<Embed>
List Price: $20.00
Save: $7.76 (39%)
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Arrives: Saturday, Aug 22
Fastest delivery: Thursday, Aug 20 Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
FREE Shipping on your first order. Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Solid used copy with visible wear to covers. May contain underlines or highlights. Ships directly to you with tracking from Amazon's warehouse - fast, secure and FREE WITH AMAZON PRIME.

Other Sellers on Amazon
Add to Cart
$12.49
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Mostly Tomatos
Add to Cart
$18.55
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: LOGOFAT
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


A Turn of Light (Night's Edge) Paperback – Deckle Edge, March 5, 2013

4.2 out of 5 stars 73 ratings
Book 1 of 2 in the Night's Edge Series

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Paperback, Deckle Edge, March 5, 2013
$12.24
$12.24 $3.00

Inspire a love of reading with Prime Book Box for Kids
Discover delightful children's books with Prime Book Box, a subscription that delivers new books every 1, 2, or 3 months — new customers receive 15% off your first box. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

From Booklist

Acclaimed sf writer Czerneda turns to fantasy in her latest well-imagined outing. Crafting the mystical world of Marrowdell, she populates the valley with a variety of magical creatures, including house toads, dragons, and a beautiful but restless heroine who holds the key to Marrowdell’s security. Although she longs to travel beyond the well-trod byways of her village, Jenn Nalynn, the miller’s daughter, is moored to Marrowdell by the curse of her birth. Turn-born, she unwittingly provides the balance between Marrowdell and the darkly feral Verge. Precariously pinned together, these two worlds can only coexist if Jenn, who is defiantly beginning to flex her magical muscles, remains firmly rooted in place. Genre fans will appreciate all the vividly detailed attention to world building embedded in this entertaining fable. --Margaret Flanagan

Review

“An enchanting and gentle fable, rich with detail and characters you will love.” —Charles de Lint

"A warm and intricate fantasy opus with large themes woven into a charming story." —Charlaine Harris

“Science fiction author Czerneda will charm fantasy readers with multidimensional characters, a vivid setting, and powerful themes of hope and renewal.” —Publishers Weekly

"Known for her powerful and insightful sf novels, Czerneda brings the same exacting sensibility to her brilliant fantasy debut. Her characters are both charming and believable, and Jenn, her friend Wisp, and the soldier Bannan stand out as memorable and utterly real. While this can be read as a stand-alone, there are plenty of possibilities for more stories in the world outside Marrowdell. Fans of L.E. Modesitt Jr. and Charles de Lint will love this fantastic and magical fable." —Library Journal

"I was captivated by Julie Czerneda's A Turn of Light. Yep, she used her writerly powers and sucked me right in. Many fantasy novels out there are *about* magic. Few, like Julie's, embody it." —Kristen Britain

"Luminous and beguiling. With Marrowdell and its enchanting inhabitants, Julie Czerneda has conjured a world that readers can sink into and disappear. I lost myself to this tale that is, by turns, lovely, lyrical, and thrilling. This book is a feast for the mind and the heart." —Lesley Livingston

A Turn of Light is a gorgeous creation. Julie Czerneda's world and characters are richly layered and wonderful—full of mystery, hope and, most of all, heart. Come spend some time in Marrowdell. It's worth the journey. And be polite to the toads.” —Anne Bishop

"Infused with idyllic enchantment, Julie Czerneda weaves a heart-warming bucolic tale, packed with magic both wild and strange -- a top notch fantasy read!" —Janny Wurts

"It contains some of the most lyrical, breathtakingly beautiful writing I have run across in my many years writing reviews." —Bookworm Blues

Product details

Customer reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5
73 customer ratings
How does Amazon calculate star ratings?
Reviewed in the United States on March 19, 2014
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on May 26, 2014
Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on August 15, 2015
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on July 3, 2013
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on July 15, 2013
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on April 16, 2014
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on September 11, 2017
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse

Top international reviews

Johan Klovsjö
3.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing and enchanting
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on December 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Dr. E. E. Ernstbrunner
2.0 out of 5 stars Unbearably bucolic
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on October 27, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
treesilhouette
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, different, inventive, well paced.
Reviewed in the United Kingdom on May 8, 2013
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Amazon Customer
5.0 out of 5 stars Julie Czerneda writes very well
Reviewed in Canada on May 1, 2013
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
c.L.
3.0 out of 5 stars bon livre mais pas très riche en actions
Reviewed in France on July 9, 2015
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse
Nikolai Krimp
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars
Reviewed in Canada on July 28, 2014
Verified Purchase
Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Report abuse