Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 126 reviews
on May 12, 2017
I'm not what you might call a huge Marvin Gaye fan. Nothing against him or his music, but I just never sought it out before. I heard this album mentioned in the movie, "Captain America: The Winter Soldier" the other night, and when I heard the single playing on an iPad near the end of the movie, and combined with the Secret Service agent told the main character in the movie, I had to find out what was so great about the album. I did like the sound of the single, so I came to Amazon and looked for it. I haven't been disappointed at all, other than the fact that the music could've gone on for hours and I wouldn't have minded at all.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 10, 2017
Sam Wilson (AKA the Falcon) recommended this album to Steve Rogers in the movie Capt. America: The Winter Soldier. This was indeed a good recommendation! The album is almost entirely instrumental. Soulful jazz meets 007. Marvin's vocals are so smooth. Can't get enough of it. Highly recommended.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 5, 2013
"Trouble Man" captures Marvin Gaye at his musical peak and hits the mark as a great, if understated and overlooked soundtrack album. With dreams of going to Hollywood at one stage, this was as close as Marvin got to the movies. While the film has faded away into the annals of blaxploitation, the album remains eminently listenable.

Written and produced by Marvin, the album features arrangements by various musicians. Some 70s themes will sound familiar. But the strength of the album is its jazzy atmosphere and moody grooves. Super chill and super mellow, but never boring, TROUBLE MAN is Marvin at his meditative best.

The Expanded Edition looks well worth the purchase. The extras on Marvin's reissues have rarely disappointed - giving diehard fans a deeper insight into the man's work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 9, 2015
Bought this cause Falcon gave this suggestion to Captain America in the beginning of winter soldier. And he was right a keeper.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 12, 2017
Marvin will always be soulfulness every person that has listened to him. RIP Mr. Gaye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2015
Mostly instrumental, movie soundtrack-filler, background type of pieces, but there are a couple of full-fledged songs. This is probably where Mr. T got his name from, and this soundtrack got a big shoutout in Captain America: The Winter Soldier. Unfortunately, it will not teach you all things urban that you missed while being frozen for 70 years, unless you are highly sensitive to music and you learn empathically through sound. The lyrics are sparse, but emotive, though it IS Marvin Gaye.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 27, 2012
Excellent reissue! So much outstanding unreleased material that CD1 feels/sounds like "Trouble Man soundtrack" the way I imagine Marvin Gaye intended it to be. CD2 is full of behind-the-scenes working material & other rarities.

I've enjoyed this expanded Trouble Man so much, that I'm giving it 5-stars!

That said, please take heed:
My only complaint is that the liner notes are incomplete. They stop mid-sentence, around page 16, of an otherwise elaborate booklet. (I e-mailed Hip-O-Select & asked for the missing liner notes-text, but they never responded.)
44 comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 20, 2017
Brand new disc! Thanks!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2013
One of my favorite tracks by Marvin Gaye..after listening to the expanded edition of this cd, I must say that i love every bit of it and it is relaxing to me because most of this album is instrumental, and has somewhat of a blues/jazz groove to it..even tho Marvin didnt get much recognition for this album, if he were alive today i would simply shake his hand and say what a job well done because Marvin was very talented and composed most of the music on this album and did not receive the recogition he should have received during the time of the release of the album..if you are a fam of Marvin, i would strongly recommend this album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 31, 2017
An album before its time! Great musical arrangement, has a hint of Jazz, Blues and Funk!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse