Kindle Price: $13.99

Save $6.01 (30%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Twenty Thousand Roads: The Ballad of Gram Parsons and His Cosmic American Music by [Meyer, David]
Kindle App Ad

Twenty Thousand Roads: The Ballad of Gram Parsons and His Cosmic American Music Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 68 customer reviews

See all 12 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$13.99

Length: 596 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled

click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.


Editorial Reviews

From Publishers Weekly

Starred Review. Gram Parsons is remembered as much for wearing sequined cowboy suits on stage and for being illegally cremated in the desert by one of his friends after dying of a drug overdose as he is for the half-dozen albums he played on in the late 1960s and early 1970s, including the Byrds' classic Sweetheart of the Rodeo. Meyer (A Girl and a Gun) covers both aspects of the legend, but he gives particular attention to the way Parsons brought together elements of country and rock music to forge a new sound. After a leisurely telling of Parsons's rich white trash family drama in Florida and Georgia, including his father's suicide and the barely contained contempt of his mother's family, the biography plunges into his musical career, careening from one band to the next just as Parsons himself did. Meyer is appreciative but never adulatory of Parsons, who he believes threw his talent away; while citing the influence of the Flying Burrito Brothers' debut album, for example, he repeatedly mentions the band's unbelievably sloppy sound. This isn't the first biography of Parsons, but Meyer's semidetached stance as a critical fan makes it a valuable one, in the vein of Peter Guralnick or Greil Marcus. (Oct. 30)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

Review

'A vivid, unravelling tragedy' The Times 'One of the best five rock books of 2008' Rolling Stone 'Meyer's definitive biography peels away the layers of myth to reveal the brief, bright life within' LA Times 20 Best Non-fiction Books of the Year 'Finally his life not only has a book to do it all justice, but possibly also a book that grabs the mantle of biography of the year - music-based or otherwise' Record Collector

Product details

  • File Size: 3415 KB
  • Print Length: 596 pages
  • Publisher: Villard (January 29, 2008)
  • Publication Date: January 29, 2008
  • Sold by: Random House LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000WJOV68
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #568,933 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer reviews

Rated by customers interested in
Art & Photography Books
4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Children's Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars
Religion & Spirituality Books
4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 stars

Top customer reviews

on July 17, 2015
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 26, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 21, 2016
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2013
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2009
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2015
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 10, 2013
Format: Paperback|Verified Purchase
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Twenty Thousand Roads: The Ballad of Gram Parsons and His Cosmic American Music
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Twenty Thousand Roads: The Ballad of Gram Parsons and His Cosmic American Music

What other items do customers buy after viewing this item?