Kindle Price: $9.99

Save $8.00 (44%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Buy for others

Give as a gift or purchase for a team or group. Learn more

Buying and sending eBooks to others


Single copy
(Sent by Amazon)
Amazon emails the eBook to a recipient on your behalf.
Learn more

Multiple copies
(Send on your own)
You send redemption links to your recipients.
Learn more


These ebooks can only be redeemed by recipients in the US. Redemption links and eBooks cannot be resold.

Quantity:
This item has a maximum order quantity limit.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Tyler Johnson Was Here by [Coles, Jay]
Audible Sample
Playing...
Loading...
Paused
Kindle App Ad

Tyler Johnson Was Here Kindle Edition

4.2 out of 5 stars 24 customer reviews

See all 5 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
$9.99

Length: 305 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled Page Flip: Enabled
Audible book:
Audible book
Switch back and forth between reading the Kindle book and listening to the Audible book with Whispersync for Voice. Add the Audible book for a reduced price of $12.99 when you buy the Kindle book.
Available

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

Try Kindle Countdown Deals
Explore limited-time discounted eBooks. Learn more.

Editorial Reviews

From School Library Journal

Gr 9 Up—Narrated by 17-year-old Marvin Johnson, this novel gives readers a glimpse into the life and the tragic death of his identical twin Tyler. Their family is headed by a single mother separated from her husband due to incarceration. It's senior year and for the first time, the twins are growing apart. Tyler now prefers his friends over all else, forsaking academics and his curfew. Marvin, on the other hand, is questioning the change and feeling an imbalance in the relationship. Gang violence erupts in a party both twins attend and Tyler ends up dead from an unprovoked altercation with a police officer. Marvin, who was being scouted by MIT for a college scholarship, begins a downward spiral that could only end with the clearing of his deceased brother's name as a wrongdoer. Social media, as in real life, plays a vital part in the advocacy for victims' rights at the hands of police, as well as for the efforts needed to organize public protests and vigils in memory of Tyler. Tensions arise in the community between proponents of the Black Lives Matter movement and those who push for "All Lives Matter" in response. This well-written, fast-paced story eloquently addresses how to grieve, plan, and participate in the burial of a loved one, a sensitive subject for all youth. It also succeeds in not avoiding tough subjects, such as systemic racism. VERDICT For fans of All-American Boys and The Hate U Give, this emotion-filled title is a standout debut.—Sabrina Carnesi, Crittenden Middle School, Newport News, VA

Review

An Entertainment Weekly Most Anticipated Book of the Year

"Exploring the current climate of police brutality and viral culture, this harrowing YA effort is based on its author's own experiences with tragedy and loss, a personal touch felt across every page."―Entertainment Weekly

"An unflinching look at police brutality and systemic racism in America."
Bustle

* "This well-written, fast-paced story eloquently addresses how to grieve, plan, and participate in the burial of a loved one....[A] standout debut."―School Library Journal, starred review

* "Unforgettable....Coles' exploration of brotherhood, grief, friendship, and familial ties is as moving and relevant as its exploration of racism."―Booklist, starred review

"Coles...pens an immersive and uncompromising look at systemic police violence in the U.S., effectively dramatizing the human experience and ethical questions underpinning today's Movement for Black Lives."―Kirkus Reviews

"A distressing yet empowering portrait of a black teenager confronting relentless racism, brutality, and tragedy."―Publishers Weekly

"Clear-eyed, authentic, and heartfelt, Tyler Johnson Was Here is a captivating must-read."―Karen M. McManus, New York Times bestselling author of One of Us Is Lying

"Jay Coles' powerful, anguished debut novel...garners worthy comparisons to 2017's award-winning The Hate U Give."―BookPage

"Coles's contemporary novel addresses real issues facing black teens in the U.S. today, and is a powerful story full of heart, packing a deep emotional punch."―VOYA

Product details

  • File Size: 1790 KB
  • Print Length: 305 pages
  • Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers (March 20, 2018)
  • Publication Date: March 20, 2018
  • Sold by: Hachette Book Group
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B073P51LT2
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Not Enabled
  • Screen Reader: Supported
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #188,639 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?


Customer Reviews

Read reviews that mention

Top customer reviews

April 5, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 21, 2018
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
March 28, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
May 11, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
April 30, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
April 2, 2018
Format: Hardcover|Verified Purchase
April 10, 2018
Format: Hardcover
One person found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse

Most recent customer reviews

Set up an Amazon Giveaway

Tyler Johnson Was Here
Amazon Giveaway allows you to run promotional giveaways in order to create buzz, reward your audience, and attract new followers and customers. Learn more about Amazon Giveaway
This item: Tyler Johnson Was Here