Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Month Red Shoes We Love nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Stream your favorites. Amazon music Unlimited. Learn more. All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 Only: $49.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon TheTick TheTick TheTick  Three new members of the Echo family Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop now TG18PP_gno



on March 8, 2015
Have had this book for many years and great tips to know when traveling on a trip.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on June 20, 2013
Highly recommend. Some of the airport security info is a little out of date but it's always changing to no fault of Peter's book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2010
I am really impressed with the author knowledge and ability to dissect the travel industry hidden rules and show how to work around them to get some of the cost saving travel experience to the end cusomers. I have just confirmed I could have saved about 1500 USD on two International flights by following the Back to Back Tickets tip listed on this book ..Which is about 300 times the price of this book !!!.

Note: Beware of some of the negative reviews .. it could be motivated by some travel agents or airliners whom willing to show their anger on the author of the book indirectly by criticising the contents of the book.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 12, 2008
The full title of this book sounds great, but the book fails to deliver. Repetitive, boring, outdated and poorly organized and edited. Look online for up to date travel tips.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 3, 2008
This book is mostly about airlines. I was hoping for it to be more about hotels and how to get good service. I guess I should have found some reviews before buying the book. A lot of the information is older and you can't use now because of the changes made. I just would get this book from the library or the bargain book bin.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 30, 2007
Another of his books that help save money on your travels. Buy the book and enjoy the savings.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on March 10, 2006
I purchased this book after hearing the author speak at a Travel Show. His talk was both informative and entertaining. I expected his book to be some mix of his travel experiences and best practices the average traveller can apply.

I was quite disappointed. The book seems to be more of a diatribe against the travel industry. I do not work in that industry and I dont travel nearly as much as the author, so perhaps Im giving the travel industry too much leeway, but I dont see the need to write an entire book written in opposition of a mostly hardworking group of people.

Further, the "tips" in this book were either mostly non applicable to the general traveling public or completely common sense. I didnt need to read a book to tell me I should be courteous while traveling or I should shop around for the best fares.

The author was so much more pleasant, charming and informative in person that I hope he writes another book that focuses more on his personal experiences.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on January 8, 2006
I am a frequent traveler who found the book interesting and informative about many seemingly illogical aspects of traveling the airlines. I suspect the angry reviews are from travel industry insiders who object to Greenberg's snarky tone.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on August 13, 2005
As a seasoned traveler and having worked at a large hotel as Front Desk Manager I have to say most of what is given in this book is worthless. In fact if you try some of his "tactics" in a normal hotel you might get stuck with a hefty bill. I read this book to see how scammers might try to take advantage of my staff. None of my staff ever fell for any of what he suggests and many have tried.

Someone tried the double reservation game with us when we were fully booked. It ended up costing him two nights for both reservations. He tried to not pay and called his credit card to complain about it. Surprisingly the credit card company sided with us on that one. Hotels, as everyone else in the tourism industry, are onto the little scams this guy tries to put out as tips. Also reservations are a form of contract and depending on the state can be hard to break.

His advice on airlines was remedial at best even before 9/11. Now it is completely useless. I read a one page article on airline tips in a Reader's Digest and it had more practical advice.

You can be pretty sure that if you try any of these tactics you will not get an upgrade of any sort. More likely the staff will be onto you and look at you distrustfully for the duration of your travels with that company. If you want to insure bad seats, bad rooms, and bad everything else then try these tactics. Sometimes a bad customer is not worth having. On several occasions I "fired" guests. This is a good guide to making that happen. If you are a true frequent traveler then you should be getting perks already as a valued customer. You won't need this.

This author tries to paint travel industry professionals as some sort of enemy. It is this guy and his tricks that make travelers look bad and eventually cost the industry so much that they end reward programs for honest travelers. The people in this industry work exceptionally hard. They have bad hours, work holidays, and receive poor pay. The worst part of it is dealing with jerks like this and people that take out unrelated travel frustrations that people encounter. They put up with all this and are expected to say thank you and smile.

This is their job and they know it, but people like this author and his "advice" are not acceptable.

Here are a few tips on hotels that I hope you will find useful:

1. Your best general rate is going to be available via internet reservations.
2. Online discounters get a good mark up on the rooms they book for you. The hotel gets a very low rate and will give you a "run of house room" this means they will give you whatever is available. Even if you call and get a confirmed reservation for a certain type of room the hotel can change it at will as that is in the agreement with the discount broker. The discount broker is actually the contracted guest, not you.
3. Check the local area out on the web and find out what businesses frequent the area. If you have ever purchased a product of theirs you can justifiably claim you are a buyer and do business with them, the hotel may book you at their negotiated rates. I would leave out the fact that you purchase relatively small quantities.
4. Hotel room rates fluctuate on expected vacancy. The more filled the hotel the more likely they are to charge you their "rack" rate. This is their full price, every other rate is a discount off of this rate.
5. If the hotel is charging rack rate because they are expected to be fully booked then go to your travel agent. Your travel agent will be able to get you a better rate for this instance only. Otherwise avoid your travel agent at all costs.
6. Always always get confirmation numbers and if absolutely necessary get a faxed or e-mailed confirmation letter and check the dates thoroughly. A lot of people find out they were booked for the wrong days.
7. The more you call the more likely someone will screw up your reservation. Know what you want in advance and put your requests in all at one time. If you start to annoy the reservationist they may screw up your reservation. The reservationist likely won't be at the hotel when you show up and things are screwed up.
8. Requests for adjoining rooms can be exceptionally difficult. Most hotels will try to accomodate requests like this but will rarely guarantee them.
9. Most business-class rooms have special lounges or amenities available during business days only. On the weekends these services may not be offered.
10. Hotels offer a room to stay in. Unless you are paying sky high rates don't expect a palace. More likely you are paying for the location. If you are booking a downtown hotel in any medium sized city or larger expect to pay seperately for parking. Almost no hotel can afford a parking structure in a city. The property taxes alone would force you to pay an unimaginable rate. Ask how much parking will cost. Remember the hotel will most likely have no control over this so don't complain to them about it. In big cities this can be a daily rate of $20-$30. Not a good surprise.
0Comment| 95 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on July 7, 2005
great start for beginner travellers, this books tells you things to do and what not to do and most importantly to have a more enjoyable trip
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here