Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Amazon's Choice Computers Limited time offer Luxury Beauty Handmade Mother's Day Gifts spring Book House Cleaning siliconvalley siliconvalley siliconvalley  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Shop Now disgotg_gno_17

Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$13.70+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 20 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 66 reviews
on April 24, 2017
It's good it's mostly about atmosphere I don't understand most of what they say an alot is in Norwegian but I love the dark atmosphere and the way it makes me feel
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2017
Great digipak package. Awesome classic album fo any True Kvlt fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 15, 2004
Incredible album. The mpeg movie on the multimedia portion of the CD has an interview with Fenriz (drums, words) conducted and shot by Nocturno Culto (vocals, guitars). Its is an illuminating look at the making of Transylvanian Hunger including what sound they were going for.
This is Black Metal distilled to its grimmest, darkest purity. The guitars meld together in a slowly shifting black harmonic wall. The riffs are repetitive and mesmerising. The drums have been stripped down to their basics, no fills for Fenriz, and act as the solid foundation for the guitars. They blast like a constant wind in the midst of a cold winter night. The vocals are placed perfectly within the music and are savage. That most of the songs are sung in Norwegian adds to the evil angry experience.
The lyrics written by Fenriz and Count Grishnakh - Varg Vikernes of Burzum, are darkly poetic and evocative, capturing in words an essence of horror that few other bands ever achieve. At least the two songs in English do. This is dark, evil music, to call it grim doesn't begin to describe the sound Darkthrone achieved on Transylvanian Hunger.
I didn't buy this album for some time as I heard of its primitive production, my bad.
Yes the production is intentionaly "bad", but it only adds to the cold wall of noise aesthetic Darkthrone were attempting. Its become cliche to say so but the lo-fi sound really does help to create a palpably dark, cold atmosphere. "Transylvanian Hunger" is the music of ice, stone and anger, an innovative album from some of the true innovators in black metal. Certainly one of Darkthrones best and the quintesence of the Norwegian underground black metal sound. When I first got it I played it twice through in a row at work no less. Listen to it in headphones at night, it will send chills down your spine.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 3, 2013
Transilvanian Hunger is one of the most influential black metal albums of all time. It defined the eerie, cold and primitive sound of early Norwegian Black Metal, and it continues to define the genre as it evolves today. This is a must-have for TRVE CVLT listeners, and anyone who wishes to understand the genre and its origins. Hail Satan.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2010
oh, come on now people. i love all types of music, specifically any type of strange, distant, or inaccessible kind, but what i hate are the fans. you have two types of (moronic) approaches for this album: 1) people who ignorantly worship it because they're "supposed to" 2) people who hate it for it's minimalist approach, and "bad" production.
those in the first group, we all know them, and chances are at one time we were them (and probably still are if we reflect a little deeper)and the second group, your (i hate this word) typical "more riffs please" metalhead. so, an unbiased opinion, from a person with no silly allegiance to any tribe, here is your review:

coming from an adolescence delved deep into punk/hardcore from all countries and ideas, this production is not bad at all. in fact, comparison to a lot of other musical styles, it may even seem a bit "polished" (keep in mind there are musical forms out there strictly dedicated to lo-fi noise). and compared to a lot doom-oriented bands, the music isn't all that repetitive. it's dark, it's slightly interesting, and if you don't own it already you've probably never heard anything like it. this album is how old? you've read how many reviews? i'm sure by this point in your life you have a pretty good idea as to what you want out of music, and hopefully you're not simple enough to let it end there. you know what this, what it's about, and what you're in for. just give it a try already.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
Fantastic Black Metal album. Very atmospheric and hypnotic. The quality of the CD case itself is fantastic and includes all the lyrics which is always a plus.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2014
Classic Album.Classic band for the Black Metal genre.This Is where it all came from kiddies.buy it or die fools![just kidding.Heh,Heh]
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 28, 2009
The coldest rawest album ever recorded. if you know anything about black metal you know this album is worth owning.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 27, 2011
I like Black Metal, Hell I even like Darkthrone, but this is far from their best album. I don't get why this particular album get's so much praise because it just honestly does nothing for me. Darkthrone are kickass though, A Blaze in the northern sky is much better than this album and easily fits in the top 5 classic Norwegian black metal albums. But I can't honestly say I was blown away by this. It's not even the bad production that makes it underwhelming, The guitar riffs aren't even all that evil-grim sounding, their just repetitive and....very boring.
11 comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2015
I like this album more than the other Darkthrone albums. It has a haunting drone to it and is interesting and listenable. Old school Scandinavian black metal fans might not be so fond.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse