Industrial Deals Beauty MagazinestoInspire STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Wedding Rustic Decor Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book House Cleaning TheTick TheTick TheTick  Amazon Echo now $99.99 Limited-time offer: All-New Fire 7 Kids Edition, starting at $79.99 Kindle Paperwhite AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 55 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 58 reviews
on April 14, 2013
This was a very refreshing book and cuts to the heart of what we have made modern-day community - really, an artificial, lifeless union with one another that produces little of the spiritual fruit of the early church. And it's no wonder when the essential ingredient, koinonia, is just not there.

We invest in programs and try all sorts of things to replace what the early church had naturally, born out of their life with Christ, and what we reap is a group of strangers that come together and give each other polite greetings, talk about sports and the weather, but little else. Churches have tried to address this with small groups and other things, but still fall short.

But he doesn't leave us hopeless. He is very practical in the outworkings of koinonia. I would love to be a part of a church where this exists as it did in the early church, but have yet to see it in action for myself, except among a small group of friends (all part of different churches for the most part).
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2015
This book has an excellent balance of practical theology, exposition of Scripture, and readability. Bridges description of fellowship is the thorough, yet accessible to both light and deep readers. I've already read through it twice and I have notes everywhere. It has shaped my view of the church and helped me see how to interact with other Christians.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 26, 2012
If you have studied on this topic before then there will not be anything "new" or "groundbreaking" But this is not a critique of the book. In fact, this work is well researched and does a reasonable job of remaining within the context of Scripture and theme. For those, in the modern church, who are looking to serve or approach ministry from an Acts 2 viewpoint this book is an excellent place to begin.

If you are wanting to instruct your small group, church or fellowship to re-think mainstream modern ministry then this is very good resource to engage in.
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2016
Bridges's book certainly helps correct the practice of community and fellowship that of us have experienced in our churches. A much deeper meaning and practice would change our lives. It changed my whole perspective of how God expects me to live.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
Excellent publishing of the true meaning of Biblical fellowship. There have been many authors who have tried to grasp this topic but dear Jerry Bridges is very successful in doing so. It is an easy read and gives tangible examples to make the topic easy to understand.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 29, 2015
This book is great for anyone looking to truly understand biblical fellowship. It's great as a personal study but also well suited to be used as a group study. The book is biblically based and very practical.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 14, 2014
Jerry Bridges has written a book which shows us the way to deeper fellowship as believers. He begins with defining the biblical term koinonia. Then he drops back to the individual level to speak of union and communion with God. In other words, if one does not have a personal relationship with God he or she can not have true community with other believers because our fellowship is rooted in the saving grace of Christ.

With the issue of the individual's standing before God explained, Bridges goes on over the next chapters to explain different areas of fellowship which lead to true community. Spiritual fellowship, gospel partnership, the use of spiritual gifts, sharing of possessions, suffering, and service are among the areas Bridges addresses. These chapters are filled with solid biblical exposition and helpful application.

I used True Community in a Sunday School class and found it very useful and appreciated by the group.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 2, 2015
Believers who want to walk more closely to the Lord really can't go wrong reading anything that Jerry Bridges has written. His warmth, transparency, and clarity combined with biblical accuracy result in books that are always helpful. That's true of True Community, which encourages believers to be involved in other believers' lives at a deeper level.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2015
Great book on the subject of biblical fellowship. Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 29, 2017
Wonderful description of the rich concept of Christian fellowship. Highly recommended. The chapters on spiritual gifts and suffering are particularly helpful.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here