Buy Used
+ $3.99 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Decluttr Store
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped next day from GA, United States. All products are inspected and playing quality guaranteed (excluding any digital content). Our friendly multilingual customer service team will be happy to resolve your queries.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Ultimate Collection Billie Holiday

4.4 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
New from Used from
Audio CD, April 5, 2005
$191.20 $12.98

Editorial Reviews

Product Description

Bigger Billie Holiday boxes have been released, but if you're looking for a collection that doesn't break the bank but spans her career AND packs a multimedia punch, look no further. Among these 42 tracks are sides cut for every label (Brunswick, Okeh, Commodore, Columbia, Capitol, Decca, Aladdin, Clef and Verve) that recorded Billie, including all the classics: Lover Man; God Bless the Child; Strange Fruit; Don't Explain; Good Morning Heartache , and more. And the accompanying DVD includes eight TV performances including three (from 1956's Stars of Jazz ) that have never been seen since their original airing. Exemplary.

Billie Holiday (1917-59) wore gardenias, was a teenaged prostitute, did drugs, and died with a cop posted outside her hospital bed. But with her gravel-like vocals, and behind-the-beat phrasing, she was one of the greatest singers of the twentieth century. This multimedia collection commemorates her ninetieth birthday. Two CDs contain forty two of her greatest hits, from her 1935 stint with Benny Goodman, to her chilling 1958 strings album, Lady in Satin. It features her signature songs like "Good Morning Heartache," "God Bless the Child," and her unforgettable anti-lynching number "Strange Fruit." The DVD includes film cameos with Duke Ellington and Louis Armstrong, photographs, posters, rehearsals and interviews with friends and musicians, including a rediscovered 1956 radio broadcast with a young Mike Wallace. Her achy artistry is timeless, and as Ashley Kahn wrote in his superb liner notes, "Billie will be there tonight, tomorrow night and a long time to come." --Eugene Holley, Jr.

Track Listings

Disc: 1

  1. Miss Brown to You
  2. What a Little Moonlight Can Do
  3. I Cried for You
  4. Mean to Me
  5. Strange Fruit
  6. Fine and Mellow
  7. God Bless the Child
  8. Trav'lin' Light
  9. My Old Flame
  10. I'll Get By (As Long as I Have You)
  11. Billie's Blues
  12. He's Funny That Way
  13. Lover Man
  14. Don't Explain
  15. Good Morning Heartache
  16. No Good Man
  17. The Blues Are Brewin'
  18. Solitude
  19. Easy Living
  20. I Loves You Porgy
  21. My Man (Mon Homme)
  22. 'Tain't Nobody's Bizness if I Do

Disc: 2

  1. Them There Eyes
  2. You Can't Lose a Broken Heart
  3. You're My Thrill
  4. Crazy He Calls Me
  5. Detour Ahead
  6. These Foolish Things
  7. You Go to My Head
  8. Love Me or Leave Me
  9. Willow Weep for Me
  10. I Thought About You
  11. I've Got My Love to Keep Me Warm
  12. Come Rain or Come Shine
  13. It Had to Be You
  14. What's New?
  15. Lady Sings the Blues
  16. I Cover the Waterfront [Live]
  17. Body and Soul
  18. But Not for Me
  19. One for My Baby (And One More for the Road)
  20. I'm a Fool to Want You

Product details

  • Audio CD (April 5, 2005)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Label: Hip-O Records
  • ASIN: B0007X9U2Y
  • Average Customer Review: 4.4 out of 5 stars 21 customer reviews
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #254,221 in CDs & Vinyl (See Top 100 in CDs & Vinyl)
  • Would you like to tell us about a lower price?
    If you are a seller for this product, would you like to suggest updates through seller support?

Amazon's Billie Holiday Store

Customer Reviews

Share your thoughts with other customers
See all 21 customer reviews

Top customer reviews

December 5, 2008
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
December 28, 2007
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
5 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
January 29, 2011
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
January 14, 2018
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
February 23, 2017
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
March 23, 2009
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
September 16, 2005
Format: Audio CD|Verified Purchase
4 people found this helpful
|Comment|Report abuse
Pages with related products. See and discover other items: billie holiday