Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Ultra 80 s vs Electro
Amazon Vehicles Up to 80 Percent Off Textbooks Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Ryley Walker Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Snacks Totes Summer-Event-Garden Amazon Cash Back Offer power_s3 power_s3 power_s3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
13
Price:$19.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 22, 2002
The Ultra Series is as straightforward as you'll get in dance. Clear theme on the front (this case 80s vs Electro), and two discs of big names. So it's simple really; look at all the artists - anyone remotely tuned to dance should recognize the majority - and if it sounds good it'll be a safe bet.
80s vs Electro, their fifth of the lot, combines pretty much all the hottest work from the rising electroclash "don't call me nuwave" scene with a truly odd mash up of classic tunes from back in the day. Sound theory, sketchy selections as Tears for Fears makes no sense and (blasphemy alert) Grandmaster Flash's seminal hip hop "White Lines" is the wrong record for this particular mix. Surely they could have licensed a better Green Velvet tune than his non-ironic, plodding "Genedefekt?"
Now the trick with electroclash is to harness the retro spirit to modern speeds, yet keep it (seemingly) simple and catchy. And not get lazy about it. And keep Felix da Housecat rolling in cash.
There's straight, Bobby Peru with burrowing synth work that strobes all over the place on "Into the Night," legit-pop from underground techno force Luke Slater in full song "Stars and Heroes," club choons via Who Da Funk on, ahem, "Shiny Disco B*lls," and icy-cool from Selway and the French robot all stars on "Digital Emotion." For novelty-disposable tunes you get instantly forgettable detached-female-vocals from W.I.T., Miss Kittin and gusgus (what happened there?) and much better examples from Bis (pop delight "The End Starts Today") and Felix. Guys get in the act, more sincere, from Royksopp, Mathias Schaffhauser, and Zoot Woman's fantastic guitar meets ELO channeling on "Living in a Magazine."
Add in a tastefully sincere instrumental, as Jan Hammer's "Crocket's Theme" (no, it's not that one) gets an FPU makeover. Oh, and obscure tunes from M/A/R/R/S and Gary Numan see the light as well. File 80s vs Electro under "guilt pleasure."
Disc 1: 2.5 stars Disc 2: 3.5 stars
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 25, 2002
This cd is not perfect and i regret saying that it is the actual 80's songs that drag this compilation down a level, but much of this album is new and emulates the 80's sound with deep dancable bass that seems to be the next step in club music evolution. Most of these songs were recorded in 2002, which gives us refreshing hope that electronic music has broken out of it's five year funk of redundancy, and now there is a clever sound, although borrowed in parts from the 80's, that can spearhead a new club scene. 16 of the 24 songs are thrilling and tickle your taste for more more more. the rest are flashbacks to the respectable 80's but stick out like sore thumbs and slow down the excitemant. do what you have to do to get this cd.....don't miss out on the future through the past.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 7, 2014
Two cds twelve tracks each.I have many ultra cds and like club.I also like old songs with a club blend.However beware of a few factors.There is limited blending and or cross fade of beats there is some but most songs go right into next.The easy dj way out of mixing.So far as the mixing there is little of that.Good few of the songs are original no mix up.I didnt care much for the track list.I being a dj myself could of found alot better somgs and mixes.Course White lines is always good.My track pick is disk two track 7 now that is a jam.Course to its original no fancy mix or blend each song after goes down hill.Not the best cd by far.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 28, 2011
Well it seems pretty disgraceful to say this but i bought the compilation far beyond its origianl release date. I apologize. But i was dying to get it when i first heard of it!!! I really needed it to fit in the rest of my Ultra Electro Collection mixed and edited by the one and only David Waxman. God bless him becuz he's done an amzing job on this series of Electro music.
TO start off with the first disc- Amazing song to start off with Shout by Tears For Fears. Then leading on to something very avant-garde by Kraftwerk. I knew the mixings and crossfades were going to be kinda tacky becuz of how the bpm levels are on most of the tracks. But it really didnt matter. What mattered was the tracks. I absolutely love White Lines by Grandmaster Flash. And the repitition of the "uAh!!" was killer to the next funkatronic track Genedefekt by Green Velvet. Quite awkward with White Horse by Basto. The rest of the songlist was well picked. The two most Extreme Electro songs to me were In This Feeling by Bobby Peru & Digital Emotion (Seratonin Mix) by Selway. Quite well.
The second disc was fine. I absolutley love Madame Hollywood by Felix Da Housecat. He pretty much owned the album with two other remixes by him. Pretty well on the rest. I like the last three tracks becuz they brought an intense sense of Rock and electro put together. Especially Cars by Gary Numan. Great way to end the compilation especially in a Raw and hard-edged remix.
This c.d. had a story to it. To me was a diverse lifestyle of the 80's in a L.A. scene from Rodeo Drive to East Los Angeles to The Blvd. to Melrose, to the Great HOLLYWOOD sign, and to Venice Beach then what clashed with the recent hits of the Electronica genre. There cudve been a bit more variety of 80's tracks. I myself as a dj wud totally love to come out alongside David with a Second volume (idk if anyone has noticed) becuz the album is title "Ultra 80's vs Electro 01". Where's Volume 02???
Whoever plans on buying the album BUY IT!!! Totally worth it!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 21, 2002
Having already given us both chillout and dance collections, the family at Ultra throws us a curveball of a compilation: "80s Vs. Electro." It features a smattering of new wave/synth gems of the old school, and they're blended in with the modern electro songs they inspire. It's a great premise, and this double disc set succeeds more often than it fails. On Disc 1, I couldn't quite understand the logic behind the appearance of Grandmaster Flash's hip hop classic "White Lines" on a compilation of this nature, and its presence sticks out like a sore thumb. But selections that make better sense include "Trans Europe Express" from the granddaddies of electronica, Kraftwerk. Green Velvet's mindlessly robotic "Genedefekt" brilliantly blends into the 1980s club anthem "White Horse" from the forgotten Danish act Laidback. I was a little less impressed with Disc 2, although there was enough to keep me interested. Things go off to a promising start with 1988's "Pump Up the Volume" by M/A/R/R/S, leading us up right to the irresistible slice of neo-retro synth pop that is "Madame Hollywood" by Felix da Housecat. New schoolers Royksopp and gusgus surface, but after that, the disc gets a bit patchy with a few subpar new wave tunes before we get to the disc's closer, Gary Numan's classic "Cars." While this disc didn't quite make me want to grab my skinny tie, it was an overall decent compilation that could have benefited from slightly better mixing and better song selection. Still "Ultra 80s Vs. Electro" gets a B- in my school of music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 28, 2009
This is a great album for people who enjoyed electro music of the 80s. Not everything here is from this time period, but if you like that sound, you'll like the never stuff as it emulates the songs which were released during that period. The 80s stuff I knew, but the others no so much, although I had heard a lot of it in various DJ mixes over the last few years. This music is coming around again and this is a good selection of it. A good party album, I think. Something for the casual listener of dance music as well as folks who appreciate it a bit more.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 29, 2011
This CD is ok if you are in to the 80's.
I thought it was going to be a better CD.
But still good...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2015
I love this CD, however a few tracks skip. There are some very light scratches on disc 1.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2003
although i cannot offer the deep insight of the other reviewers, i do recognize that this CD has good beats. the mix isn't very smooth though, but this is a minor inconvenience in the wealth of bumpin' grooves on this compilation.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 2, 2015
awesome comp!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here