards for content and quality. This is one to own!
To begin with, of course, there are the films: Toy Story and Toy Story II. Both are minor masterpieces, not only in terms of the revolutionary computer animation concepts, but in every other respect as well: The scripts are fantastic, the comic timing impeccible, characterizations are marvelous, etc., etc., etc. The only issue is trying to determine which of the two is the better film...they're really "companion pieces", like the Godfather I and II set. While they are technically "kid's movies", I defy anyone to watch them without being thoroughly impressed, amused and entertained...and most amazing (and unusual for children's movies)of all, they really do keep getting better with repeated viewings...something parents of small children will certainly welcome.
As to the extra content...I have only scratched the surface of everything that's in here. Suffice it to say that there are mountains of material in this package, which will provide endless hours of enjoyment for the fan. One of the features I've noticed already is a "Guide to Hidden Jokes" which provides an absloutely hilarious map of the "inside" humor to be found all over these films.
The sound and picture of these films are excellent, of course...just what one would expect for a high-tech project such as this one. But technical accomplishments are ultimately secondary in importance behind the quality of the stories. That's where TOY STORY and TOY STORY II really stand out...above all the technology, they are simply wonderful movies!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 19, 2000
I received the "Ultimate Toy Box" this morning and immediately popped it into my DVD player. I was VERY impressed by the picture quality on both Toy Story 1 & 2. Colors are vibrant beyond belief and the picture is so sharp, it may crack your screen! These DVD's were produced DIRECTLY from Pixars digital masters, so the quality is unreal. The sound quality is equally impressive. Both the sound effects and the score roll off your speakers in full-blown sound quality and spacial characteristics that are very pleasant to the ear. The 3rd disc which contains all supplemental material will keep you busy for hours! You get to meet the directors, animators, editors, sound designers and a bunch of other happy folks at Pixar. They talk to you about every process of the Toy Story developement. They even get technical about their computer wizardry...(but not too technical for novices). In conclusion, if you are a fan of what Pixar is doing, I HIGHLY recommend getting the "The Ultimate Toy Box: 3 Disc Collector's Set." Impressive in every aspect...and the movies are wonderful to watch and enjoy! The Toy Story films are digital creativity at its finest, and these DVD's are the best format to show what a technological thrill these films are!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse