Beauty Kindle 10th Anniversary Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited PCB for Musical Instruments $69.99 Grocery Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy The Walking Dead season 8 available to buy  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire HD 8 Kids Edition, starting at $129.99 Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 15, 2016
One of the better action films in my opinion. It had lots of twists and surprises and was action-packed from beginning to end. There were two amazing (at times unbelievable) car chase sequences. My one gripe is De Niro, not that he's a bad actor. It's the fact that De Niro is De Niro. His familiar presence spoils the illusion somehow and the bromance between him and Jean Reno became increasingly annoying at the end. Most viewers who like this genre will enjoy the film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 22, 2016
Possibly an acquired taste, I've seen it three times over the years and would definitely fish it out of the Walmart $5 bin as a keeper. All of the acting is precisely suited for this type of low-key noir intrigue, most of the actors are familiar faces, and DeNiro and Reno do their usual understated tension, brooding just below the surface, awaiting the signal for abrupt, controlled demolition. In fact, they all do this. Not much plot, Ronin isn't about plot. It's about performances.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 20, 2015
I've been a fan of John Frankenheimer and Ronin was a nice comeback film for him. If you like action films then Ronin is worth a look. I purchase many films from Amazon with gift cards or from third parties so I'm willing to take a shot at a film I missed in the theaters or on cable and I think I made a good choice with Ronin. It certainly isn't on a par with Manchurian Candidate or Seconds, but as an action film it is a fine way to spend an evening.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
In my continuing effort to see highly-rated movies I missed in their first run, I settled on Ronin. It is a masterpiece thriller. Taut, suspenseful, full of twists. It's tough to do yet another car chase and make it seem interesting; Ronin has several car chases and each is compelling. There's a touch of humor delivered by De Niro as only De Niro can. This is the thriller that sets the standard for all others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2017
One of my favorite Movies and now Blu-ray
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 27, 2016
This post cold-war story is thrilling and entrapping. DeNiro is his usual outstanding self. The remainder of the cast is outstanding, and you will recognize them from other movies. There are sudden twists and turns in the plot which holds your interest in what is otherwise a somewhat lengthy film. The car chase scenes are equal to, if not better than, those from The French Connection. Truly worth watching.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2016
Superbly crafted thriller. Robert De Niro and Jean Reno are a team made in heaven. When De Niro and McElhone pretend to be married tourists and De Niro gets all those useful pictures of their enemy, that is a great scene. The acting is top notch. My opinion is that if you watch it you will definitely not regret the time taken for it, even if, you know, I might not give it as a gift or put it on my top ten list.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 14, 2006
The entirety of Ronin involves a narrative that exists on just the other side of "real" -- competing political factions vying for a metal briefcase whose contents are a perpetual mystery. The "good guys", if they can be called that, are a small coterie of mercenaries who were presumably relieved of their legitimate jobs with the winding down of the Cold War. They're hired by an Irish faction operating in Paris represented by Dierdre (Natascha McElhone) via the unseen "man in a wheelchair", an agent for these "ronin for hire". (Ronin were the ancient Japanese samurai who were cast out of their fiefdom for failure to adequately protect their liege, essentially becoming free-agent wandering warriors.) They are of different nationalities, backgrounds, and possess different talents. Sam the American (Robert De Niro), develops a kinship with the Frenchman Vincent (Jean Reno) and becomes de facto leader of the band. After a planned exchange for the briefcase goes awry, they devise and execute a violent ambush in the streets of Nice to get the briefcase and take out its current possessors. When Plan B fails, the fun begins.

Through double-cross and intrigue, the briefcase remains elusive. Plans are revised, payments are "re-negotiated", and hunters become hunted to the point of making for a five-sided chase. Even the Russians become involved, including an unassuming touring figure skater played by Katarina Witt. It all sounds very contrived and even trite to a degree, but attached to this story are some of the fiercest street gunfights and most exciting car chases any action film fan could hope for! Many innocents (and vehicles!) become victims, but these adversaries in espionage openly shop, dine, and roam the streets as if they're tourists and the French authorities are on some far-off planet. Through death and deceit, De Niro and Reno eventually form a buddy-buddy duo to exact revenge and extract payment. "Old friends from high school" appear out of nowhere to aid in the alternating pursuits and escapes. Ironically, actor Michael Lonsdale, who was so great as the assassin-pursuing French Inspector Lebel in Fred Zinneman's The Day of the Jackal, does a marvelous turn as one of these convenient "friends", providing refuge to the pair for some do-it-yourself surgery. While the hunt and chase is on, viewers are also treated to some marvelous French town and cityscapes, including the ancient Roman amphitheater at Arles and the traffic tunnels of Paris.

Ronin is a film for those who can suspend their sense of logic to allow themselves to be taken for the ride. Thankfully, nothing devolves into outright camp a la James Bond. The danger of this approach is that for the film to be effective, the viewer must be held in thrall by these contrived characters and their actions to the point of being oblivious to their real-world consequences. De Niro, director John Frankenheimer and company manage to pull it off. Because of its sheer unabashed cinematicism and no-holds-barred direction, Ronin succeeds in pushing this reviewer's grade one star above average when the film's holes could just as easily have let it fall one star below.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 14, 2017
Awesome movie
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse