Lyft Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited GNO for iPhone 8 Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle MozartintheJungle  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis Tailgating PSFF17_gno

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$34.31+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 46 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 53 reviews
TOP 100 REVIEWERon February 2, 2014
Here's the artbook for the CG animated TV series Transformers: Prime. It had three seasons plus a TV film Predacons Rising that was released in October 2013. So this artbook came out in December 2013 which is quite fast.

The 208-page hardcover book is split into three parts covering the characters & prop designs, environment, and finally colour & effects as they are used in the shows.

The highlight of the book is of course the character designs for the Transformers Autobots and Decepticons. They take up half the book. The designs are really cool. There are some similarities with the other shows or movies that ran before it, but it has its own unique artistic style. Perhaps because the characters are to be animated, they appear to be quite organic in design, with more curves going on. You won't mistake them for other robot franchises. Fans will love this section.

There are plenty of characters to look at. And the book's quite big so they are printed big too. There are nice close ups on different body parts, props and relic designs. Transformation sequence art for several characters are included but unfortunately they are printed a bit too small.

The environment background art are beautiful but I felt that many pieces can be quite dark making it difficult to see the details or maybe that's to hide the details. This would be the weak part of the book.

The last part covers the art direction, talking specifically about the colours and effects.

Throughout the book, there are some lengthy and insightful interviews at the end of chapters. They include interviews with David Hartman (supervising director/art director), Jose Lopez (art director/characters & props), Vince Toyama (production designer) and Christopher Vacher (visual effects art director), and also captions accompanying the concept art. Lots to read on the production side of making the animation.

Overall, it's a good book to get if you're fans of the animated series, Transformers or robots in general. My quibble is the dark environment concept art pieces.

(See more pictures of the book on my blog. Just visit my Amazon profile for the link.)
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
I'm not much of a collector, but I am both of the above. Some images I wish had a higher DPI, but I assume it's because the images were not made for this printing (they're all full page illustrations). If you don't even know what a DPI is, don't bother looking it up, you'll be happy with the product just as it is (I've taken courses in Graphic Design).
There is also useful information for both transformers fans and for artists about their process of creating the characters, the setting, the mood, etc.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2016
Daughter loves it and practices her drawing while viewing the pictures in it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2014
This book is a gem; the artwork is lovely and it is very informative. It gives detailed images of each character and many of the set pieces as well. There are interviews with creators and lots of inside info and why they did what they did in the show. A must have for any TF Prime fan. :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2014
This is a great buy for someone who's a fan of this series or someone who's a fan of computer animation. the book is mostly concept art work for the settings props and characters and it shows the proses for animating each of the characters. My only complaint would be that it doesn't include a lot of the earlier designs that the designers went threw (I would have liked to see those personally) and only includes the final ones that were used for the show.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 13, 2017
This is an awesome book! It shows the characters in the series, their design and even moods. The book also contains pictures of beautiful backgrounds.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2016
This book is visually pleasing and well put together. Highly recommened it, especially if you are a fan of Transformers Prime
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2016
I knew that some pictures were going to be hard to see. I just didn't realize how dark the publisher printed it. The corners of the book were banged around from traveling to its destination. Overall, it's a good purchase because I am an avid fan of this animated series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2016
I'm just... In Awe! It's a WONDERFUL BOOK!!! I plan on using this book as a Helpful tool in my Hopeful Future in a Career of being a Graphic Artist, whether it's going to be a Graphic Novel Artist, an Animator, or who knows, maybe I might use art to create a new type of Medium!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2014
If you are looking for a good reference for the characters of Transformers Prime, look no further than 'The Art of Prime'. The book not only has full-body references for all of the main characters, there is also insight from the people who worked on the show itself, as well as stunning images of the scenery and other stills from the series. This is an invaluable resource for fanartists and those who want to begin working on their own characters.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse