Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Jenga Donkey Kong
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Gemini Syndrome Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis DollyParton Shop Now

Price:$59.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 24, 2008
The idea is great. However, the blocks are painted, which creates two problems: 1) the plastic Mario pieces don't fit in the holes as they should because the holes are too tight, and 2) the blocks are very wobbly because they are not level like the classic Jenga blocks.

Avoid this one and buy the original. Very disappointed.
0Comment| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2008
Jenga and old school Donkey Kong. Two things you wouldn't necessarily associate with one another, but they go together perfectly!

The game comes with your regular, wooden Jenga blocks, but each is dyed black with red scaffolding painted on either side and holes drilled in each end. You can play standard Jenga with this set, or play with the DK rules. Each player is given a colored Mario player piece, and the wheel is spun to decide how many pieces must be removed, and how many scaffolds Mario may climb on that turn. Pieces are moved to the top of the stack, making it harder and harder to reach Daisy with every turn. The first player to reach the top wins, or the highest player on the tower before it falls. It's Jenga. People get it by now. It's just as much fun, and as maddening as ever.

The downside... Your Mario pieces have a little post on them that must be inserted into the Jenga blocks as you move up the tower. The holes are a little too tight, so you risk toppling the tower just by advancing your piece. Like most Jenga sets, it needs to be worn in to really be fair and fun. The blocks are also a little rough and can catch on each other. Both aspects can be frustrating until the set is worn in.

This really is a brilliant idea for a piece of retro gaming merchandise, and a solid game to boot.
22 comments| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 8, 2009
This is a LOT of fun! I'm 25 and my friends enjoy this. It's annoying that the spinner isn't more durable. The Mario pegs don't fit in all the holes initially; you merely have to break the set in. It's worth doing so.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2012
Its like regular Jenga except you have little plastic pegs that you move up the tower. The problem is that the pegs don't fit into the holes! You are building this precarious tower, and then when you try to insert the peg and it comes crashing down. We "whittled" the pegs with a pen knife so we could play, but it was frustrating. I can't believe the manufacturer didn't notice this! We still enjoyed ourselves.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2009
Purchased this as a gift for someone who is a fan of old arcade games and board games. The product is cute, but not ready to play. The holes Mario is supposed to fit in as he climbs the tower are not fully drilled out, making this aspect of the game unplayable. Sadly for the price you would expect better quality.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 15, 2011
This game has Mario pieces that are placed on the sides of the tower by means of holes drilled into the block ends. The pieces have plastic posts that are supposed to slip into the holes. The problem is, the holes are not milled large enough for the plastic posts to slip in and out easily. I found I could not make the posts fit into a few of the holes at all, but at least half you have to apply pressure to make the post fit. This is so annoying. If you chose to hang Mario on a loose block in the case of the tight holes, the block shifts out, if you chose a snug block in this case, the balance of the tower shifts. Also, the spinner is poorly crafted and very hard to spin smoothly. This game is a little more expensive than regular Jenga. Clearly the added margin on the price goes to Nintendo licensing, not quality design.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 2, 2014
Meh. It's cute, but doesn't really work all that great and doesn't really add much to the game. Regular Jenga is just as much fun. Plus the packaging on this item is ridiculous, once the blocks are out getting them back into the package as a tower is pretty much impossible.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 11, 2013
We are huge game fans here. Both video games and board/card games. We seen the Jenga Donkey Kong on the tv show Big Bang Theory and thought it looked like fun. When I seen this online I bought for my spouse for Christmas-we love it! It made well and is the classic Jenga with a twist as well as a donkey kong theme. The only thing I wish was that the spinner was a tad bigger, as my spouse has big hands and the spinner just seems small to us. The spinner is made of card board it looks nice-but would be more dureable if it was plastic or wood. Either way-the game is very fun.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2014
Few games can provide the tension and sheer mind games as Jenga. This particular version is beautifully painted (it's still wood, which you need for the subtle variance in sizes)to match the aesthetic of the original 1981 coin-op, Donkey Kong. As an owner of one of the original Donkey Kong arcade cocktail tables, I can ensure you that this is a great match.

The actual added game mode is a bit silly but it never detracts too much from the Jenga experience. Having to replace the Donkey Kong marker to the top of the tower after each piece is itself a fun struggle in dexterity. I would have preferred a pair of dice to the wonky spinner especially consider the cost of this "collector's edition".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2009
The "Donkey Kong" variant of the game is marred by a fatal flaw. The drilling of the holes in the game pieces is so uneven that it makes moving your little Mario guy almost as dangerous as removing blocks from the tower.

We pretty quickly abandoned the giant monkey for "standard" Jenga, which was fun, but whether due to our inexperience with the game, a less-than-perfectly-stable table, or the blocks themselves, the tower was always *very* rickety. We never got anywhere close to the tower depicted in the picture here before toppling it.

I've never actually played the "traditional" Jenga, but I suspect we would have been better off with it, and that unpainted wood pieces would make for a less inherently wobbly tower.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Need customer service? Click here