Hill Climb Racing 2 Industrial Deals Beauty Best Books of the Month Shop new men's suiting nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments Starting at $39.99 Grocery Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Transparent Transparent Transparent  Introducing Echo Show Introducing All-New Fire HD 10 with Alexa hands-free $149.99 Kindle Oasis, unlike any Kindle you've ever held AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Tailgating STEMClubToys17_gno Handmade Tote Bags

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 1,186 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 1,828 reviews
It felt SO GOOD to laugh this hard!!! Very witty writing with hilarious situations and misunderstandings make this comedy one of our FAVORITE! Tucker and Dale are two good ol' country boys who are completely misunderstood (serial killers even?) by some college kids on an outing. The kids begin to die one-by-one making the kids more certain that Tucker & Dale are pure evil. There are lines that we are repeating that can crack us up in any situation now! We highly recommend this tongue-in-cheek movie! Pure fun!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 22, 2013
I'm not a big horror movie guy. I don't get my kicks out of being scared senseless, and I'm not a huge fan of copious amounts of gratuitous gore. However, I'd read good reviews on this movie and I love Alan Tudyk, so I figured I'd give it a whirl. I'm happy to report that this movie more than lived up to the hype; I laughed more watching this movie than at most true comedies.

The only thing I'd ever seen Tyler Labine in before was a small bit part in Zack And Miri Make A Porno (Hug it, chug it, football!), and he was most definitely worthy of carrying the lead role as Dale, the sometimes-bumbling, always-good-hearted country boy who just wants to relax with his best friend Tucker (Alan Tudyk) in their new fixer-upper house by the lake. Katrina Bowden was also refreshingly entertaining as Allison, playing a character that's a far cry from her best known role as the ditzy Cerie in "30 Rock."

This movie still had plenty of gore, but it was done in a very humorous and campy manner, poking fun at several horror cliches and running headlong into others. The comedy aspect persists throughout, and even the most gruesome of deaths will have you doubled-over with laughter thanks to the context of the scenarios.

Somewhat surprisingly, the story line itself was pretty solid in this film, too. There's a reason behind all the madness and some great plot twists that kept me on my toes right up until the very end.

This is a must-see for any fans of both comedy and horror, as the film does a great job of having fun with the latter while still keeping the laughs coming. But even if you're not a horror fan, I'd still highly recommend this movie for the number of great laughs and the likeable characters. Yes, there's a fair bit of blood and a few over the top deaths, but this film truly is a comedy at heart and it succeeds in representing that genre with flying colors.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2017
I don't know how no one thought of this idea earlier it's a basic idea that executes with power. The chemistry between the two friends is unexplainable. It's the perfect wix of sweet and spice. It gets a little cheese from time to time. But that only adds to the emotional effects you feel threw out the film. This film is for comedy fan that are sick of the typical comedy's that have come out the last 10 years that are for children. It's extremely dark and twisted. I wouldn't call it a horror but it's not a straight out comedy either. I can't suggest nor speak to kind of this film if I wanted to. 10 outta 10 no doubt.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
I remember seeing the trailer for this and thinking "That looks like a good time" and sure enough, the trailer didn’t do this movie wrong, it was a good time (heck, still is) Now you might think, what sicko thinks gore is a good time and I would probably say no one for real, but when it is in a comedy/horror flick it comes on screen you have to say “Ewww, oh god” and follow it with a good laugh.

The two poor hillbilly’s got themselves a vacation home that looks like something out of a horror movie and though there is a few faulty parts that would kill any co-ed student it misses them and just adds one more thing to fix on their list of things to do. They pull off that good natured country bumpkin so well when the co-eds do show up you sort of feel bad for them having their vacation ruined by their unwelcome presence. Though there are parts that feel like any other movie of this genre the fact you are seeing it from the other side makes is funny as all get out.

I have suggested this movie to many others and they too have gotten a kick out of it. If you like horror movies with a comedy twist this will tickle your funny bone as well as make you a bit squirmy.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 22, 2015
Tyler Lebine was made to do this role as the goodhearted hillbillyesh Dale. He was excellent and meshed well with is co-star. Next to John Goodman and Jack Black, Tyler can't help but come off as very geniune and likeable no matter what role he plays. This movie had a lighthearted twist to all those blood and guts hillbilly chainsaw movies (even though it has a wood chipper in it). I thoroughly enjoyed this film. The CGI effects were excellent and it had high production values. I wonder if this was originally shown in theaters. I highly recommend this easy to watch movie along with enjoying the warm hearted and kind Tyler Labine, someone you could never dislike.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 15, 2015
Campy as hell, but oh so fun to watch. This movie puts the typical horror flick into a 180 spin and provides you with a ton of cliches, puns and laughs. We meet Tucker and Dale, two good 'ol boys who are off to spend a weekend at their newly purchased camp. However, right there is where things go as far from the typical horror movie format. Tucker and Dale are the "victims" of a bizarre set of murders around their camp. They run into a bunch of college kids, led by a slightly "off" leader, who proceed to bumble themselves into an early grave. Tucker and Dale see this carnage happening all around them and think it is some kind of suicide cult. Laughs ensure, as we bond with the two hillbillies, as they try to escape the impending fate with their "college kid psycho killer". Go into this ready to laugh. Grab a beer and cheer for Tucker and Dale. See horror movies in a whole new light. Give 'er.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 19, 2015
This move was not as funny as I thought it would be, and, in a way, that was OK.

I thought it would be a straight out exploitation parody of the "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" genre, and it did go in that way, but instead of going for nothing but laughs, it presented likable "hillbilly" characters with solid actors, including Alan Tudyk from Firefly, to play them.

So, the movie actually ended up with a plot, and a burgeoning romance between one of the hillbillies and one of the college kids, as they worked out their mutual misapprehensions about each other's strange culture.

And, of course, there was a bunch of silly, implausible slapstick self-immolations as the college kids tried to defend themselves from the crazy Hillbillies, who are actually a couple of sweet, harmless guys.

There are so many boring or awful or mean movies - that think humor involves degrading their characters - that this one is worth the five stars because it is, you know, kind of nice.

Nice does not mean that there are not gross-out scenes in the movie. There is no bad language or nudity, but if you are squeamish about simulated blood and body parts, you should go into this one forewarned.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
Even funnier I actually have friends just like Tucker & Dale. An 89 min lesson in life that city folk just need to stay out of the woods. This is a, if it can go wrong it did go wrong movie. I won't be a complete movie spoiler, but when the kid went head first into a wood chipper and Dale asked "you OK?" That's when I rolled around on the floor for about 10 mins. If you're looking to be emotionally moved, intellectually stimulated and/or spiritually motivated...this ain't the movie. But if you're looking to relax, have a glass of wine (Chardonnay) with popcorn and have a few laughs give this a click.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I love this funny movie. You can never judge someone by how they look. This movie goes thru all the cliches, and makes jokes about them. The story was hilarious. What you see, may not always be the truth. This is a must watch movie. I was laughing almost all the way through. 5 Stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2016
So part of this movie on TV and it was so funny I had to buy it. I looked it up and the movie didn't make any money, it lost movie. I guess because there was no computer horror? Arrived on time and undamged. After writing this review I decided to watch it again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse