Industrial Deals HPC Best Books of the Year Holiday Dress Guide nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc New album by All is Bright Electronics Gift Guide $34.99 for a limited time only Try it first with samples Handmade Last Minute Gifts Holiday Home Gift Guide Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon life life life  Echo Devices starting at $29.99 Save $30 on All-New Fire HD 8. Limited-time offer. $20 off Kindle Paperwhite Assassin's Creed Origins Shop now HTL17_gno

Two Worlds - Xbox 360
Platform: Xbox 360|Edition: Standard|Change
Price:$33.35+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


VINE VOICEon March 13, 2012
On the back cover it lists a "quote" from someone that this game is "Oblivion on steroids". Given that, it's 100% OK to compare this to Oblivion (my favorite game next to anything GTA).
I felt this game was more like Morrowind - hard to control, far too much unmanageable info from NPCs, terrible fighting, and messy menus.
I know it's 2012 and this game came out in what, 2007? But Oblivion did too, and I would still play that excellent game today if I hadn't already won it to pieces!
--
Let me break this down for you:
STORY: I have no idea what's going on. There's so much badly delivered dialogue and overwhelming amount of info, that I literally have no idea what is going on. I'm just going to kill bad guys. How about that?
GRAPHICS: The game itself isn't bad. Close ups when people talk is pretty bad. A lot of times, lips don't line up to what is being spoken (or don't move at all). But I find it to be really jumpy moving around. It's just not smooth.
VOICEWORK: A joke. Wow - everyone who trashed this in other reviews here is spot on! It's so terrible - just.... pathetic!
GAMEPLAY: It's OK to explore, but again, it's just not SMOOTH. And don't get me started about the fight sequences - they're terrible. First - you can't BLOCK. Second - fighting groups of enemies is just terrible - you can't single out your attacks or block so you just get pummelled. This is why I had to use the cheats - it's just a terrible, terrible fighting system.
MENUS: My least favorite of all time - well, one of my least favorite. It's not intuitive how you equip or sort stuff. Or use stuff, for that matter. And how many potions have I whipped through by accidentally hitting the bumper buttons while playing? Ugh!
----
I could go on but I'll spare you. To sum up, it's not polished - it's kind of a hassle to play and explore - the story is muddled - menus are painful to use - the voicework is laughably bad. I'm glad I bought this for like three bucks or I might be mad! However: I DO enjoy it despite these numerous shortfalls! If you like RPGs and don't mind having to cheat, this game is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 5, 2015
This game might be ugly but it's actually fun especially if you can get past the graphics and performance of the game. I'm playing the game on Hard mode at the moment, Hard mode causes you to have to restart your save point if you die, so I recommend you save frequently.

Same weapon types can be fused together to make better weapons, they can also be magic enhanced with gems.
I find the Warrior class the most fun. In this game you can kill a Grom which has over 6000hp from lvl 1 you just have to dodge and attack for about an hour. This is a simple game but it's fun finding the best armor and weapons.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon June 27, 2010
Two Worlds is one of those games that was hyped to be something more than it really was. As a result, most people reacted badly to it and were rather critical of it (probably overly so). Fact is, I actually like this game quite a bit. Sure, the graphics aren't very good, and jittery to boot, the voice acting sounds like it's straight from a SciFi channel original production (it seems to relish its cheese factor) and there's a lot of aimless wandering at times, but for some reason it's just plain fun.

The game is very much a mess, but it's a wonderfully entertaining mess once you clear out some of the rubble. If you think of it as a Z-movie rip off of Oblivion (easy to do after playing the XBOX version for a while) you'll enjoy it more. Heck if I know why, but I Keep coming back to it...probably because a lot of the aimless wandering ends up feeling more memorable in this game than a lot of the overly guided plots of other games. This is about as open as games get. You can do what you want, when you want to do it. From an old-school role-playing viewpoint, that's really what it's all about. I also love the powering-up of your character as you progress, turning your once-weakling adventurer into a veritable powerhouse, largely by picking through the remains of your vanquished foes. That aspect reminds me very much of Diablo.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 9, 2012
You may note that I rated the game as "fun" but overall "poor". The gameplay can become a bit addictive, after a point. Once the hero becomes powerful and just doesn't stop, you can maul your way through enemies that once gave you problems. There's also a massive loot system, and you can combine simlar items to make higher-class ones. This makes for an incredible depth of customization, and a fun factor in picking your equipment, especially once you became the aforementioned death-dealing machine.

But up until you hit that mark, the game is just horrible. Heck, even after you hit it the game itself is still horrible. The story has some potential, but ultimately sounds like something that a two-year-old came up with. The hero loses his sister, searches for her, finds out she's been kidnapped, and then goes on a journey of self-discovery as he uncovers the truth behind a legend surrounding his family and the powers he and his sister share. The dialog used to deliver the story is absolutely bottom-barrel trash, and the voice acting throughout the game will make you cringe. I got to the point where I just read the dialog as quickly as I can so can skip the poor voice acting.

The map is asinine. First, it's huge, which is nice. But whoever made it basically took a giant square and ran a randomizer over it, plugging in a few numbers for "max height". Read: the game has too many hills. They're everywhere. There's no such thing as a flat plain anywhere. It's just up and down and up and down. It's like the developers never actually went outside to see if what they made makes any sense against the real world. I mean, it detailed and can be pretty at times, but the hills are just a pain. This wouldn't be a problem if not for two things:

1) it makes exploration very hard. If you take a wrong turn over a hill, you can end up sliding some stupid distance and not be able to climb back up. Because that one hill will be surrounded by dozens of others, most of which will prevent you from just hopping back up to where you left off, it can literally take 10 minutes to return to the top of it just to go the other way. This is incredibly obnoxious as you MUST explore the entire world to get the location achievements.

2) your horse is an idiot. Once you get one, you'll find that the horse randomly can't pass certain types of terrain. This is especially true of ~60% of the roads, which are bizarrely designed like very deep and broad ruts that are cut into the landscape instead of just being on top of the surface. The sides of most of these roads are so steep that the horse can't walk across them. You'll turn to leave the road to go explore some feature and the horse will get to the edge and then just stop or, more annoying, turn completely around and go the other way? You have to stop the horse, get up off of it, walk across over to where you wanted the a-hole to go, and then call it to you. You'll find that it can, in fact, make it across that spot, just not with you on it.

Speaking of the horse, it's annoying for another set of reasons:

1) it's supposed to make fighting foot soldiers easier, but it doesn't. The horse isn't very maneuverable, and the controls are just poorly done. So trying to fight enemies on foot is a pain of trying to get the horse to face the right direction and trying to get your character to swing his weapon on the right friggin' side of the horse. You also can't wield a two-handed weapon other than a bow from horse back, but you can use double-wielding from horseback. It's just weird.

2) you can pick up herbs and random objects lying on the ground and way out of reach from horseback, but you can't loot the enemy you just killed or open treasure chests from horseback. So you have to keep jumping on and off the thing every time you get in a fight.

3) the controls aren't just unintuitive, they're anti-intuitive. You have to press the up button to move forward. Normal, right? Not so when you realize that holding the button causes the horse to accelerate, and rapidly. And letting it go doens't stop the horse. Push up and let go of the controller, and the horse will keep moving forward. Neat? Kind of. But now you need to stop because some wolves are attacking you. You have to push "down" to stop. But you can only do that when the horse's movement is aligned with the screen. That is, if you've turned the camera to look to the side, you have to turn it back to face forward, THEN hit down to stop the horse. Otherwise, hitting down does something random, whether turning the horse to face toward the camera or turning it away or turning it some other random direction.

It's better to find a horse that can carry a lot of weight and just use it as a travelling treasure chest. Just park it near a transporter or in a nearby city and come back to it as you explore and find treasure you want to keep. The horse can save you a lot of travel time going between towns and cities, but only in areas where you've already killed all the enemies. And the transporter system works better anyway, and you don't want to try to be on the horse INSIDE the towns and cities because it's so unmaneuverable. I actually got my horse caught on a merchant to where the merchant's character was litteraly INSIDE my horse and neither of us could move, and I couldn't dismount because that button is the same as the talk-to-the-merchant button (poor controls). Fortunately, I was able to twist around and get free, but it took a while and was pain.

The controls are bad in every way. In combat, there's no blocking or dodging, just a "jump back". Swinging your weapon can take a while. Not that the swing is slow, but that it can literally take up to a FULL SECOND for the character to respond to the button press and swing his weapon. You can only swing a limited number of times, but that number appears to be random and situationally based and I have no idea what it is. I just know that after X-number of swings, I should just go ahead and hit the jump-back button before I get creamed. The "jump" button is also not the prototypical "A". It's "Y"? X doesn't attack, but draws your weapon. The attack button is a trigger, but if you press it while under attack and your weapon isn't drawn, you don't attack? It's like the character is telling you, "I'm getting hit and you're pressing the attack button, but my weapon's not drawn, so Ima just sit here and bleed everywhere." What the hell?

The "Power Wheel" is a nice concept, but poorly executed. Each weapon has different skills associated with it, but the skills are grouped together so that if you assign a type for one slot, you assign several different weapon-specific abilities to that slot. All you have to do is change weapons, and the slot automatically changes to that weapon's skill from the same group. It's a nice touch, BUT, when you select the power from the D-pad, it doesn't pause gameplay to bring up the actual wheel. It just changes an icon in the top left of the screen, and because of the inaccuracies of the D-pad you often get the wrong power. And once you've selected the right power, you have to then press the other shoulder trigger. This makes combat a malay of pushing the attack trigger, desperately trying to select a power from the D-pad, and pushing the power trigger. I just leave mine on my heal spell and don't bother with the others because most of them have low percentage success rates anyway. All you really need in the game is just a lot of strength and an axe weapon with high slashing and bludgeon damage, and you can run over just about everything. The powers are mostly superfluous and not very useful.

Also, the treasure system is vast. This is, at first, a boon because you get to sweep through and get more and more powerful items. However, in order to combine items to make a higher-class one, you have to have two of the exact same type. Each piece of armor has a "Set" number, and there are least 600 "sets" in the game. A set includes helmet, chest, gauntlets, leggings, and boots. That's 3000 items in armor alone. Then there's dozens of different types of shields, and at least 100 different types of weapons, and at least 9 different types of ring. There aren't that many chests or enemies in the game, which means you're not going to find a lot of the same item in the wild. Some items are very powerful, but also super rare, so in order to get those to a decently effective and high enough class you have to find them and purchase them. This can be difficult as earning gold is limited since enemies do not respawn, chests do not refill, and you can only steal from each NPC one time. My suggestion is to save up until the very end and just power up your favorite end-game end-bringer by visiting shops.

The camera is also very annoying. It's constantly recentering, but the default angle the camera centers on is mind-bogglgingly bizarre. When you're on your horse, the camera recenters to what seems to be a large angle toward the sky. But since most of the game is bizarrely hilly as I've said before, and you'll be facing down-slope most of the time, this means that most of what you care about is going to be at the very bottom of the screen. If you try to angle the camera down, it will instantly retilt back up. When you're not on your horse, the angle is different whether you're running across a semi-flat area (usually ACROSS the side of a hill rather than down it), the angle is slightly upward. But if you're running downhill, the angle changes to look at a spot about a meter in front of your character, making objects just a few meters away disappear off the top of the screen. So you have to angle the camera upward to see where you're going. You also can't just hold the camera an angle since moving the stick even slightly will always move the camera as far to one side as it will go. So you have to constantly fight the camera's recentering by tweaking the right stick in the direction you want to move the camera. The entire game. Non-stop. It. Is. Really. Annoying.

Then there's the frame rate. The camera doens't move smoothly in any sense of the word. When turning, the screen jumps by at least an entire degree at a time. Running forward is jumpy too: object don't glide by the way they do in most smooth-motion games. They jump toward and eventually past you. The motion is eye-jarring horrible. You'll want to play this game on a small a screen as you can so you don't ruin your eyes with the motion-sickness-inducing frame rate. Part of the problem with the rate is from the fact that the game seems to load up the ENTIRE WORLD into memory, rather than just a small piece. If you can get high enough on one side of the map, you can see clear to the other side of it, including cities, towers, and fortresses. Most features, like smaller towns and NPCs, will pop into sight as you get close enough. But the actual lay of the land is visible at any distance, and you can see the trees being rendered from far away. If the developer had actually put a horizon that, the game would be a lot smoother.

Finally, there's the character themselves. I don't think they hired an artist to create the wireframes. They're just atrocious. Everything. The main character's main, NPCs, Orcs, Groms, and wolves are all ugly. Wolves don't have any of the sleekness or elegance associated with real wolves, either: they all look like pug-faced pitbulls and run around like spastic poodles. Bears are hideous. The only things that look halfway decent are the skeletons, and that's only because there's no a lot to them to screw up visually.

This game is bad. It's got a lot of good ideas, but it's just poorly executed. It definitely won't thrill you, and can be very frustrating at times. The dialog sucks, the story is sub-par, and the controls are bad. It is, however, mindless and generally easy to play. If you ignore the story and spend a few hours building up your character, it be an somewhat relaxing stress-relief to sit back, turn off your brain, and just tear through enemy ranks. When the price drops below $10, it can be worth the buy to have something to do for a week or so. But don't buy this game expecting to be wowed. Because, as an actual game, it does suck and sucks hard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on April 24, 2010
Of course, often a game that may speak to one player, might not speak to another player. I believe that this game gets so many bad reviews because people expect it to be amazing from the start while it takes a little while to understand the game and see it's beauty. Many people are spoiled by the Oblivion, where you are told step by step where to go and what to do, whereas in this game, you have to use your head once in a while.

GAMEPLAY
For me, the game had a lot of fun (I never re-play game more than once but with the Two Worlds I replayed it twice). Unlike Oblivion, where missions seemed monotone, in Two Worlds missions seemed diverse and engaging. Sure, if you follow only the main quests, the game might feel a bit blunt. However, the game has a lot of side missions - all you have to do is to find a person with a purple diamond shape in front of him and talk to him for him or her to ask you to do something for them. Then you either bring something for them, kill the foes that disrupt their lives, or help them negotiate the way out of the problems. You can also join different factions and get the missions from them. Even though you are not guided through each quest step-by-step, with the use of the map, they are easy to follow and complete.

ENVIRONMENT
Speaking of the map - it is darkened and, if you go anywhere, your path is being lightened, which makes it very easy to see if you've been to the area already or how to get out of where you just came from. Unlike Oblivion, the world is twice as vast and, trust me, you will need a horse (they are free and everywhere). If you like to explore and discover things, this game is for you. If you wander around enough, you might find the most magnificent locations and caves to explore. Unlike Oblivion, the environments in Two Worlds seem very realistic. Not just the graphics but the feel of nature makes you feel that you are in the real world.

THINGS TO DO
Game gives you a lot to do. You get paid in both money and experience, so you can build your character and your stash. I had a lot of fun selling my loot to the vendors and then looking for the right items to buy to make my weapon and weapons merge-upgrades possible. Unlike Oblivion, you can stash your stuff in any container you want and everything would stay there forever. You can have a lot of fun with alchemy - unlike Oblivion, you may create potions that are useful and permanent (ingredients can be purchased or collected - like certain grasses, for example). You can buy or earn magic spells and use them as well (my favorite one is re-animation spell, which allows you to bring dead or killed characters back to life - helps with you conscience, you know).

COMBAT
The combat system is simplistic but fun; and learning the "jump back" technique early on helps you fight even the most horrible giants like trolls and dragons without them hurting you. The game does not accommodate your level - you have to choose which enemy you fight when you are level 1 and which enemy to leave for later until you are level 10 and have a better weapon.

WEAPONS
Both weapons and armor are very diverse and you can make yourself look like whatever you want. Certain enemies are better to fight with particular weapons - experimentation makes it fun choosing whether to use a club, a sword, the double swords, or a spear and which magic to embellish it with. More of all, many weapons and pieces of armor have extra abilities that can improve your strength, combat, or protection.

AFTERTHOUGHT
Give the game a chance. I'll admit, in the beginning I accidentally wandered into a wrong dangerous area, got frustrated, and wanted to quit playing the game. But, later, I could not stop playing it and, I am sure, you won't be able as well. Plus, with a price it is today, how can you go wrong?

Enjoy
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 10, 2012
I was very anxious to try out this game since I have a love for RPG's and read great things online about it. I bought this years ago when i was trying to find good RPG's for the Xbox 360 and only Oblivion was around. Although this game was a good concept, I could not get over the horrible dialog. It was not synced up with the characters lips, as well as not being spoken fluently. Very choppy and alien sounding. Also, there were a few other things i could get over with the game play. I could not read any thing from the menu because the type was so small. I tried this for about an hour and gave up. I ended up trading it for store credit at Game Stop.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on November 25, 2015
People trash this game left and right but I liked it! The voice acting sucks, the graphics are bad, the characters voices and movements are repetitive but the fun is in the game play. It's a fun little RPG! You can combine weapons and armor, learn magic and skills.. I liked this game so much I bought it again to replay it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on September 13, 2015
This is a very under-rated game. There are some issues with the camera at first but it's adjustable and once adapted to, is worth playing. The game itself is a very enjoyable RPG (Role Playing Game). You have the choice to play good, evil or something in-between. If you like RPGs, I highly recommend this one and it's sequel, Two Worlds II.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on October 17, 2012
I bought the game just to have it.........and when I played it I found it very difficult to get into because of the low framerates and the low graphics ...................this game can also piss you off a lot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on December 7, 2012
Excellent game that provides many hours of adventure. Product was delivered in excellent condition and worked perfect (played it through twice). Loved the detail of the game and its many unique features (teleports, weapons, skill upgrades). If you like Zelda on Nintendo, try this game but do note the rating (language and one cutscene).
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you are posting in the form of a question.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions

Customers also viewed these items

Two Worlds 2 - Xbox 360
$16.95
Two Worlds 2 - Playstation 3
$11.95-$50.00

Need customer service? Click here