Other sellers & formats from $1.99
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Audible Audiobook, Unabridged
$0.00
with membership trial
Paperback
$14.77
$9.00 $1.99
List Price: $15.99
Save: $1.22 (8%)
Get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
FREE delivery:
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
Thursday, March 4 on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon. Details
Fastest delivery: Wednesday, March 3
Order within 5 hrs and 1 min
Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon
Sold by CE_BOOKHOUSE
Ships from
Amazon

Sold by

Tropic of Kansas: A Novel has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Maybe an ex-library copy and contain highlighting and/or writing. Ships direct from Amazon!

<Embed>
Other Sellers on Amazon
$14.76
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: SMYRA35
$14.79
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
$14.79
+ Free Shipping
Sold by: Fifty Third Street Books
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Tropic of Kansas: A Novel Paperback – July 11, 2017

3.8 out of 5 stars 90 ratings



The Amazon Book Review
The Amazon Book Review
Book recommendations, author interviews, editors' picks, and more. Read it now.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Frequently bought together

  • Tropic of Kansas: A Novel
  • +
  • Rule of Capture: A Novel (Dystopian Lawyer)
  • +
  • Failed State: A Novel (Dystopian Lawyer, 2)
Total price: $42.35
Buy the selected items together

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

“Futurist as provocateur! The world is sheer bat-shit genius…a truly hallucinatorily envisioned environment.” (William Gibson, New York Times bestselling and award-winning author)

“The great American novel about the end of America. This book is marvelously propulsive, big hearted, and whip smart.” (Kelly Link, Pulitzer Prize-nominated author of Get in Trouble)

“This vision of the future is violent, unforgiving, and bleak: Cormac McCarthy meets Philip K. Dick. It’s disturbing because of how believable it is...It’s remarkably effective. Recommended for fans of Paolo Bacigalupi and China Miéville.” (Booklist)

“Timely, dark, and ultimately hopeful: it might not ‘make America great again,’ but then again, it just might.” (Cory Doctorow, New York Times bestselling and award winning author of Homeland)

Tropic of Kansas is like a modern dystopian buffet [...] It is, in this particular moment in history, frighteningly prescient. It is the nightly news with the volume turned up to 11.” (NPR.org)

“This stunning novel of a time all too easily imaginable as our own highlights a few of the keen-voiced, brave-souled women and men who balance like subversive acrobats on society’s whirling edges...Read it to burn with the joy of realistic hope.” (Nisi Shawl, Tiptree-award winning author of Everfair and Writing the Other)

“A unique blend of Philip K. Dick, Kafka (just a smidgen), and a whole lot of Christopher Brown. Adventure novel meets political satire and the finest elements of realistic sci-fi, and it’s so well written it goes down like a greased eel. It’s hopeful dystopia. What a book.”
(Joe R. Lansdale, author of the Hap and Leonard series)

“A new mutation of the alternate history novel.” (Norman Spinrad (Asimov’s Science Fiction Magazine))

“This wildly audacious alternate history pits a black lawyer and her semi-feral stepbrother against a paranoid U.S. government defending its ex-movie-star president, who was maimed during a foiled assassination attempt. This funny, heart-wrenching book cuts through genre expectations with the speed of a jackhammer.” (Seattle Times)

“This book is a powerful vision of an America that might be, an America that some nights seems as though it is all too likely to be, filled with powerful characters and a chilling presentiment of how far our country could fall...a novel well worth reading.” (San Francisco Book Review)

From the Back Cover

The United States of Americ is no more. Broken into warring territories, its center has become a wasteland DMZ known as the Tropic of Kansas. Though this gaping geographic hole has no clear boundaries, everyone knows it’s out there—that once-bountiful part of the heartland, broken by greed and exploitation, where neglect now breeds unrest. Two travelers appear in this arid American wilderness: Sig, the fugitive orphan of political dissidents, and his foster sister, Tania, a government investigator whose search for Sig leads her into her own past—and toward an unexpected future.

Sig promised those he loves that he would make it to the revolutionary redoubt of occupied New Orleans. But first he must survive the wild edgelands of a barren mid-America policed by citizen militias and autonomous drones, where one wrong move can mean capture . . . or death. 

One step behind, undercover in the underground, is Tania. Her infiltration of clandestine networks made of old technology and new politics soon transforms her into the hunted one, and gives her a shot at being an agent of real change—if she is willing to give up the explosive government secrets she has sworn to protect.

As brother and sister traverse these vast and dangerous badlands, their paths will eventually intersect on the front lines of a revolution whose fuse they are about to light.


Product details

  • Publisher : Harper Voyager (July 11, 2017)
  • Language : English
  • Paperback : 480 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 0062563815
  • ISBN-13 : 978-0062563811
  • Item Weight : 12.9 ounces
  • Dimensions : 5.31 x 1.08 x 8 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    3.8 out of 5 stars 90 ratings

Fearless and inspiring
Discover Black voices on Audible. Learn more

Customer reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
3.8 out of 5
90 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 20, 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 9, 2020
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 17, 2018
Verified Purchase
10 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 31, 2019
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 20, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 22, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 24, 2020
Verified Purchase

Top reviews from other countries

MR M HYDE
3.0 out of 5 stars More manifesto than novel
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on April 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars A future past. Dystopian but hopeful.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on November 3, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Sam Figueroa
3.0 out of 5 stars This thing is confusing
Reviewed in Germany on June 1, 2018
Verified Purchase
Martin J Featherston
2.0 out of 5 stars Not great
Reviewed in Canada on November 10, 2017
Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: Explore crazy cleans for boats, Explore strongholds for dogs