Digital List Price: $9.95
Kindle Price: $8.69

Save $8.26 (49%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Kindle App Ad
Trouble the Water: A Novel by [Friedland, Jacqueline]

Trouble the Water: A Novel Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 58 customer reviews

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$8.69

Kindle Feature Spotlight

CLOSE

Length: 353 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

Review

2018 IPPY Silver Winner in South – Best Regional Fiction

“… will seize readers from the first page and not let go.” —Kirkus Reviews

"Fans of Paulette Jiles and Julia Quinn will adore this triumphant novel of intrigue, secrecy, and redemption." —Booklist

"With compelling characters, a charming peek into Charleston society, a heart-racing romance, rich historical detail, and an epilogue that will have you holding your breath, Friedland has written a well-crafted novel that will stay with you long after you turn the final page." —Susie Orman Schnall, award-winning author of The Subway Girls, The Balance Project, and On Grace

"Friedland is a modern Bronte sister remixed with Kathleen Grissom or Leila Meacham. Trouble the Water is the riveting story of Abby, who travels across the sea, fleeing Liverpool, poverty, and an unsavory uncle, for Charleston, where a wealthy friend of her father, Douglas, lives. Douglas has pledged himself to the fight to end slavery, and for that, he has made the ultimate sacrifice. Abby fights inner demons and tries to find her place in Charleston high society while her brooding guardian reconciles the past and returns to his beloved cause. Lovers of Civil War-era historical fiction will rejoice at Friedland’s triumphant novel of love, friendship, and the most important issues of the day.” —Bethany Ball, author of What to do About the Solomons

"The complicated history of the antebellum South comes alive in Friedland's debut novel and offers readers an exciting and fast-paced literary journey that explores complicated relationships, the importance of friendship, and the necessary power of love." —Kris Radish, best-selling author of A Dangerous Woman From Nowhere

"With a plucky heroine, a dashing hero, and the backdrop of the clandestine abolition movement in the antebellum South, Jacqueline Friedland masterfully weaves a tale full of passion and honor, duty and survival, evil and the beauty of basic human decency. Trouble the Water will make your heart pound and swell, and keep you reading well into the night. Highly recommended!" —Loretta Nyhan, author of I'll Be Seeing You, All the Good Parts, and Digging In

"In a narrative tapestry woven of brilliant threads of history and drama, Jacqueline Friedland introduces her readers to seventeen-year-old British-born Abigail Milton; her generous but reluctant benefactor, Douglas Elling; and the complex world of antebellum Charleston. The evil of slavery, the nascent abolitionist movement, and the courage of an operative of the underground railroad are explored against the background of the vanished world of debutante cotillions, social intrigue, and the slow maturity and melding of skillfully drawn protagonists. Friedland’s research is impeccable, her writing fluid. Trouble the Water is that rare pedagogic novel that engages as it teaches.” —Gloria Goldreich, author of The Bridal Chair

About the Author

Jacqueline Friedland holds a BA from the University of Pennsylvania and a JD from NYU Law School. She practiced as an attorney in New York before returning to school to receive her MFA from Sarah Lawrence College. She lives in New York with her husband, four children, and a tiny dog. This is her first novel.

Product details

  • File Size: 2682 KB
  • Print Length: 353 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1943006547
  • Publisher: SparkPress (May 8, 2018)
  • Publication Date: May 8, 2018
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B074W13QLJ
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #91,130 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 58 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

June 11, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
June 30, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
May 15, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 14, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 21, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
July 8, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
June 3, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
June 11, 2018
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Trouble the Water: A Novel
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Trouble the Water: A Novel