Industrial Deals Beauty Summer Reading STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Wickedly Prime Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Book House Cleaning gotpremiere gotpremiere gotpremiere  Introducing Echo Show All-New Fire HD 8, starting at $79.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch Water Sports STEMClubToys17_gno

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
60
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 54 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 60 reviews
on February 4, 2016
This is not the place to start with Iceberg Slim.
Pimp seems to the the peak.
Not that this is lame, just that the weird spark that was present in Pimp seems to be missing.
Perhaps Slim preferred to pimp game to the con game.
Still its street, it could hip you, but as a read not so tight.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2014
This book is not just a simple pulp tale. It is street mythology, classic literature, and moving as any classic. Iceberg Slim crafted a character so rich and compelling, it was hard not to feel the angst of White Folks. His complex relationships run so deep and familiar, that it transcends all barriers of race, religion, or sex. A must read for any one interested in the heartbeat of humanity.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 24, 2013
Iceberg Slim has done it again! Trick Baby is the second book that I have read by him, and I must say it was damn good. I never knew that people could actually make a living and a good living at that just by running cons on dumb folks. Blue and White Folks are the epitome of true hustlers, and knowing how to make money. Their relationship is timeless. This book gives u a good look into a true friendship and hardships that they both endured along the way. I recommend it to everyone!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 2013
I used to read Iceberg Slim's books as a young teenager after my father had gone to work. I found the book fascinating as it revealed the truth about ghetto living. Growing up in the ghetto, I was exposed to pimps, prostitutes, drug dealers and numbers hustlers. People think that many people choose this lifestyle but sometimes it is forced upon them because of poverty and racism. One day I want to teach Black Literature on a college level and I think that all of Iceberg's Slims books should be required reading for African Americans.
22 comments| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2015
WOW ! - very impressive and always has your interest. Captures and gives a look into real people and real life and captures you in and throughout the book. I have a couple of his other books that I am looking forward to reading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 15, 2015
Like some other reviewers said - not an easy read and filled with what seems to be products of vivid imagination, rather then a frank monologue..
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 14, 2017
Thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2017
Iceberg Slim is a master at telling a story, especially when its taken place in the streets. He knows a captivating character when he meets one. I recommend this to anyone who read some of Iceberg Slims' other books.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 4, 2016
Great story, it starts off a little slow and lags in some portions but I enjoyed the read and there is one chapter called "Haters" that is simply powerful. This book is good because it situates the story within a racial and economic context and per usual Slim's analysis of human behavior is refreshingly spot on and raw. I recommend it!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2014
The lingo, at first, is a little tough to comprehend but in context and makes sense. I thought it might be a little too much but once you immerse yourself into the Windy city streets with Folks and Blue, you can't put this one down. Slim does a great job describing things from his second hand story. I'll start reading either 'Pimp' or 'Long White Con' next based on what I read here.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here