Workplace Solutions Best Kids' Books of the Year Amazon Fashion nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Electronics Holiday Gift Guide Starting at $39.99 Luxury Beauty Gift with Purchase Gifts for Him hggv216 Get up to $100 back on House Cleaning services pet pet pet  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $89.99 Kindle Oasis bourne Shop Outdoor Gift Ideas on Amazon

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 14 reviews(verified purchases). Show all reviews
on January 23, 2008
The Holman UltraThin Reference Bible: Holman Christian Standard Bible, UltraThin Reference, Burgundy Bonded Leather

Like all the other reviewers have said, this translation is excellent. It's more literal than the NIV, yet more readable. You'll also find that it's a little more idiomatic than the NIV. For example, in Matthew 5:22 it reads:

"But I tell you, everyone who is angry with his brother will be subject to judgment. And whoever says to his brother, 'Fool!' will be subject to the Sanhedrin. But whoever says, 'You moron!' will be subject to hellfire."

Most other translations, including the NIV and the NASB, will read 'You fool!' rather than 'You moron!' Interestingly enough, the the New Living Translation (NLT) uses the word 'idiot'.

Also, in Genesis story of the flood, the word 'deluge' is used . . . not 'flood.' This word choice is odd especially since the word 'deluge' is rarely used today.

Aside from the HCSB being more accurate and more readable than the NIV, the translators of the HCSB chose to capitalize all pronouns referencing God and Jesus. For me, personally, this is a huge plus! I know the Greek and Hebrew manuscripts don't capitalize these words, but there are a lot of serious students as well as scholars who believe just out of respect for our Creator and His Son that this should be done. The translators of the NASB, the NKJV, and the NLT have also chosen to do this.

Another big plus for this translation is that the translators have included footnotes indicating textual variances, much similar to what the translators of the NKJV have done.

The book binding is very good and lays relatively flat when you open it up and lay on your desk. The paper quality is just right so that the pages don't curl up nor do see the wording on the backside of the pages.

However . . . the print is very small. It has to be a 8-point font or less and the footnotes is even smaller!

So, if you're an older individual like me who wears bifocals, you may have a problem here. I went ahead and ordered the large print edition.

Bottom-line: This Bible is very accurate and very readable and of excellent quality. I'd give this Bible a 5-star rating except for the small print.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 4, 2007
This is an excellent Bible - and very affordable for a Bible of such high quality.

First the text: The Holman Christian Standard Bible features the reliable HCSB text. An excellent feature of this text is that it puts Old Testament quotes in bold letters in the New Testament, which reveals how prophecy was fulfilled or highlights where references to the Old Testament are quoted by NT writers. For me, this adds to the reading experience and helps connect both the Old and New Testaments.

Second, the font: The font is good on the eyes. The lettering stands out well on the paper and the page presentation is clean and attractive.

Third, the presentation and display on the pages: When I opened the box and saw this Bible, I was really delighted. It lives up to its name of being "Ultra Thin", but feels lovely in the hand. The Genuine Leather has a great, grainy texture with a soft shine in deep black. The pages have a very attractive gold edge.

Another bonus for the Bible I bought was that it was indexed, with the Old Testament books indexed in black and the New Testament indexed in red.

Overall, this Bible is lovely - a real winner. And, as I mentioned earlier in this review, to get such a high quality Bible at such an affordable price, makes it even more attractive to have and keep.Holy Bible Holman Christian Standard Bible Ultrathin Reference: Holman Christian Standard Bible, Ultra Thin Classic, Slide Tab, Black Genuine Leather
11 comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 11, 2016
This is, probably, one of the best editions of the Bible ever made. I haven't read it fully, but from what I have been told and read for myself, the HCSB is a very good translation of the Bible. The copy I received has a copyright date of 2012 and uses the updated HCSB of 2009.

The paper is very nice, thin, but not too thin, and opaque enough to where the bleed-through is kept to a minimum. The bonded leather cover feels nice in the hand, is flexible enough, and seems like it will hold up a long time, just don't leave it in a hot car. The sans serif typeface is very nice on the eyes, particularly in this age of computers and webpages that are written in largely sans serif typefaces. The placement of the page number AND book and chapter reference at the BOTTOM of the page does take a little getting used to, but I feel like I will adapt to it very quickly. The translation notes are very useful in their presentation, for those who care about that type of thing, and the center column references seem very well done.

I especially like how a book doesn't begin on the same page as another book's ending. I would have preferred all the books to begin on the right hand side page, so all began on the same side of the Bible, but in the interest of squeezing every fraction of an inch (or millimeter, if that's your way of doing things) out, I understand the need to make books begin on the first available new page and appreciate that they do begin on a new page. This Bible is also red-lettered. That is not a make or break deal for me when it comes to Bibles, but I feel it has a certain element of making the presentation feel that much nicer.

Overall, if you want a Bible that is very portable, easy to read, and useful for regular, everyday reading and public, group reading as well, this is the Bible for you, of course, if you like the HCSB. I don't know so far about the taking of notes in the margins, they feel a little small, but if you are used to doing that, you may find them well spacious enough.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 20, 2016
This is an excellent copy of the Holman Christian Standard Bible. HCSB is a clear, contemporary English translation that's faithful to the original languages of the Bible and is the preferred translation at my Baptist church. The photo in the listing is only of the sleeve the bible comes in (and the old one at that) so I'm including a couple of pictures for you to make a more informed purchase. You'll notice that this copy lists the Book and chapter reference on the bottom corner instead of the top corner - this takes a bit of getting used to but makes you see the word differently as well. This is a beautiful black bonded leather bound copy. It has gold edging on the thin pages and red-letter wording where Jesus speaks. It also has a bound in book mark. The book measures just shy of 9 x 5.75 x 1 - cut 1/16th of an inch off of all those measurements for a more precise size. This is a very nice sized bible. The text is laid out in double columns that has a center reference column. It also has foot notes with more precise wording information throughout the entire book, which is a standard of the HCSB bible "because every word matters". At the front of the Bible it includes family tracking pages, a table of contents, God's plan for salvation and an introduction to the HCSB version. After Revelations this copy includes HCSB bullet notes, a concordance, and several full color maps. I'm very impressed with the extra information included in this carry sized bible. This is designed for studying God's word, not just having a copy on your shelf.
review image review image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2016
The HCSB is probably the most readable Bible translation there is, excluding actual paraphrases. It's hard to put this down! Having said that, there are some disadvantages to the translation. For the most part, it is a literal and accurate translation. However, there are places where the Bible deviates into paraphrasing, and it sometimes is not reflective of the actual Hebrew/Greek text. A good example is in Luke 22:38 when Jesus said (in the HCSB), "Enough of that!" In reality, the literal translation is, "That is sufficient." The difference is very subtle, yet it means something completely different, and it is difficult to justify this paraphrasing. Also, I was disappointed in the physical quality of the Bible I received. There are several places toward the end of the Epistles where there is a hole near the binding. It looks like the binding was sewn, then unsewn, then re-sewn in a different place, leaving the hole I see. I have to say, though, that this is a great value since I only paid $15 for a bonded leather-bound Bible. If you want to read the Bible for narrative (such as, reading it from cover-to-cover), this is probably the translation you want! But because of some of the odd paraphrasing that occasionally rears its head, I cannot recommend this translation for intensive study.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 31, 2009
The Holman is by far my favorite translation. There's been a lot said about its merits elsewhere, so I won't comment on that aspect of it. It's difficult to pick the right edition because there are no photos of the actual bible itself on any website.

If you are looking for a slim edition of the HCSB you will likely be happy with this one. Compared to the the genuine leather edition (ISBN 158640136-X),the binding is comparable, if not identical. However, the genuine leather edition has brighter paper and I do prefer texture of genuine leather over the bonded leather (bonded=leather scraps glued together). The genuine leather also has a lifetime guarantee.
33 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 9, 2008
The Holman version is a strong, albeit peculiar translation of the Bible. I like some of the choices they have made in breaking away from traditional translations of some texts (ie. John 3:16 'God loved the world in this way' and using the divine name, Yahweh, instead of small caps 'Lord' in some instances in the OT). But for every step forward, I think they've taken a step back as well. The choice to break away from traditional rendering make it harder to use in a multi-translation setting. Plus, I've come across several passages where I felt like the HCSB missed the point of the passage where most other translations have gotten it right. From a translation perspective, I'd still recommend the NIV and ESV over the Holman version, but the Holman version has plenty to commend itself.

As for this particular Bible, I ordered it and found that there are so many cross-references and the superscript font stands out so much that it was distracting trying to read. The size is good for a reference Bible.
22 comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 18, 2008
Portable! No notes but excellent HCSB translation, excellent cross-references and good concordance in an ultra-thin package. Moderate and basic.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
the size of print is perfect for those who have trouble reading some print. The pages are easy to
turn and the size is perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2015
Nice translation.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse