Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Get 10% cashback on thousands of musical instruments with your Amazon.com Store Credit Card Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here Fall TV Binge-worthy season premieres are here  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held Shop Now PSFF17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 912 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,217 reviews
on August 21, 2017
A lot of times directors cuts aren't the best, like the original product was cut right. However in this case the director's cut was just right. With an extra 15m of footage/scenes that really make the movie that much better. If you like the movie I highly recommend getting this version
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2015
No the greatest movie ever, but Robert Downey Jr., is great as Osirous. Lots of great moments. Les Grossman, (Tom Cruise) awesome. The Pecker, as an agent--you get the reason why his name is Dick Pecker. Lots of undertones and really fun to see a bunch of Hollywood elites and not so elites in a film that showcases the best and sometimes worse and a satirical view of the movie business from Ben Stillers eyes, which, I think he hoped to get more action adventure roles by producing and directing himself in this spoof of action/adventure films, but I think Meet the Fockers, is his wheelhouse. Great Movie--recommend to anyone who just wants a movie to watch, when they have nothing better to do, get a laugh and carry on.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I think sometimes people use words like "hilarious" too often in movie reviews, but this time, for real, this movie is actually hilarious. Some of the laughs go for the obvious, like Jack Black's character being a one-note fart-joke comedian who does enough blow to kill a camel, and yes, it does play upon stereotypes to make a point--like the infamous "full throttle r-word" that Ben Stiller's character does so cringe-inducingly broadly, or Robert Downey Jr.'s blaxpoitation-style African-American soldier (who clashes beautifully with Brandon T. Jackson's rapper character; old meets new, stereotype meets reality, and racism gets its comeuppance at the hands of privilege awareness). RDJ steals every single scene he's in, but that's kind of the point of his character, so it's okay.

The story is about the making of a Vietnam-era war movie, as performed by actors who have no idea what Vietnam was even about. The bizarre inner workings of the movie industry are exposed here as accurately as you'll find in earlier masterpieces like "Bowfinger"--and include an absolutely fascinating and riveting cameo by Tom Cruise himself as a profane, vile, soulless producer who just wants results (don't miss his scene during/after the credits!), and Steve Coogan as an incompetent director who is in way over his head. Rounding out the cast, Nick Nolte is a bitter Vietnam vet who is not what he seems, and Jay Baruchel is a rising young star dwarfed by the fame of his co-stars--and the lone voice of sanity in the whole pack of asylum escapees.

Matthew McConaughey does an equally brilliant cameo as the hero's chirpy, true-blue agent, reminding us that he can actually act--and act well!--if you give him half a chance; his character's story arc and development is one of the movie's strongest points. I also loved Robert Downey Jr. in this; he fulfills the same function here that Alan Rickman's vastly over-qualified Alexander Dane character did in "Galaxy Quest"--as a truly talented foil to Ben Stiller's gimmicky action hero.

The story is well-paced with few misfires; I've never seen any other releases of this movie, so can't speak to how much better or worse it is than other versions, but can say that it generally accomplishes what it sets out to accomplish. The effects and everything else were well-done too, and the rest of the casting is simply superb. Overall, this movie is pitch-perfect.

People who liked "Bowfinger," "Stripes," "Zoolander," and "Galaxy Quest" will enjoy this one very much. It does include some violence and frequent profanity, along with certain words/phrases which would probably be thought unacceptable by some folks, and frequent references to drugs and alcohol abuse. People who offend easily should probably not watch this movie and I don't think it's suitable for those below the age of 17 or so.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2016
Tropic Thunder is a hilarious thrill-ride of violence and Tom Cruise swearing up a storm. Serious, if you have been missing out on some swearing in your life, get it from Tom Cruise in this movie. Other good things are happening too. Explosions, death, acting advice; it's all here. See Robert Downy Jr. and Jack Black as you have never seen them before! (Unless you have already seen this movie and just don't own it yet. At which point, why are you reading this? You know if you liked it or not.) A good performance by all, as long as you are expecting the performances they give and not something else.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 2, 2014
This is a CLASSIC comedy - I do NOT care what the naysayers have commented! If you are in the mood for a good old belly laugh - or fifty - actually a continuous laugh from beginning to end - this is your movie! The beginning "credits" get you started with "Booty Sweat" and Tom Cruise takes you home with the FUNNIEST character dance I have ever seen in the ending credits! It took me a while to actually realize it was HIM when I first saw this masterpiece of contemporary comedic antics! Just have a seat with some "Booty Sweat" and "Bust a Nut Bars," and make SURE to grab some kleenex, because you'll laugh until you cry! EXCELLENT!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 16, 2014
Do not watch this movie if you are looking for an accurate depiction of the Vietnam experience- how ever I am will to bet this is an accurate parody of the Hollywood life. ie.Tugg Speedman is portraying a perennial hero who does high-end go nowhere action movies- with the same theme and solution to everyone of his problems-as if he is mocking Tom Cruise- which he. Conversly Tom Cruise is playing the part of Les Grossman, an overly obsessed Movie Mogul who only looks at the cost of production and the bottom line. (a quote)
Tuggs agent Rick Peck "Let me get this straight. You want me to let my client of 15 years, one of my best friends, die in the jungle alone, for some money and a G5?
Les Grossman:" Yes".
Rick Peck: [pause] "A G5 airplane?"
Les Grossman: [whispering] "Yes... and lots of money... playaaaa! "

Written by Ben Stiller- this movie has a great cast of characters.- I cannot do it justice within this domain
I get something new each time I watch it-
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
Ben Stiller, Robert Downey Jr., and Jack Black star in Tropic Thunder, the story of a film crew aiming to make the most expensive war movie ever. However, things soon go wrong in the hands of an inexperienced director, and the actors find themselves in Vietnam-with real bad guys. Hilarious comedy ensues, and some of the jokes will have your stomach hurting from laughter. Robert Downey Jr. gives an excellent performance in this film, playing Australian actor Kirk Lazarus (who plays an African-American sergeant in the movie). He seriously could have won Best Supporting Actor, had the Dark Knight come out another year (RIP, Heath). Each character has their own quirks and funny moments, and some running jokes throughout the movie actually stay funny! All of the other actors in the movie give great performances as well, especially Tom Cruise and Nick Nolte. If you're easily offended, however, you probably won't like this film as much. It makes many jokes about sex, mental retardation (although more of the actors who portray mentally retarded people in their films), and racism. Nothing is super-offensive, however. In the end, this movie is great if you want to have a couple really funny and entertaining hours. Hope this helped!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
great movie to have
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 31, 2014
Robert Downey Jr is a Great actor. Chaplin, Less Than Zero and now Tropic Thunder. The roles in these movies were challenging. He pulled them all off. In Tropic Thunder I think a portrayed a Brother well. If you didn't know who he was you would think he was a Brother. He was convincing and funny. He is the reason for this purchase. Just to see his character makes this movie a great buy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2013
Of course, my judgment of comedy is warped by having grown up in the era of Jack Benny, Fred Allen, Easy Aces, et al (Radio) and W.C Fields, Cary Grant, Marx Brothers, et al(Movies). So I make no claim to represent the current movie-going, DVD buying generation. I found it to be amusing, no outright laughs, inevitable dead spots; overall, worth having watched although probably not one to lose sleep over missing. No need to repeat that the language is not that common among many Americans and that being offensive to various and sundry groups was deliberate and frequent. If these things bother you or the group with whom you will watch this on television, giving it a miss will not cut you off from anything you will be sorry for. It does have some fine performers in it, mostly chewing the scenery (as they were supposed to) but still fun to watch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse