Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ultimate Collection

4.7 out of 5 stars 173 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, March 15, 2005
$11.31 $7.86

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

The King Of The Blues celebrates his 80th Birthday later this year, and Universal kicks off a year long celebration with the most complete single disc B.B. King collection ever. The Ultimate Collection collects B.B.'s legendary hits and signature songs between 1951 and 2000, from his first hit, 'Three O'Clock Blues' to his recordings with Eric Clapton and U2. MCA. 2005.


B.B. King's music has been anthologized and put in box sets many times, but this is the first single-disc collection that truly spans the American icon's career. It starts with his breakthrough 1951 No. 1 R&B hit "Three O'Clock Blues" and ends, chronologically, with 2000's "Ten Long Years" from his platinum-selling, pop-chart-topping smash collaboration with Eric Clapton, Riding with the King. In between there are 19 numbers that trace King's creative peaks (1969's "The Thrill is Gone," 1960's "Rock Me Baby") and valleys (1973's disco-inspired "I Like to Live the Love"). And they all tell the story of his growth as a performer. As the years and tunes tumble by, King's guitar solos become more expansive and adventurous, and his cross-genre experiments, like 1987's "When Love Come to Town" with U2, grow bolder. "I'll Survive," also featured here, has become King's late-career theme song, but as he heads toward his 80th birthday on September 16, 2005--still playing 150 concerts a year with his vastly influential guitar skills sharp and his voice just a bit weathered--King's version of survival contains genuine majesty. --Ted Drozdowski

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Three O' Clock Blues
  2. Please Love Me
  3. You Upset Me, Baby
  4. Sweet Sixteen Parts One & Two
  5. Rock Me Baby
  6. How Blue Can You Get?
  7. Everyday I Have The Blues
  8. Sweet Little Angel
  9. Don't Answer The Door
  10. Paying The Cost To Be The Boss
  11. The Thrill Is Gone
  12. Nobody Loves Me But My Mother
  13. Chains And Things
  14. Ain't Nobody Home
  15. I Like To Live The Love
  16. Never Make A Move Too Soon
  17. Better Not Look Down
  18. There Must Be A Better World Somewhere
  19. When Love Comes To Town
  20. Ten Long Years
  21. I'll Survive

Product details

  • Audio CD (March 15, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Geffen
  • ASIN: B0007QJ1PM
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 173 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #8,646 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's B.B. King Store

Customer Reviews

Top customer reviews

March 9, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
June 22, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
14 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
February 6, 2014
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
June 22, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
July 6, 2015
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
March 26, 2016
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
September 2, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: bb king, chicago music, blues records