Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ultimate Proof of Creation
Your Garage Editors' Picks Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Tall Heights Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Amazon Cash Back Offer PilotWave7B PilotWave7B PilotWave7B  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports STEM

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$12.20+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on April 26, 2014
** Review Edited after some review comments pointed out unclear parts, as well as my having read the book through again. **

I'm am a deep thinker, and I don't accept something simply because a teacher, professor, or someone else with a degree tells me it is so. I grew up in church, knew the Christian side of things, and chose to reject that faith as a young adult. Now I have lived both sides of the fence and since returned to the faith, albeit with a far different perspective.

That being said, I found this book intriguing. Some reviewers say that this book has terribly flawed reasoning. Au contraire. To my chagrin, I found the logic within to be rather solid. After reading this book, I played devil's advocate with some of my friends, taking the author's side for the moment, trying to get feedback from my peers. We were all pretty vicious about it, because I didn't like this book's arguments any more than they did. As an academic and all-around deep thinker with a knack for arguing, I'm pretty skilled at supporting whatever it is I wish to support. But while using his basis for logic and reasoning, my friends could not maintain a logically consistent rebuttal to any of the points made. They could make rebuttals, but there was always one frustratingly persistent flaw or inconsistency in the rebuttals we came up with.

Every belief system is built upon something that we trust is true, even without proof: an axiom, a foundation of sorts. Both sides of the debate have their own respective axioms, this cannot be denied. The only way we could rebut any of the arguments was if we moved his arguments away from his foundational belief (axiom), at which point we could easily strike them down, just like others attempt to do in their reviews here. But when we moved his arguments away from his foundation, we essentially set up a straw man, rather than fighting his real argument as-is. We simply had a semblance of his real argument, divorced from his foundation, which was then silly and easy to refute. But defeating a straw man is really no victory at all, and we weren't satisfied. Some people are happy to beat up a straw man and think they have victory, but I'm not that vain. I'm not happy unless the victory is real.

When it comes down to it, I could not escape the fact that his logical arguments (when built upon his axiom) are sound and annoyingly hard to overcome. Divorce it from his foundation, and the logic is truly flawed and easy to knock over, just like other reviewers have done here (in fact, the author even tells us that this would be the case); but if you divorce it from his foundation, then you're not really challenging his real argument anymore, just your own modified version of his argument (aka: a straw man).

I have since returned to the faith and started challenging others one-on-one to refute the arguments in this book, still looking for a solid refutation. I say one-on-one, because I want to make sure they leave his arguments intact rather than modifying them for ease just like I tried to do (and like reviewers here are doing). All the way up to doctorate students that I've sparred with, no one else has been able to remain consistent in their logic, and one frustrated biology student finally resorted to telling me that even the laws of logic change. Hmmm.

I do not fully support/like the ministry behind it or the author for that matter. But I don't throw the baby out with the bathwater. So like I said, I at least found this book intriguing.
1616 comments| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 16, 2013
This shows how you as a Christian can argue for Creation. It gives you a rudimentary understanding of logic that will equip you to face the worse skeptics out there and show them their worldview as opposed to yours. I wish I had read something like this 30 years ago so that whenever an atheist "bullied" me I could show them the ultimate proof of creation. I recommend this to all who have to deal with a person or group that views the Bible as just another book and not the Word of God especially when it comes to science and origins. You could show them that they have a worldview influencing them just like we Christians have a worldview influencing us.
2020 comments| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2014
As the "Ultimate Proof of Creation," seems to promise the reader a silver bullet to defend belief in Biblical creation, I don't believe that this book really delivers the goods. However, if you are already a good clear logical thinking person, this book will exercise your mind just as the Bible says in Proverbs 27:17, "as iron sharpens iron, so one man sharpens another." If you are looking for a good sharpening tool, certainly this book will do an excellent job of it. It deals extensively with a number of faulty ideas that are consistently put forward by people who either do not know what is written in the Bible because they have never read it for themselves or have no real interest in knowing the truth about God and are merely trying to see if they can embarrass or distress a Christian by some sort of ill-devised verbal argument that will force him or her to 'defend his beliefs.' Mr. Lisle does a very good job of showing the faults in all of these kinds of attacks and suggests a means of responding to them by showing that none of them are based on sound reasoning. Therefore, as you read this book, you can compare how you would have responded to various kinds of faulty reasoning on the part of such people to the way that is used by Mr. Lisle and in doing this kind of mental comparison, you will find that you have to do some in-depth and very serious thinking. You will be sharpened immeasurably in the process. Mr. Lisle is an excellent teacher and has developed a very good method of dealing with and overcoming any and all kinds of arguments that oppose Biblical creation and truth. Five stars.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 16, 2016
Dr. Lisle does a fantastic job yet again in this book. Giving great information, proof and explaining logical fallacies that adheres to evolutionary theory commit often in trying to defend their belief.
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 25, 2015
Being very familiar with the creation-evolution debate and well-read on the scientific arguments used by both sides, I was intrigued to learn what Dr. Lisle calls the ultimate proof of creation. In a nutshell, materialistic worldviews (i.e. evolution) cannot account for non-material constructs such as the laws of logic, morality, and the uniformity of nature. But the first must exist for rational thought to be possible, the second seems to exist in all cultures, even amongst evolutionists (but how then could they argue that it would be "wrong" to teach creation, for "wrong" implies a moral obligation?), and the third must exist for science to be possible. The evolutionist must steal these constructs from the Biblical creationist, who can account for them via the all-knowing, all-good, eternally-consistent God of the Bible. By stealing from the Bible to argue against the Bible, the evolutionist is a walking bundle of contradictions. Lisle brilliantly explains these topics, answers objections, and gives many real examples of discussions with evolutionists.
22 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 22, 2015
This is one of the best books I have read on Christian apologetics by Dr. Jason Lisle. Though the particular emphasis of this book is on young earth creationism, it is a valuable tool in refuting atheism. Dr. Lisle utilizes the apologetic method of the late Dr. Greg L. Bahnsen (with Dr. Cornelius Van Til's presuppositional apologetics).. Presuppositional apologetics is often a method that atheists have little experience debating. The basic argument of Lisle's book, is that you must presuppose the biblical worldview, to have the preconditions of intelligibility to prove or make sense of anything (or in the words of Dr. Van Til, "Christianity is true because of the impossibility of the contrary."). The atheist can't account for laws of logic, so even when he argues against God's existence, he must presuppose His existence (or as Van Til said "antitheism presupposes theism"). Lisle also has a couple of chapters on logic, as well as a couple of appendixes of questions and answers, he has received from skeptics of various persuasions. This is a must read, and brilliantly written. Highly recommended.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 22, 2015
This book provides, in my judgment, the best popular treatment of presuppositional apologetics I have encountered. The author has done a masterful job presenting the biblical method of defense in simple and clear language. In two chapters on logic and logical fallacies, he has managed to communicate some complex ideas in an attainable way. (He has written two additional books on logical argumentation that expand on the two logic chapters in this book, and these are also models of clarity.) This book is a great teaching tool as well as a competent defense of the Christian faith beginning with its basis in creation.

Some will find the author's commitment to young-earth creationism objectionable, but in fairness to the author, his main purpose in this book is not to defend that perspective by providing a detailed justification based on the biblical and scientific evidence. Rather, he points the reader to other resources that attempt to provide that support. He is really taking that position for granted as the biblical view, but he does not do so by simply asserting it dogmatically. To understand his case for young-earth creationism, you must go to other sources. While some will disagree with his specific position on creationism, a different position on the subject does not invalidate the defense of Christianity provided here. Even old-earth creationists who are opposed to Darwinism should find nothing objectionable in the method of defense recommended by this book, although the author does affirm the idea that rejecting a literal interpretation of Genesis is ultimately a rejection of the Bible's teaching on creation. While I disagree with him on that point, it would be too bad if someone chose not to read this book simply due to a difference of interpretation on the days of creation or on whether the flood of Genesis is global or local. The proof for creation is ably made by this book; the proof for a specific interpretation of creation and flood is argued elsewhere.
1616 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 16, 2016
This book gives a very good overview for the tools that Christians need to begin to defend the faith. Many Christians may feel overwhelmed trying to debate scientific evidence. I believe, as this book rightly points out, that in order to help someone see the error of their ways, you need to know how to defeat their worldview. In addition to scripture, the best way to accomplish this (in my opinion) is to have a firm understanding of philosophy and logic. Since atheists must base their worldview on faulty logic, the knowledgeable Christian will rather easily be able to dismantle their position to absurdity. Of course, this doesn't mean that the atheist will change their mind but you can, at the very least, be able to point out their inconsistent thinking. This book is a good start and below I will list a few other books that you should consider to increase your knowledge on specific topics

1. Understanding Genesis by Dr. Jason Lisle. This will help with defending scripture
2. Biblical Logic in Theory and Practice by Joel McDurmon. This will expand your understanding of logic from a Christian perspective.
3. The Love of Wisdom by Steven B. Cowan and James S. Spiegel. This a very good (and reader friendly) overview of philosophy from a Christian perspective.

These "tools" along with scripture, will allow you to fulfill the requirements of 1 Peter 3:15
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 23, 2016
Dr. Jason Lisle is truly gifted when he makes the point of creation. Most people don't really know what they believe. He challenges your world view and helps us to understand what we really believe. I am better able to help others examine their own world view after reading this book.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 26, 2015
Dr. Lisle is a great man of God and I admire him deeply. However, regarding his book "The Ultimate Proof" he is not using good logic. Granted, the truth of God's Word (the Christian Scripture) does not depend on any external evidence (science). God's Word is true regardless of any external or scientific evidence simply because it comes from God, but external evidence (or science) can show us if we have God's Word.

It is from external evidence or science that we know the Scriptures are God's Word. The miracles of Jesus were external evidence that His words were of divine origin. Even our Lord pointed to His miracles as external evidence to believe He spoke with divine authority and infallibility.The historical and objective and external evidence of the resurrection of Jesus Christ from the dead is scientific proof that the Bible must be God's Word. Jesus Himself said that His resurrection would be the ultimate sign (external evidence) that His word is infallible.

It is from science we know that the Bible is God's Word and, therefore, it is totally scientific to judge the scientific theories of men by Scripture. We need not prove scientifically everything in the Bible to know that it's true. That's not necessary. Once you show from science (external evidence) that the Bible must be of divine origin then it stands to reason that whatever Scripture teaches on any subject must be true. No further external or scientific evidence is necessary.

THE SCIENTIFIC AUTHORITY OF SCRIPTURE

by Babu G. Ranganathan
(B.A. Bible/Biology)

Can we use the Christian Scriptures (The Holy Bible) to judge the secular scientific theories of men? Once it has been shown from science (external evidence) that the Bible is of divine origin then it stands to reason that whatever Scripture teaches on any subject must be true. No further external or scientific evidence is necessary.

The truth of God's Word does not depend on any external evidence (science). God's Word is true regardless of any external or scientific evidence simply because it comes from God, but external evidence (science) can show us if we have God's Word.
When God told Moses to speak for Him before the Jews who were enslaved in Egypt, Moses asked God how the people would know that He sent him. God said that the miracles He will perform through Moses would be evidence that Moses was sent by Him. These miracles were unique and visible to all and, therefore, scientific evidence to all that Moses, indeed, was sent from God and his message can be trusted as being true.

What God said to Moses was true irrespective of any miracles, but how were the people to know that God spoke to Moses. How were the people to know that they actually had God's Word? That's where the external (scientific) evidence has value and purpose.
Now, it is true that the Egyptians also were able to perform miracles (the Devil has supernatural power also), but, after a certain point, the Egyptian authorities could not replicate the miracles seen through Moses, thus demonstrating the superiority and uniqueness of the divine source of Moses’ miracles and authority.

The Christian Scriptures may be used as a scientific and forensic tool by which to judge all secular thought because it is from science that we know the Christian Scriptures ultimately originated from God.

In fact, the early Christian fathers used forensic science to determine which writings were truly from the apostles. It was by use of forensic science that the early Church fathers determined what manuscripts or writings constituted the Bible, Word of God. Yes, the Holy Spirit certainly guided the Church fathers, but the Spirit did so by way of forensic science.

It’s not blind faith to believe what the Bible says on a scientific issue or any issue because forensic science shows us the Christian Scriptures are the Word of God. How is this so?

The greatest fact of history is the resurrection of our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ. The resurrection of Christ was witnessed by His disciples, as well as many others. The disciples were afraid after Jesus died and went into hiding. It’s only because they witnessed Jesus having rose from the dead that they had the courage to preach the Christian Gospel at the risk of being put to death.
Christianity would not have succeeded if Christ had not risen from the dead. The disciples wouldn’t have had the courage to preach that Christ is Lord and Savior and that salvation is only through His name if they really believed Christ was still dead.

The unique message of the Christian Gospel that men cannot save themselves, as the other religions taught, and that only through Christ’s atoning work on the Cross can men be saved was an unwelcome message and could not have been invented or originated from men. The early Christians were threatened with torture and death for preaching such a message.

The Apostles performed signs and wonders as evidence of their authority. We could not have even gotten the Christian Scriptures and the spread of the Christian faith without the Apostles providing objective (scientific) evidence that they spoke for God. All of this constitutes forensic science supporting the Christian Scriptures to be the Word of God. Therefore, we can trust that the Bible we now have is of divine and supernatural origin and that the men who wrote the original Scriptures were, indeed, guided by God so that it was error free.

There are numerous scientific truths in the Bible giving evidence that the writers of Scripture were, indeed, guided by God. For example, the Bible tells us in Isaiah 40:22 that the Earth is a sphere: “He sits enthroned above the circle of the earth, and its people are like grasshoppers. He stretches out the heavens like a canopy, and spreads them out like a tent to live in” (KJV). The word “circle” in the passage comes from the original Hebrew word meaning “sphere.”

In Job 26:7 we read that the Earth is suspended in space: “He spreads out the northern skies over empty space; he suspends the earth over nothing” (NIV).

In Isaiah 55:10 we read about the evaporation and condensation cycle: “As the rain and the snow come down from heaven, and do not return to it without watering the earth and making it bud and flourish, so that it yields seed for the sower and bread for the eater” (NIV).
In Psalm 8:8, the Bible states that there are ocean currents in the depths of the sea, something only discovered in modern times. There are many more examples that can be cited.

It is from science we know that the Bible is God's Word and, therefore, it is totally scientific to judge the scientific theories of men by Scripture. We need not prove scientifically everything in the Bible to know that it's true. That's not necessary because, as mentioned, once it has been shown from science that the Bible must be of divine origin then it stands to reason that whatever Scripture teaches on any subject must be true. No further external or scientific evidence is necessary.

Read the author's popular Internet article: TRADITIONAL DOCTRINE OF HELL EVOLVED FROM GREEK ROOTS

Visit the author's newest Internet site: THE SCIENCE SUPPORTING CREATION

The author, Babu G. Ranganathan, has a B.A. degree with concentrations in Bible and Biology and has been recognized for his writings on religion and science in the 24th edition of Marquis “Who’s Who in the East.”
11 comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse