Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_hiltonhonors_launch Weekly One ft Vant PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Handmade Tote Bags Home Gift Guide Off to College Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held GNO Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 87 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 161 reviews
on September 16, 2017
Fun read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2015
You can likely find more information on Google than you can in this book.....I would pass. Buy The Old Money book instead, now this is an insightful book!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 21, 2017
As expected.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2017
Not that good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 11, 2010
I didn't attend a prep school, but I did graduate from Princeton in 1984. The Official Preppy Handbook was spot-on about preps, the Ivys, and their clubs. This book has a few absolutely correct observations, including how girls with long hair put air into their hair (based on observing my own daughter), but they're scattered among a couple hundred pages of poorly organized, redundant, and worst of all, boring material. Buy the wonderful, and still timeless, Take Ivy, instead.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2012
A big disappointment - perhaps it is the passage of time, but I recall Birnbach's original book was much, much better. This book alternates between preachy, vapid and tedious - it is almost like a collection of Wikipedia essays. The characters in this book do not come across as funny or believable - just a bit boring.

Denver Mullican
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 8, 2012
If it's a style book, it has no tips. If it's a humor book, it has no laughs. Don't waste your time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon October 3, 2010
After enjoying "The Original Preppy Handbook" so much over the past 30 years, I was disappointed in Mz. Birnbach's new take in "True Prep." Yes, we have cellphones and Polarfleece and gasp! multiculturalism and divorce but her take in TOPH was somewhat sweeter while still being funny. Banana Republic, Vineyard Vines, J.Crew, Hermes and Brooks Brothers DOMINATE the book; only Brooks Brothers has stood the test of time from the original book.

The "Daddy's second (or third) wife, Polarfleece and "death" section seem to be among the few essays that resonated. Flip through this one at the bookstore to skim the limited humorous parts and treasure the TOPH still in your library instead.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 10, 2010
The first book was unique and very funny but this one is like a thesis in cell biology: long, tedious, far too granular and frankly too boring to get through. It's focused on the outside not the inside maybe because the authors don't really understand the good and bad that is important and sometimes outrageously ironic and genuinely funny. I guess they needed some book revenue and royalty income but it ain't coming from me: I borrowed one and then sent my pre-order back when it came. Maybe a television "special" would be better if someone good writes it... especially if they are from NYC or Boston and not from La-La Land.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2010
The greatest disappointment I have received in many years! I didn't finish reading the book because it was more autobiography than new informaton about new style and life-style. It was boringly written, holding no one's interest and a total waist of money. By the beginning of chapter three, the book was tossed in the trash.

Don't waste your time or your money, unless, of course, you're related to the authors! They are the only ones who found the material in this book worthy of publishing.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse