BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited $69.99 Handmade Tote Bags hgg17 Save $30 on a Deep Cleaning Appointment curbpremiere curbpremiere curbpremiere  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition $79.99. Limited-time offer. All-New Kindle Oasis GNO Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 6, 2013
He really does not address position sizing and risk management for trend trading but instead suggests another book. However, you may not be able to find a better chapter on stock selection than chapter 9 of this book. While some say that stock picking is less important than position sizing and risk management, I think the process for picking trending stocks is the "special sauce" that can really affect your overall profit. I think the addition of the chapters on option trading dilutes the book and this book should have focused on aspects of trend trading stocks. His discussion of general market direction and Beta is pretty good and the discussion of exit criteria is certainly good enough. Chapter 9 is the real jewel in this book and the discussion on general market direction is also good. Skim the rest. That said, I did like the book and recommend it to others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 26, 2016
I've read a number of trading books, this one surpasses them all! It contains actual trading strategies when many other books just talk about stories of stock traders and how how they did it, but not describing the specific methodology. Highly recommend this book for all levels of traders!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2012
As other reviewers say, performance history is not included. However, he does clearly share basic components for someone somewhat new to trading. In clear text, he gives essentials and definitions. He has 10 specific methods to trade in different markets. Following his methods (even if with a virtual portfolio) would serve as a good introduction. He includes screens to create a watch-list. His time frame is bit too short for me, however it did give me somethings to think about, including how I should really take the time to write down the methods I rely on.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon April 3, 2016
The author does a good job of explaining many, many trading techniques but this book is for beginning traders. That's not a horrible thing, but just know what you're getting into with this book. The book is written with a good sense of humor and really, anyone can get some good benefits.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2015
Good read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2015
No gobbilygook, clear setups that can be used by anyone. Assumes you know your indicators, and gives a lot of websites and referrals to other books if you need more info. Very much worth every cent, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2008
I really like this book. For some time I've been an active trader, holding my own. I have almost every serious trading book around. This book is unusual in two respects.

First, and very important, it sets forth very specific concrete approaches to selecting stocks and timing entries and exits. Dr. Carr does not stop with generalities. He sets forth a number of specific setups with clear and complete instructions on how to use them, but he also gives the general principles underlying them. So, you know why what you're doing makes sense. Even better, the methods embody the KISS principle, avoiding the unnecessary and unproductive complexities found in many approaches.

Second, this book is surprisingly complete considering its moderate length. It productively covers and summarizes the psychological and discipline factors necessary for successful trading. It clearly describes in detail techniques to use in bull and bear markets, with separate discussion of both stocks and options. Dr. Carr gives specific online sources of free information. In short, everything you need to use his method is in the book except for the computer and internet connection.

My only criticism relates to the computer and internet requirement. Dr. Carr talks at some length about the type of computer and connection you should use. I think this is overkill since almost everyone who would read the book already has an adequate computer and internet setup. But, the information doesn't hurt, although it will probably be dated quickly.

Finally, Dr. Carr's unusual background might account for the excellent writing style. His degrees are from Oxford and Princeton, in philosophy and theology! He is a professor of religious studies. A much more interesting background than had by most investment writers. Dr. Alexander Elder, M.D., author of Trading for a Living, appears to have significantly affected Dr. Carr's approach to, and philosophy of, trading. On balance, this might not be the "last book" on trading stocks, but it definitely belongs - well read - on your shelf.
0Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 15, 2015
Great book on Trend Trading , I have learn a lot about Trend Trading from this book,easy to read and I have used some of his setups, so far may trading has improve a lot.

THX
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 17, 2017
Learned a bunch of new stuff. Like the examples and charts shared as well as the clear step by step directions.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 28, 2011
This book differs from other books in that it provides specific set-ups to use to trend-trade profitably.
The author offers 5 bullish set-ups and 5 bearish set-ups, to use in different market conditions.
If you have solid money management techniques and if you can control your emotions, you only need a good system to make money.
This book offers 10 profitable systems !!!
Or I'd better say 10 set-ups (entries) and give you some ideas on how to exit your positions (percentage profit exit, price resistance, trailing-stop, ...).
The author also presents options strategies, with full coverage on long straddles during earnings reports.
This book is truely a must-read : even if you don't use the systems exactly as described (modify the entry points during break-outs for example, or using a different kind of stop) or if the options section can be a bit confusing, there are so many good ideas in this book that you sincerely can't read it without learning something that will enhance your results.
Thank you Dr. Stoxx
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse