Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon toystl17_gno

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 72 reviews
on February 9, 2013
Do not buy this edition for the following reasons:

1. This version contains no information of the publisher, name of the translator and etc. So there is no way one can quote from this book for the academic purposes.
2. This version contains LOTS of mistakes. First, missing sentences/paragraphs: I compared this book with the German version (Suhrkamp), and found some sections are absent. For example, in the German version "2.21 Das Bild stimmt mit der Wirklichkeit überein oder nicht; es ist richtig oder unrichtig, wahr oder falsch". (also 4.27, and some other paragraphs or sentences). Second, mistakes of the numerical system, which totally discredits the logical structure and integrity of the Tractatus. Third, problems of formatting: they print 4.2 and 4.21 in the SAME paragraph.

In conclusion, this edition has no virtue of integrity, which is very essential for understanding Wittgenstein's Tractatus. I don't understand why Amazon allows such a sloppy version to be sold in their website, and even be placed as No.1 in the search result.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 17, 2016
This book is beautiful. Numbered by propositions, from "1. The world is all that is the case" to "7. Whereof one cannot speak, one must be silent" this book forces one to think deeply about language, logic, and their connection to reality. Wittgenstein discusses thoughts as pictures, with the truth/falsity arising in how that picture compares to reality. He also creates truth tables. What is not to love? One concern may be that in the latter half of the book, there is some logical notation that may be difficult to decipher without prior training, but even without prior training, Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus is an intellectual feast.This is one of the most important books of the 20th century, and I highly recommend it to anyone with even a passing interest in logic or philosophy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 27, 2015
If you are looking to read this book in English this Pears translation is by far the best edition. The old translation that is now in the public domain translates many key technical words in ways that can be very misleading. UMassAmherst hosts a great website offering side by side views of the two translations and original German and it is easy to see the problem there. Meanwhile Amazon has not yet successfully tackled the technical problem that is differentiating these editions when purchasing from other sellers or when buying digital copies so beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
To date, most reviews of this book have reflected digestion of Wittgenstein's philosophy rather than addressing the quality of the edition. The translation is often terribly tacit or outright incorrect. Unfortunately, Seven Treasures seems to be capitalizing on how few editions remain of this work remain in print. This is not a source that should be used for any scholarly work. Hopefully we will see a Blackwell edition comparable to their PI anniversary printing, with the original German text included.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
this is the epitome of Wittgenstein's philosophical writings.probably not for the layman,some background in logical positivism would be very helpful.nonetheless one of the outstanding canon's of 20th century philosophy.also highly recommend ray monk's biography of Wittgenstein for further insight into his thought and philosophy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2006
Originally published in 1921 Wittgenstein's Tractatus Logico-Philosophicus is arguably the most influential piece of twentieth century philosophical writing. This edition contains the well respected 1961 Pears and McGuinness translation as well as the introduction to the original English edition by Bertrand Russell. I offer the following comments for potential readers.

Despite its unquestioned historical significance the Tractatus is not necessarily a good entry point into Wittgenstein's thought. Arguably, if one were to read it not aware of the context within it which it was written it might seem pedantic and tedious - it is largely focused on addressing logico-linguistic questions prevalent at the outset of the twentieth century. From my perspective, an understanding of Frege and Russell is essential to appreciating the Tractatus. In particular it is important to have an appreciation for Frege's notions of concept, and his views on sense and reference; Whereas, Russell's approach to names and descriptions is also important.

Although I appreciate Wittgenstein's work in the fields of language and logic I think his influence on modern philosophy has not been entirely positive. For instance it could be argued that the Logical-Positivist movement stemming from Wittgenstein's early work steered philosophical discussion into and sterile and uninteresting period where large metaphysical questions were deemed out of bonds (undoubtedly some would consider this a good thing).

Overall, the Tractatus is a classic in modern philosophy - an important read for all serious students. For non-Wittgenstein enthusiasts, however, it can be a difficult read in early twentieth century analytic philosophy.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2012
As the title of my review implies, this is not quite the book it represents itself as.

I really wish I had looked at these one-star reviews before I bought. I assumed they were reviewers lacking understanding and bashing the original text (at least one is). As most of the one-stars point out, the problem is with the edition and not necessarily Wittgenstein.

One of the reviewers before me pointed out a few typos. Those in particular have actually been corrected in my copy, printed 30 October 2012. However, more errors abound.

According to the product listing, this was published by CreateSpace Independent Publishing Platform. There is no mention of publisher or translator in the product itself. It does not seem like one could reasonably cite this text in any article or academic paper. All I can tell you is this was the cheapest new edition on Amazon at the time of this review, with a black-and-white picture of The Thinker (statue by Rodin) on the cover. Be careful of which edition you choose to buy, and avoid this one!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 26, 2016
Everybody should read this book. High school students and college grads. This book shows the power of logic, the force of intuition, the perfect internal consistency of this work, the clarity of thought, the depth of meditation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 16, 2014
Bare bones, basic and completely without frills, but an excellent way to get one of the twentieth century's most important works of philosophy for free. As for the work itself, even if one is not into philosophy, the Tractatus is a mind-expanding, deceptively challenging book. You can read through it I an afternoon but take a lifetime to understand. No excuses.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2012
This translation is very different from others. I'm not sure if it's better or worse, but the fact that it is so different makes me very suspicious and it also makes it difficult to reconcile with secondary texts. Some of the minor theses appear to be missing or misplaced. It's rather strange.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse