Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ubiquinol GOLD, 100 mg, 120 Liquid Vegetarian Capsules - Kaneka QH Ubiquinol CoQ10 in NEW 100% Vegetarian, Non-GMO Formula
Amazon Vehicles Fall Reading 2016 Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Ingrid Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer TheKicks TheKicks TheKicks  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Florida Georgia Line Shop Now STEM



There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 50 REVIEWERon February 12, 2013
*****
Here is a side-by-side comparison of ten leading Ubiquinol CoQ10 supplements: Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol, Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol, Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count), Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10, Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count), Qunol Mega CoQ10, Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count), Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh, Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb, and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH.

So, what is Ubiquinol, how does it differ from Ubiquinone, and how are they related to CoQ10?

CoQ10 is a nutrient that is said to have profound effects on our levels of energy, stamina, organ health, and immune system functionality. CoQ10 comes in two forms: Ubiquinone and Ubiquinol. Ubiquinone (also known as Ubidecarenon) is more common and widely known because it is the form most commonly sold commercially. Ubiquinone is the completely oxidized form of CoQ10. When taken, this supplement is actually metabolized within our bodies where it becomes Ubiquinol. Regular unsolubilized Ubiquinone does not dissolve in water and only poorly dissolves in fat. Therefore, regular unsolubilized Ubiquinone has poor absorption.

Ubiquinol is the strong, antioxidant form of CoQ10 which neutralizes free radicals and decreases cellular damage. Ubiquinone does not have this antioxidant effect. Ubiquinol supplements are in a form that has already been reduced to being a strong antioxidant. Ubiquinol is both water and fat soluble, so it provides superior absorption compared to regular unsolubilized Ubiquinone. When taken directly in this format it works more quickly and can be delivered in lower concentrations without worry that it is not being metabolized.

The problem arises with aging in many people. The ability of the body to metabolize is reduced significantly over time and many older folks will find it is difficult for the body to break down Ubiquinone into Ubiquinol. Therefore, although it will come at a greater cost, taking Ubiquinol after the age of 40 is a good idea.

Individuals over the age of 30 typically begin to see deterioration in the heart, lungs and liver even when sustaining a healthy lifestyle. That's why it's important to understand the level at which your body functions and metabolizes food and supplements, so that you can make the appropriate choice between Ubiquinone and Ubiquinol.

Primary dietary sources of CoQ10 include oily fish (such as salmon and tuna), organ meats (such as liver), and whole grains. Most people get enough CoQ10 through a balanced diet, but supplements may help people with particular health conditions or those taking cholesterol lowering statin medications, which wipe out CoQ10 from the body. Often those taking cholesterol lowering statin drugs like Lipitor, Zocor, Mevacor, Pravachol and Crestor have depleted levels of CoQ10. Adding Ubiquinol helps replenish missing CoQ10, sustaining the levels necessary to promote optimal heart health.

Ubiquinol is relatively new and more expensive to produce - so when the supplement contains Ubiquinol, the manufacturer is quick to point it out. When purchasing CoQ10, if the bottle does not mention which form it is, Ubiquinone or Ubiquinol, it is usually Ubiquinone as that is the cheaper of the two forms.

Recommended doses for those under the age of 35 is 100-200 mg of Ubiquinone once daily. Recommended doses for those over the age of 35 is 100 mg of Ubiquinol daily.

BREAKDOWN: Here is a breakdown of these supplements.

Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol (See, ReserveAge Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol, 60 Licaps,)
*****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$ N/A for 60 100 Li-caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: 1-3 Li-caps
Price per Li-cap: $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
Contains Resveratrol
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 553-1896
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), resveratrol, palm oil, beeswax, mixed tocopherols, vegetable cellulose (capsule shell), and chlorophyll

Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol (See, Nordic Naturals CoQ 10 Ubiquinol, 60 Count)
****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$50.96 for 60 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.85 (using Amazon's price)
Soy allergen free
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 662-2544
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), organic extra virgin olive oil, soft gel capsule (gelatin, water, glycerin, caramel), ubiquinol, beeswax, d-alpha tocopherol, and rosemary extract (a natural preservative)

Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count) (See, Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial, 100 Mg, Softgels, 60-Count)
*****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$32.99 for 60 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one - two gel caps
Price per serving: $.55 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 226-2370
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), PrimaVie Shilajit fulvic acid complex, sunflower oil, gelatin, glycerin, purified water, yellow beeswax, and caramel color. Shilajit fulvic acids help stabilize the ubiquinol.

Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10 (See, Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10 100 Mg Softgel, 30 Count)
*****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$19.89 for 30 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one - two gel caps
Price per gel cap: $.66 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 276-2878
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), medium chain triglycerides, gelatin, glycerin, yellow beeswax, water, carob, and caramel

Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count) (See, Ubiquinol Gold, 100 mg, 120 Softgels - Kaneka QH Ubiquinol CoQ10)
*****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Certified Kosher
$ N/A for 120 100 mg liquid veggie capsules on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one liquid veggie capsule
Price per gel cap: $ N/A (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Vegetarian
One 100 mg liquid veggie capsule contains:
* 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
* 50 mcgs of Natural Astaxanthin
Phone Number: (800) 476-3542
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), natural astaxanthin, organic extra virgin coconut oil, veggie capsule (plant cellulose), contilito wax, and organic sunflower lecithin

Qunol Mega CoQ10 (See, Qunol Mega CoQ10 Softgels, 100 Mg, 120 Count)
****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$25.32 for 120 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.21 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOS
Contains ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (877) 290-2621
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), medium chain triglycerides, polysorbate 80, gelatin, glycerin, ascorbic palmitate, purified water, and annatto suspension in sunflower oil

Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count) (See, Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol Featuring Kaneka's Qh (50mg), 90-Count)
*****
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$16.24 for 90 50 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.18 (using Amazon's price)
No soy
No GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 50 mg gel cap contains 50 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 333-6977
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), extra virgin olive oil (non-GMO), gelatin (capsule), medium-chain triglycerides, glycerin, sunflower lecithin, beeswax, rosemary extract, and annatto (color)

Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh (See, Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh 100mg, 90 Softgels)
***
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$34.99 for 90 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one gel cap
Price per gel cap: $.39 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
Contains GMOs
No ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (831) 438-1144
Manufactured in U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), rice bran oil, gelatin, beeswax, glycerin, purified water, rosemary extract, zinc oxide, lecithin, D-alpha tocopherol, turmeric, and canthaxanthin

Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb (See, Jarrow Formulas Ubiquinol QH-Absorb, 100 mg, 120 Softgels)
**
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$33.59 for 120 100 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: one - three gel caps
Price per gel cap: $.28 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
Contains GMOs
Contains ascorbyl palmitate
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 100 mg gel cap contains 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (310) 204-6936
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), medium chain triglycerides, phosphatidyl-choline (from soy lecithin), beeswax, rosmarinic acid, vitamin E, and ascorbyl palmitate, softgel consists of gelatin, glycerin, and water, carob extract, and caramel added as a light barrier

NSI Ubiquinol CoQH (See, NSI Ubiquinol CoQH Featuring Kaneka QHTM -- 50 mg - 120 Softgels)
**
Ubiquinol
Fat soluble
Not certified Kosher or Halal
$37.95 for 120 50 mg gel caps on Amazon
Recommended Serving: two gel caps
Price per gel cap: $.32 (using Amazon's price)
Contains soy
Contains GMOs
Contains ascorbyl palmitate (fat soluble antioxidant - preservative)
No cholesterol
No mercury
Not enteric coated
Not vegetarian
One 50 mg gel cap contains 50 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH)
Phone Number: (800) 381-0759
Manufactured in the U.S.A.
Ingredients: Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH), medium chain triglycerides, mixed tocopherols, ascorbyl palmitate, rosemary, soy lecithin, and beeswax. Shell ingredients: gelatin, glycerin, water, and caramel

UBIQUINOL SOURCE: All of these products use Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH).

PRICE: Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol ($.85 per gel cap) is the most expensive per pill of those in the comparison; followed by Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10 ($.66 per gel cap); followed by Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count) ($.55 per gel cap); followed by Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh ($.39 per gel cap); followed by NSI Ubiquinol CoQH ($.32 per gel cap); followed by Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb ($.28 per gel cap); followed by Qunol Mega CoQ10 ($.21 per gel cap); and followed by Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count) ($.18 per gel cap), which is the least expensive per pill of those in the comparison.

However, Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count) and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH are only 50 mg gel caps, so 100 mgs of them, which is the size of most of the other products, will cost you twice as much for 100 mgs.

PILL SIZE: All of these products are 100 mg pill size and contain 100 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH) with the exception of Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count) and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH, which are a 50 mg pill size and contain 50 mgs of Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH).

SOY CONTENT: The following products contain soy: Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh, Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb, and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH. The following products do not contain soy: Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol, Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol, Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count), Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10, Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count), and Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count).

GMO CONTENT: The following products contain GMOs: Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh, Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb, and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH. The following products do not contain GMOs: Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol, Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol, Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count), Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10, Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count), and Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count).

ASCORBYL PALMITATE CONTENT: Qunol Mega CoQ10, Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb, and NSI Ubiquinol CoQH contain ascorbyl palmitate. The others do not.

VEGETARIAN: Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol and Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count) are vegetarian. The others are not. Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count) is certified vegan.

RESVERATROL: Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol and is the only product in this group that contains resveratrol.

OPINION: All ten products are high quality Ubiquinol (Kaneka QH). The significant differences may be found in the price, and whether they contain soy, GMOs, or ascorbyl palmitate. Some folks have a problem with soy, GMOs, and ascorbyl palmitate.

RATING:

I rated Reserve Age Active Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Resveratrol, Life Extension Super Ubiquinol CoQ10 with Enhanced Mitochondrial Support (100 mgs / 60 Count), Nature Made Ubiquinol CoQ10, Nutrigold Ubiquinol Gold CoQ10 (120 Count), and Doctor's Best Best Ubiquinol (90 Count) five stars.

I rated Nordic CoQ10 Ubiquinol four stars because it is extremely expensive and over-priced.

I rated Qunol Mega CoQ10 four stars because it contains ascorbyl palmitate.

I rated Source Naturals Ubiquinol CoQh three stars because it contains soy and GMOs.

I rated Jarrow Formulas QH-Absorb two stars because it contains soy, GMOs, and ascorbyl palmitate.

I rated NSI Ubiquinol CoQH two stars because it contains soy, GMOs, and ascorbyl palmitate.

I have separately reviewed all of these products.

Prices current as of 08/21/2016.
6767 comments| 109 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2012
My original review stated that I was very disappointed in this product because the soy lecithin did not specifically state non-GMO. This was my error, for which I apologize. Following is my REVISED review of this product AND following that is an email I received from customer service at Nutrigold.

==============

I have used other Nutrigold products and felt that they were truly Gold Standard level products. I ordered this Ubiquinol 100 mg because the price was excellent and I "thought" the quality would be as high as some of their other products. In terms of containing no GMO ingredients, it is.

Unfortunately, the medium chain triglycerides are from palm oil, which although not GMO is something I try very hard to avoid. Read the company's email for a possible source change in this ingredient.

I can forgive them for using animal gelatin but I truly wish they would list the source of the other ingredients. Their brochure says, "We know that you trust us to take care of your health.....and this is not a responsibility we take lightly....you are getting the best quality products at the best value possible."

I hope that they will change their labeling to show sources of each and every ingredient and that they will also change the source of other ingredients to more health-supportive things like sunflowers.........

The company's very prompt reply to my inquiry impressed me - here is their reply to my email to them:

==========

Thank you for your interest in our Ubiquinol Gold(tm) product. We are committed to using only Non-GMO ingredients in all of our products, as evidenced by our participation in the Non-GMO Verification Project
([...])
AND our initiative to have all of our softgel products verified as GMO-free by Genetic-ID®. an independent, third-party lab specializing in GMO analysis.

For multi-ingredient softgel products like Ubiquinol Gold(tm), the reason we do not list non-GMO before each ingredient is because our claim that our product is FREE of GMOs is based on the results of analysis
of the finished product by an independent, third-party lab and not based on an individual GMO analysis of each of the ingredients.

That said, please find below the clarification you requested with regard to the sources of the "Other Ingredients" used in our product:

Medium Chain Triglycerides - sourced from Palm Oil that has not been genetically modified in any way

Vegetable Glycerin - sourced from Palm Oil that has not been genetically modified in any way

Soy Lecithin - present in negligible amounts and sourced from soybeans that have not been genetically modified.

Ascorbyl Palmitate - is an ester form of Ascorbic Acid (Vitamin C) and Palmitic Acid (approved for use in EU and USA as a food additive because of its antioxidant properties). The use of Ascorbyl Palmitate
in this formulation is covered by U.S. Patent No. 6,740,338 and is used to enhance the shelf-stability of Ubiquinol (which is naturally extremely unstable).

We would also like to take this opportunity to clarify that we are currently considering replacing our Non-GMO soy lecithin altogether with non-GMO Sunflower Lecithin to eliminate even the small probability of cross-contamination from genetically modified soy beans and exploring the safety and stability of vegetarian softgels (made with carrageenan) to replace the Kosher, BSE-free & TSE-free Bovine Softgels we currently use to encapsulate our Ubiquinol Gold(tm) product.

Ms. Wiedemann, we hope this email satisfactorily answered your questions / concerns about the ingredients in our Ubiquinol Gold(tm)product. We are always excited to hear from our customers and are grateful for the opportunity to be of service , so please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any further assistance in this regard now or in the near future.

We appreciate the opportunity to earn your trust and your business and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Customer Appreciation Team
NutriGold, Inc
55 comments| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 7, 2012
Coenzyme Q10 (CoQ10) exists as the redox states ubiquinone, ubisemiquinone, and ubiquinol; the first and third of these are marketed as CoQ10 supplements. Aqueous solubility is low so absorption is a key concern and, for equal doses, ubiquinol leads to significantly higher serum blood levels compared to ubiquinone. However, ubiquinol also carries a significantly higher price than ubiquinone leading to a question of cost effectiveness. Some ubiquinone supplements are advertised as "high-absorption" CoQ10 because they employ tricks (solvation in an oil base, nano-sized crystals, additional ingredients to improve absorption, etc.) to improve bioavailability, and this further complicates the question of the most cost-effective dose and form for CoQ10. In the absence of cost considerations the clear choice would be to take ubiquinol, but once cost is factored in the winner is unclear and the margin between the choices is probably not large, so I've opted to go with ubiquinol. It is useful to remember that the supplement should be taken with a fat containing meal to achieve better absorption.

In animal studies CoQ10 supplementation leads to dramatic anti-ageing benefits; often, however, a miracle drug for mice or rats leads to minimal discernible benefits in humans. CoQ10 production declines with age in humans so supplementation seems reasonable, although the conditions under which this would be beneficial have not been well established. Statins have been linked to a reduction in CoQ10 production of up to 40% so CoQ10 supplementation is frequently recommended for those taking these drugs.

Apparently, all ubiquinol is produced by the Kaneka corporation so a supplement from any reputable vendor should be equally effective. At the time that I write this review, Nutrigold prices their product competitively, so purchasing from them is a reasonable choice. One caveat is that their product contains soy products so those with soy allergies should look elsewhere.

Update on 3/12/13: The price today has increased substantially compared to what is was when I wrote my original review and Nutrigold is now priced at a very significant premium to the rest of the ubiquinol market. Given that all vendors get their supply from the same producer, I think most people will be served best by going with a low-cost vendor.
77 comments| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 6, 2012
Very nice product , superb service and over the top packaging for protection. I previously had been buying from another well known supplier also on Amazon but was frustrated with the capsules being crammed into a way-too-tiny bottle in which the capsules were all stuck together. This meant carefully using a knife to separate capsules to get them out, as fingers could not get into container to separate. Frustrating. Nutrigold uses a bigger container and none were stuck together. The packaging/shipping provided as mentioned was the best I have ever seen from a vitamin supplier! Each bottle was in its own padded envelope with all inside an outer box of generous size. Got three bottles now, more to come...Feeling great on this highest quality Koneka Ubiquinol. Scorecard on all accounts is AAA+++.

******UPDATE***** I purchased this for $22.95 in may 2012 now its $39.95????????? Some price increase.......
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2012
I have been taking Ubiquinol supplements for several years as part of my preventative health regime. In the past, I have shopped around for the best price and purchased various brands. After doing additional research, I found that Nutrigold is one of the highest ranked supplements for quality as well as value. I will begin purchasing Nutrigold supplements exclusively, knowing that I will be getting a high quality product at a great price. I highly recommend this brand!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 20, 2013
This is the first time I take this supplement. I researched many brands before choosing this one. I like everything about it.

No. 1- Size- It has the size of a small red bean, easy to swallow. I am not sure why someone in another review said they were big. It is a softgel and the color of the capsule is honey or caramel. I saw a video on youtube of a pharmacist that said the real and good Ubiquinol is the one in which the capsule is caramel or yellowish in color. That made me remember I was about to buy another brand which people stated the capsule was black or dark colored. I am happy I did not go with that one.

No2. Ingredients- It says on the bottle the following : Free of egg, milk, peanuts, shellfish, soy, and wheat. Does not contain GMOs, fillers, binders, artificial ingredients, preservatives, Stearates, Laurates, Sulfates or Dioxides.

Other ingredients: Organic Olive oil, softgel ( bovine gelatin, vegetable glycerin, purified water), organic sunflower lecithin,natural Beewax, natural turmeric extract.

I suffer from PVCs ( Premature Ventricular contractions) which are benign arrhythmias, and I have to be careful with anything I ingest. Anything can trigger them and I was very pleased that this product had no effect over them. I cannot take over the counter medicines for the cold, or pain killers like Hydrocodone or oxycodone or medicines for anxiety because they trigger my arrhythmias. I also have to be very careful with vitamins too. This supplement was perfect for me for my PVCs.

I was also about to buy another brand but I read reviews of some people saying it would leave them an acidic sensation and since they suffered from acid reflux it would get it worse. I have a hiatal hernia and suffer from reflux and I take daily omeprazole, so the other brand was not an option for me either. Well with Nutrigold I have no problem at all, no gas, no bloating and no acidic sensation after taking it. I also read some reviews of other brands saying it had a terrible flavor of fish and you would be burping fish after taking the Ubiquinol. These pills do not leave any flavor in your mouth or stomach. They are very soft to your stomach. My husband has many stomach issues too and he is taking the Nutrigold Ubiquinol and no issues with his digestion either.

No3. Features Kaneka QH- I had no idea what this was until I read in some reviews what was Kaneka. Kaneka is who produces the form of Ubiquinol. So if you are trying to decide which Ubiquinol is the best for you , go to the website of Kaneka and look which laboratories use Kaneka.You will see a list there. Or simply look in the description of the product that it says Features Kaneka Qh.

No4. Ubiquinol- It is Ubiquinol and not ubiquinone.

No5. Improvement in my condition- As I said before I had no side effects. The reason I bought this product is for heart Health. I did not buy it for my problem of arrhythmias because I know this is an electrical problem and no pills will help taking them away. I bought them because suddenly I started feeling very fatigued. I am a stay at home mom and I started feeling very fatigued doing normal chores like washing dishes, mopping, brooming and general house cleaning. I consulted my cardiologist , but they did not put attention to me because some months ago my stress test and echocardiogram results were good. I kept feeling very bad like when someone has a cardiopathy. I read some reviews that this supplement had helped some people with heart and valve problems so I thought it could help me too. Not sure how it works but after 2 weeks of taking it I started feeling like new again. My cardiac fatigue had almost been gone. I have recommended Ubiquinol to all my friends and family members. Before I forget since 100 mg worked good for me I jumped to 200 mg a day with no side effects.

So to resume my review this brand is awesome because it is softgel, small and easy to swallow, no side effects, very natural ingredients, it is Ubiquinol the best form of COQ10, features Kaneka Ubiquinol and the price was very good.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 8, 2015
I didn't give it 5 stars because this is for my husband and I have really know way of knowing if it's working. He used to be on statins and stopped taking them because of the side effects. We both read where statins inhibits the body's natural production Ubiquinol CoQ10.

We also read where as you age the natural production decreases, so we felt it best for him to take it. 1. Because his body is probably depleted due to the statins and 2. natural decrease with age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 1, 2013
I have been taking statins since 2001 with no end in sight. Being in my 60s, my chiropractor told me in no uncertain terms that I needed to be taking CoQ10 - and that one needs to take the type with Ubiquinol which facilitates absorption into the body. The best of this is Kaneka. So I searched Amazon and came across this product.

Pills are well made and not too big to swallow easily. No nasty after taste.

Nutrigold sent along a brochure with the order and I was impressed - if they put as much quality in the product as they do in the marketing then this is the right stuff for sure.

As for whether or not it works... I guess only time will tell - it's not the sort of thing that gives you a sudden lift. No magic here, just necessary maintenance.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon January 20, 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
I've been on the statin bus and I have to tell you, those products should be removed from the market or at the very least be prescribed with a dire warning. It is a fact that every cell requires co-Q10 or ubiquinol as a catalyst to convert chemical energy into physical energy. This substance originates from cholesterol and if you suppress the manufacture of this (by use of statins) then you also suppress the manufacture of co-Q10.

I really like this version of co-Q10 because it is one step closer to the form used by the cells. You can make the argument that this is better because it is absorbed more quickly, but either will work. All I can say is that this product works well for me. I've used it for a few weeks and it is as good as regular co-Q10 but the dose is smaller.

Here is an excerpt from my friend Dr Graveline - retired family doctor & NASA flight surgeon.

"By Duane Graveline, M.D., M.P.H.

CoQ10 (ubiquinone) is arguably our most important essential nutrient. Its role in energy production is to make possible the transfer of electrons from one protein complex to another within the inner membrane of our mitochondria in the formation of ATP.

The adult human body pool of this substance has been reported to be 2 grams and requires replacement of about 0.5 grams per day. This must be supplied by endogenous synthesis or dietary intake. Synthesis decreases progressively in humans above age 21 and the average ubiquinone content of the western diet is less than 5 mg/day. Thus, CoQ10 supplementation appears to be the only way for older people to obtain their daily need of this important nutrient.

Nearly 50 million people will be taking statin drugs this year in the United States alone. Most of these people will be over 50 years of age. Few of them will be on supplemental CoQ10. Simple logic dictates that the impact of lack of CoQ10 bio-availability on mitochondrial energy production will be profound as we age.

Because of the extremely high-energy demands of the heart, this organ is usually the first to feel CoQ10 depletion as cardiomyopathy and congestive heart failure. The importance of mitochondrial function in meeting the energy needs of the heart has been emphasized recently because of the increasing tendency for congestive heart failure (CHF) in statin drug users.

Peter Langsjoen, a well-known cardiologist, has published a series of excellent articles on this subject and reviewed the prevalence of statin associated CHF in many controlled studies, reporting on the prompt response of CHF to supplemental CoQ10 or reductions in statin dosage."
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2014
Vine Customer Review of Free Product( What's this? )
CoQ10 is ubiquinone and our bodies have to convert it to ubiquinol which is the active form our bodies can use. It exists in nearly every cell of our bodies and in all forms of animal life. We produce it naturally and it is used to create ATP (energy) in the mitochondria of every cell. Without CoQ10 your body would be unable to produce or sustain energy. KanekaQH® Ubiquinol CoQ10 is bio-identical to what the body naturally produces.

This Ubiquinol Gold is a high quality choice of this active form. I believe it to be worth the higher cost if you can afford it, especially for older people; levels are significantly diminished by aging, and high oxidative stress.

If you are taking statins it is especially important to be supplementing with ubiquinol as statin drugs work to lower your cholesterol in the same pathway your body uses to produce CoQ10, therefore creating a deficiency.

Note: if you're young (under 25) you should stick to the regular CoQ10 ubiquinone supplements as studies have shown that you may not absorb the ubiquinol active form as well as older people do.

Some of the general benefits of CoQ10.
--Fires up your body's energy production all the way down to your cells.
--Increases antioxidant power to help protect you from free-radicals.
--Helps to strengthen your cardiovascular system.
--support your immune and nervous system.
--Helps maintain normal blood sugar levels, increase stamina, and reduce the normal signs of aging.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 7 answered questions


Need customer service? Click here