Buying Options

Digital List Price: $19.99
Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $15.01 (60%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group.Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Select quantity
Buy and send eBooks
Recipients can read on any device

Additional gift options are available when buying one eBook at a time.  Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity: 
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

<Embed>
Kindle App Ad
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Twilight of the American Century by [Andrew J. Bacevich]

Follow the Author

Something went wrong. Please try your request again later.


Twilight of the American Century Kindle Edition

4.7 out of 5 stars 12 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99
Great on Kindle
Great Experience. Great Value.
iphone with kindle app
Putting our best book forward
Each Great on Kindle book offers a great reading experience, at a better value than print to keep your wallet happy.

Explore your book, then jump right back to where you left off with Page Flip.

View high quality images that let you zoom in to take a closer look.

Enjoy features only possible in digital – start reading right away, carry your library with you, adjust the font, create shareable notes and highlights, and more.

Discover additional details about the events, people, and places in your book, with Wikipedia integration.

Ask Alexa to read your book with Audible integration or text-to-speech.

Get the free Kindle app: Link to the kindle app page Link to the kindle app page
Enjoy a great reading experience when you buy the Kindle edition of this book. Learn more about Great on Kindle, available in select categories.

Length: 503 pages Word Wise: Enabled Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
Page Flip: Enabled
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton
Amazon Business : For business-only pricing, quantity discounts and FREE Shipping. Register a free business account

Editorial Reviews

About the Author

Andrew Bacevich is professor emeritus of history and international relations at Boston University and is the author of numerous books, including America's War for the Greater Middle East: A Military History. --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Review

"Bacevich is a prolific writer and academic, and policy-oriented scholars in diplomatic history, international relations, and security studies are well aware of the books he has published since 9/11. He speaks with the authority of an experienced practitioner as well as and academic theorist. But this collection will alert even experts in those fields to numerous essays, commentaries, op-eds, and blog posts he has produced over the past 15 years." (Walter McDougall, Alloy-Ansin Professor of International Relations, University of Pennsylvania)

"The histories of empires and the histories of war are generally written by the winner to put themselves in a positive light. It has been difficult for the U.S. empire to maintain their facade of goodness for their endeavors after World War II, and even more significantly after 9/11. In Twilight of the American Century, a selection of his own collected writings, Andrew J. Bacevich reveals the contradictions between what is said about U.S. actions―either as anticipation or as definition―and the results of such actions. In essence, the rationalizations, the hubris, and the arrogance do not match up with the lack of accomplishments, the latter themselves ill-defined." (The Palestine Chronicle)

"This book is very unique in both its scope and in the positions that Bacevich takes on these very important issues impacting the United States and its relations with the outside world." (Philip E. Muehlenbeck, George Washington University)

“[Bacevich’s] writing transcends easy categorization. . . . The title suggests that the book will join the ranks of many recent works documenting the decline of American hegemony. (Law and Religion Forum)

“I read everything written by Andrew Bacevich with a maniacal obsession. His work provides a glimmer of hope for a return to realist sanity in American foreign policy. . . . Bacevich speaks the truths many Americans, and all their leaders, refuse to face.” (University Bookman)

“After more than 20 years of active service as a U.S. Army officer, Andrew J. Bacevich taught history and international relations at Boston University, where he is now an emeritus professor. His new book, Twilight of the American Century, examines the ambitions and failures of America’s foreign policy.” (The American Scholar)

"Since he left the US Army and thrust himself into the world of polemical journalism, Andrew Bacevich has distinguished himself with his toughness of mind, forcefulness of expression, and clear-eyed realism. All are displayed in this muscular volume of collected works―along with a bonus: an enlightening and touching autobiographical essay that lays bare much of the origin of his thinking." (Robert W. Merry, author of President McKinley: Architect of the American Century)

Twilight of the American Century is a profoundly intellectual, provocative work. It will leave a bitter taste in the mouths of both Democrats and Republicans. The book is a tough-minded call for liberals and conservatives to come together to ‘repair our democracy’ in the post-Vietnam War, post-Cold War, post-9/11 era.” (The VVA Veteran)

"In his new collection, Twilight of the American Century, Andrew Bacevich . . . an unsurpassed chronicler of America’s misadventures in the Middle East, turns his eye to Washington’s self-anointed elite. . . . Bacevich is at his best when he focuses on how America sees itself and how that distorted self-image affects its relations with the rest of the world." (The Nation)

"Andrew Bacevich is one of the sanest, most articulate, and most courageous voices in American public life today. A true conservative, he is a powerful critic of imperialism in the tradition of Christopher Lasch and Wiliam Appleman Williams―both of whom he discusses compellingly in this indispensable book. Twilight of the American Century reveals the wide range and undiminished vitality of his thought." (Jackson Lears, Board of Governors Distinguished Professor of History, Rutgers University) --This text refers to the paperback edition.

Product details

  • File Size : 1225 KB
  • Publication Date : November 15, 2018
  • Word Wise : Enabled
  • Print Length : 503 pages
  • Language: : English
  • ASIN : B07C36SZ43
  • Publisher : University of Notre Dame Press (November 15, 2018)
  • Text-to-Speech : Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting : Enabled
  • X-Ray : Enabled
  • Lending : Not Enabled
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.7 out of 5 stars 12 ratings

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5
12 global ratings
5 star
72%
4 star
22%
3 star
6%
2 star 0% (0%) 0%
1 star 0% (0%) 0%
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on December 7, 2018
Verified Purchase
56 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 4, 2019
Verified Purchase
8 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on January 15, 2019
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 16, 2018
26 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on June 8, 2019
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Comment Report abuse