Check out Santa's new ride Salon Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. Electronics Gift Guide $24.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo  Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on January 1, 2012
I expected a different "Tweaked" book, there's alot out there... Odd to say I loved it, it opened a different "scene" or side (if you will) of this nightmare drug & addiction. The basic story line runs through them all. This was about love, loss, giving, understanding, helplessness, paranoia (ya think?), & stepping up & out & looking back. If you don't enjoy diversity in your book collection & overall reading - this isn't one to add. Read it twice early on. Probably would be worthy of another read every now & then.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2007
As someone who has heard a lot about crystal meth but who has no experience with it, I turned to this book to develop an understanding of why crystal meth has affected gay men and influenced HIV transmission as much as it has. I did learn a lot from this book, though I thought I would learn more about how crystal meth affects the body and mind, how it clouds and mind and encourages unsafe sex, and there was not as much of that in this book. Though there were many scenes showing the damaging effects of crystal, and Moore did not seem to hold back in any way describing the negatives of his life on crystal. This is a good book worth the time.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2010
I sent this to my incarcerated son trying to fill the $25.00 free shipping offer and had to choose something similar to "Beautiful Boy" and "Tweak" (great books, by the way!) since they only accept "self-help" books in some of the TDCJ facilities. He said it was a very strange book and was not too enthusiastic about it. I bought this book pretty much blind and it was not received very well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 31, 2012
The book was definitely very different BUT it had a great depiction of this man's life as a crystal meth addict and how he was to overcome it. Very happy with the seller as well because the book was in excellent condition and it got to me on time as promised.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 16, 2015
As always the books on Amazon arrived as stated .
say this was a great review love the book everything arrived as it said it would
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2013
the book was great best 1 ive bout im from iowa and the book talks about iowa so it was some interest to me and it was from the 60's time the story of the book was not the publish but awsome book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2014
Really intriguing read that I thoroughly enjoyed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2011
This book is very little about the meth, and allot more about the adventures of a gay man.I couldn't beleive how little the story talked of meth for being called tweaked.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 2, 2014
It was ok. Wasn't what i expected it was more about the gay relationships than his drug use.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon August 18, 2006
"Biker's Coffee, Chicken Feed, Crank, Glass, Go-Fast, Ice, Stove Top, Trash and Yellow Barn," that is, Crystal Meth, is what I expected this book to be about. But Tweaked is more about the details of Patrick Moore's seemingly infinite gay unprotected sexual exploits while using a variety of drugs than it is about meth addiction, although it's probably hard to separate the two. The writing itself is excellent, but Gay Sex on Drugs might have been a more appropriate title, and its X-Rated theme will be interesting to few mainstream readers.

The details about meth, meth-use and meth-users, few and far between, are by far the most interesting parts. Unfortunately, the struggles of a sober gay man, the relationship between a man and his grandma, and details about an unimaginable variety of different drugs, did not hold my attention. I kept waiting for the parts about meth. It would be more appropriate divided up as a series of articles in a magazine for gay men. If you are an average Jane like me, you'll skip this one in favor of a future, (hopefully mainstream) novel. Although admittedly full of lies and half-truths, James Frey's R-Rated quirkily-written but fast-paced account of alcohol abuse and recovery, A Million Little Pieces, is a better choice.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse