Amazon Vehicles Beauty Return your textbook rentals STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Limited time offer Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Shop Home Gift Guide Father's Day Gifts Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning masterpiece masterpiece masterpiece  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Trade it in. Fund the next. National Bike Month on Amazon toystl17_gno

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
14,939
Capacity: 16GB|Style: Card Only|Package Type: Frustration-Free Packaging|Change
Price:$8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14,215 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 14,939 reviews
on April 11, 2010
Update 3/6/2012 I own about 20 Transcend cards now. They have all worked without an issue untill today. I dread calling any company for return support because it usually is such a tortured experience...(Ever tried calling SanDisk for product support?) Withing 20 seconds of dialing I was connected to their representative Marc Crawford. He was able to quickly and clearly guide me to the support I needed. It was such a shockingly great experience that I wanted to pass it along to potential purchasers.

UPDATE 9-10 I own 4 of these cards now. I have more of these than any other card I own because they are a very good value for capacity/price/and speed. My initial disappointment over the lack of super high speed is outweighed by the reality that this card is an exceptional value.

If you own a compact digital camera, or SD/HD video camera, this card will exceed the capabilities of all of them. For compact cameras the card isn't usually the slowest part of the data write process, it's the camera.
This card unloads very quickly with a 20MB/s read speed. You will need a SDHC card reader if you don't have one. A standard SD card reader will not read a HC (high capacity) card.

These cards make great gifts. I have given several of the 8 Gig cards as gifts and have received appreciation and great comments from all the recipients.

UPDATED REVIEW:
I purchased this card making the assumption that all class 10 cards had the same read and write speed. This was a poor assumption on my part. In order for a card to qualify for class 10 speed the card needs to be certified to have 10MB/s write and read speed. Some manufacturers classify their cards at a slower speed even though they qualify for a higher class. SanDisk make some cards that would qualify for class 10 and rates them as class 6.

The product photo on Amazon does not have the card's speed printed on it. The card that was shipped shows the front of the card printed with "20MB/s" which is the cards read speed. The cards write speed is 16MB/s.

I own a SanDisk Extreme III class 10 card that has (up to) 30MB/s read and write speed. My Nikon D-90 that can take advantage of the SanDisk cards speed. The difference is the SanDisk card can capture 100 photos at fine resolution in 24 seconds. The Transcend card captures 66 photos in the same time/resolution.

I reality very few people will ever have the need to drill off 100 photos in 24 seconds, but I can't stand to lose a good shot because the camera is slow while writing to the card and I can't fire the shutter. You can hear this happen at about 4.5 seconds in the video review. This does not happen with the SanDisk class 10 30MB/s card.

If you own an SLR that is capable of rapid fire, high-resolution photography you may want to consider the SanDisk Extreme III 30 MB/s card. It is expensive.

This card is reasonably priced for a class 10 card. Just know what you are getting, what your needs may be, and what else is available. I own other Transcend cards and they have always worked properly without any issues.

The video that I attached shows this card with the same 24 seconds that I gave the SanDisk Card.

To see the SanDisk Extreme III 30MB/s video demo and review on Amazon go to:

Sandisk SDSDX3-008G-E31 8GB Extreme III SD Card 30MB/s (RETAIL PACKAGE)
5150+ comments| 2,964 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 14, 2013
UPDATE 1/16/2013:

Received 2x replacement 8GB cards from Amazon and re-tested the Write performance on several systems. Again MAX write performance is in the 9MB/s range - far, far lower than the advertised speeds. Infact the replacement cards actually have a significantly worse write speed for "Random 512KB" blocks than the 2 prior cards (Down from 4MB/s to less than 1MB/s). I verified the serial no's of both new cards on the Transcend website to make sure they were not counterfeit - they are not. My conclusion is Transcend are selling subpar product that does not meet their own advertised claims.

Will now be returning these cards and avoiding all Transcend products in the future.

As a side note I feel compelled to share my experience with Amazon's Return process - Amazon make the return process extremely easy and customer friendly. They provided excellent service throughout the automated and very easy process and I was able receive replacement product the very next day! Amazing service Amazon!

ORIGIONAL Review 1/14/2013:

Just received 2x of the 8GB version of these cards and neither of them perform to my expectations for a card advertised as 'Class 10'. While read speeds are as expected / as stated the write speeds are not. Both cards I received have MAX write speeds in the range of 9.0MB/s to 9.4MB/s - ~50% less than advertised. H2testw results return even lower speeds and are included at the footer of this review.
Amazon has images of the card including one stating "Read: 20MB/s; Write: 15MB/s". Also, per the product description the manufacturer states "...ultra-fast read/write transfer rates of up to 20/18 MB/s". Either I have received 2 defective (or counterfeit cards) or both transcend and Amazon's statements are baloney (at least for the 8GB version of these cards)!
I have many SanDisk Class 4 and PNY Class 6 SD cards that have faster write speeds than these alleged "Class 10" cards.

Does anyone else have Read/Write speed test results specifically for the 8GB version of these cards? I am interested to know if the speeds I measured are indicative of all 8GB models.

Bottom line is I do not recommend these cards. I will be RMA'ing both cards as they are not as advertised. Once I receive replacements I will provide a further update regarding the write speeds.

----------------------------------------

Test results from H2testw_1.4:
(Note the slightly different capacities too)

CARD#1:
=================================
Warning: Only 7678 of 7679 MByte tested.
Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 8.08 MByte/s
Reading speed: 18.4 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4

CARD#2:
=================================
Warning: Only 7686 of 7687 MByte tested.
Test finished without errors.
You can now delete the test files *.h2w or verify them again.
Writing speed: 9.10 MByte/s
Reading speed: 18.3 MByte/s
H2testw v1.4
review image
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 20, 2016
I bought this card in good faith because it was recommended along with the Nikon Coolpix camera in one of those Amazon suggestions. Well, guess what... as soon as it got here, the camera didn't recognize it. The manual has a limited list of brands that are guaranteed to work with the camera, and Transcend is NOT on it. This is FALSE ADVERTISING. Only buy brand names (Sandisk, Toshiba, Panasonic, and Lexar are the ones listed in the manual.) Yes, it would be nice to save a few dollars, but it isn't worth it to put the card in only to see that the camera can't read it. I really needed to use the camera as soon as I got it, and now I'm going to have to wait until a Sandisk card gets here. And there was no way to find out without reading the manual... which didn't get here until the camera did. NOT real happy about this.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 6, 2014
I have purchased other Transcend cards from Amazon previously with no issue, however the 64gb turned out to be a fake and was not actually made by Transcend. It was unable to record video for more than a few seconds, even after formatting. I did a little research and there is a company who makes and sells fake Transcend cards on Ebay, perhaps this company has provided the stock for Amazons warehouse. Either way I will help you differentiate between the fake and authentic cards below:

How to tell if your card is fake:
1. Authentic cards will usually have a yellow lock tab, fakes usually have a white one.
2. The transcend logo on the sticker is a bit too small and not the exact font as the logo in the picture on Amazon or Transcend's official website
3. The rainbow doesn't blend together well and some of the color spectrum is missing
4. On the back of the card there is no writing, on the genuine there is a large CE, various numbers, a serial number, size of card, and "Made in Taiwan" written on the bottom.
5. The read and write speed will not be as fast as advertised, hence it cannot keep up with video playback.

Additionally, to verify the cards authenticity, contact Transcend and check the serial number provided on the back of the card, if you don't have one this is a pretty strong indication it is fake.

Since the order is fulfilled by Amazon, they made it very easy to return the card for a full refund. I don't believe they know they are selling fakes, however I strongly suggest they do an inventory check. After receiving my refund I ordered another Transcend card from Amazon, this time the 45MB/s version of the 64gb class 10 card for the same price and it is genuine and working perfectly. The product is listed here: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00FB465IG

Hope this helps others determine if their cards are fake so they can exchange and get the full performance of a genuine Transcend card!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Enthusiast: Photographyon March 23, 2011
This video review is misleading and a fraud. But that's only a bad thing for SanDisk as this Transcend card is literally more than 99% as fast as the most expensive SanDisk card you can buy for a Nikon D90. Hell, this video is the reason I bought the SanDisk card.

In the video review where he states "...The difference is the SanDisk card can capture 100 photos at fine resolution in 24 seconds. The Transcend card captures 66 photos in the same time/resolution" he is lying. I too have a Sandisk Extreme III card, a Transcend Class 10, a Transcend Class 6 card and a Nikon D90. I repeated this frame rate test at several resolutions. At EVERY resolution, there is EXTREMELY LITTLE frame rate difference between these cards. The truth is that even Transcend Class 6 cards offer essentially the same frame rate at the same resolution as the most expensive SanDisk card you can buy. The ONLY way you can get a D90 to shoot at maximum advance rate for 100 shots (without any buffer lag) is to drop to a low resolution and AS LONG AS YOU ARE RUNNING TRANSCEND CLASS 6 OR HIGHER, YOU WILL GET THE FASTEST FRAME RATE A NIKON D90 OR D7000 CAN MUSTER.

I also own a Nikon D7000 that shoots at a substantially faster maximum advance AND writes MUCH larger files. At highest resolution of RAW + Fine Large jpeg, the difference between this Transcend Class 10 card, the SanDisk Extreme III and a Transcend Class 6 card is insignificant. We're talking about approximately 0.2 frames difference in a 4-second burst at Continuous High advance. All cards burn down the buffer in less than 2 seconds and then you are in jerky buffer-restricted advance at the same rate regardless of card.

Food for thought: SanDisk marketed their Extreme 30MB/second cards as BOTH Class 6 and Class 10 at different times. They are the same cards. The TRUE difference between Class 6 and Class 10 is, wait for it... MARKETING. Wonder why Transcend Class 6 cards cost about the same as their Class 10 cards? Probably because they perform the same and likely ARE the same...

This and the Transcend Class 6 card get 5 stars because they are literally over 99% as fast as the SanDisk "30MB/s" cards at a fraction of the price. Do NOT waste your money on SanDisk cards. They do not improve frame rate over Transcend Class 6 or 10 cards nor do they transfer to computer any faster. I'd only give the SanDisk cards 2 stars because they perform well but are EXTREMELY overpriced.
22 comments| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2013
The 1-star threads are like watching a committee of blind men describing an elephant. Unsurprisingly, no one has the complete picture, but a lot of Canon owners think these cards are bogus. SD card technology is very complex, the Class system is often misunderstood, and there is a long history of compromised cards appearing on eBay -- or even from reputable dealers who have been hoodwinked. Kingston cards are most often faked (or taken from the midnight production run); that's because Kingston has about a third of the flash card market and doesn't forge their own chips, but any manufacturer can be spoofed. It doesn't pay to buy cheap cards on eBay or less reputable sources.

An SD card contains a controller chip and flash memory chips, even the microSD versions. Realize that SD means Secure Digital, and that security comes from crypto managed by the controller (MMC cards didn't have that bloat, but Hollywood DRM requirements made sure they faded.) The controller can be pretty powerful: the Samsung SD controller is a 32-bit ARM TDMI chip with 128 k of code space -- that's cell phone power. It handles I/O and fading (when the card slowly wears out its NAND sites after about 100,000 hits so writing is randomly distributed and kept track of), the factory self-test, and a host of other functions, but it can also be programmed to report a false storage capacity. Sometimes the firmware on the controller or its crypto or something else on certain cards leads to problems with certain hardware, as it has, for example, with the Samsung Galaxy III and maybe the Canon cameras. Usually the card is found to confirm to SDcard dot Org specifications and the hardware is to blame, but you never know.

To test the actual capacity of your card, use H2testw, which is free. It writes the full amount of data to the card and then reads it back (this nukes whatever was on the card). This can take more than an hour with a 32 GB card but it tells you if the card indeed holds 32 GB or has problems. It also gives you read and write speed numbers, but it's unclear whether the numbers are for random read/write, or sequential read/write. Sequential write is what photographers and videographers care most about.

Sometimes a Class 6 card might test faster than a Class 10 card, when using computer read/write tests or even in a camera that wasn't designed with higher capacity cards in mind. That's because they use smaller block sizes (there's no cache on an SD card). Explaining the significance of this is getting too far into the weeds for an Amazon review, and modern devices and their firmware should not have that limitation.

To test random and sequential read/write speed, use CrystalDiskMark, also free. Run the full suite; it won't take long. CrystalDiskMark requires that the card be formatted, and the most reliable way to do that is to use the free tool from sdcard dot org. A 32 GB card will may report 39.9 GB before formatting and 29.8 GB after; don't worry, you haven't been ripped off.

Unfortunately, there's no easy way to read the manufacturer's ID off the SD card, even in Linux, to determine who actually made the card, because you have to have it connected directly to a motherboard; an SD-to-USB adapter won't work because it doesn't pass through disk data, and that's what's in nearly all computers. But what do you care, so long as the card's as big and fast as claimed?

Now, what about the Transcend 32 GB SDHC C10 card? Here are full test results from CrystalDiskMark:

Transcend 32 GB SDHC C10
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
CrystalDiskMark 3.0.2 (C) 2007-2013 hiyohiyo
Crystal Dew World : [...]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
* MB/s = 1,000,000 byte/s [SATA/300 = 300,000,000 byte/s]

Sequential Read : 19.953 MB/s
Sequential Write : 13.786 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 19.618 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 13.827 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 3.003 MB/s [ 733.2 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 1.414 MB/s [ 345.1 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 3.491 MB/s [ 852.3 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 1.842 MB/s [ 449.8 IOPS]

Test : 50 MB [F: 0.0% (0.0/29.3 GB)] (x5)
Date : 2013/05/12 18:19:47

So you can see that the sequential write speed, what matters to a photographer or videographer, is over 13 MB/s, more than 30% above the C10 spec. The other speeds aren't to shabby, either. There's no way that this card is too slow for a contemporary camera, still or video, that is functioning properly.

Also on Amazon for a very attractive price is a Sony 32 MB SD card. Here are the full CrystalDiskMark test results for it:

Sony 32 GB SDHS USH-I

Sequential Read : 19.998 MB/s
Sequential Write : 14.115 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 19.772 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 13.173 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 3.682 MB/s [ 899.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 2.302 MB/s [ 561.9 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 4.517 MB/s [ 1102.8 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 2.323 MB/s [ 567.0 IOPS]

So the Sony is slightly faster, 40% over spec. H2testw also reported full capacity and no errors for this card, so they are both top notch (The Sony doesn't come with a little case and the case for the Transcend case is about twice as big as it needs to be and so won't fit in the little pockets in a modern camera bag. Big deals.)

Just for reference, here are the results for a contemporary USB thumb drive:

SanDisk Ultra 32 GB USB thumb drive

Sequential Read : 22.508 MB/s
Sequential Write : 7.985 MB/s
Random Read 512KB : 22.365 MB/s
Random Write 512KB : 1.767 MB/s
Random Read 4KB (QD=1) : 3.719 MB/s [ 908.1 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=1) : 0.520 MB/s [ 126.9 IOPS]
Random Read 4KB (QD=32) : 3.871 MB/s [ 945.0 IOPS]
Random Write 4KB (QD=32) : 0.482 MB/s [ 117.7 IOPS]

As you can see, this USB drive is faster than the SD cards for reading, such as playing music, running software, or looking up data, which shows that it is nicely optimized for its intended functions.

As an aside, anyone who thinks they have lost data on an SD card can recover pictures using the free tool at z-a-recovery or recover everything(!) with the free PhotoRec tools.

So, if people want to whine about these SD cards in their particular cameras, they should run these simple, free tests and reach their own conclusions about whether the cards are "too slow." The cards test above spec objectively. And they both work flawlessly on my still (not Canon) and video cameras. I think they have gotten a bad rap here from people who don't have the full picture, so to speak.

I'll also post this as a review, and on the Sony 32 GB page, too. I hope you found it informative.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
I find these transcend SDHC cards to be better than the SanDisk products. I was having some issues with the SanDisk ones- my camera was saying they were slow. I have not had that problem with these Transcend cards. They are working very well for me. The speed is faster and they are the same class as the SanDisk ones that I purchased. I found that my videos on the sandisk were not uploading correctly and were taking hours to upload a 5 minute video. I have had none of those issues with the Transcend SDHC cards. I find them to work much better and my uploading speeds are higher and so much faster with these. I will continue to buy them.

Transcend 16GB SDHC Class 10 Flash Memory Card Up to 30MB/s (TS16GSDHC10E)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 23, 2016
I had bought a Nikon D5100 camera a few years back and needed a memory card for it. I've had a lot of memory cards for older point and shoot cameras. They were all from Transcend and I've never had any issues with those. So I decided to stick with the same brand. This time around I needed something with more storage capacity. I purchased the 16 GB size memory card.

The 16 GB was the perfect size for us. We don't usually leave a lot of pictures and videos on our camera. As soon as we get the chance, we upload all the pictures and videos onto our computer/laptop and then delete them from the memory card to clear up more space. But even with that we've never come close to using up all the space on this memory card. We don't take many videos but take tons and tons of pictures.

This is a great memory card for the price you pay. I've never had any issues with this or any of the other previous Transcend memory cards. Very good brand and would highly recommend this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 17, 2016
When I bought my Canon Powershot SX 400 IS, I know I will need a new SD card so I thought I will buy this.
It came in Frustration Free Packaging and lots of papers and warranty card.
I have different kinds of SD card but I think this is my first SDHC card Class 10.
Works great in my new camera and it transfers fast in my computer.
I have no problem with it.
It came fast, the same day my camera came so I am pretty happy.
I don’t know the exact capacity because the moment I was able to charge the battery of my camera and put the card in and take pictures, I download them all on my computer and delete the files on my card.
I'm going to buy a higher GB if I wanna take videos and an extra battery for my camera.
review image review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2016
I purchased this 32gb memory card to use in my gaming system to save downloaded games onto. It is a class 10 memory card and as far as memory cards so I always try to get the class 10 cards because they are the quickest for transferring data. This card will hold a lot and is just what I needed for my games. It has been very reliable and has not given me any fail issues. It is the standard sized SD high capacity card and it comes in a nice plastic case for storage. Good to have if you plan to take this card anywhere outside or plan to stick it in a bag. This is a great card and does everything the higher costing brand name cards do for a fraction of the cost. I am very satisfied with this card and I have gotten cards from this brand before. Never an issue with them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse