<Embed>
List Price: $26.00
Save: $12.03 (46%)
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Arrives: Wednesday, Jan 27 Details
Only 1 left in stock - order soon.
As an alternative, the Kindle eBook is available now and can be read on any device with the free Kindle app. Want to listen? Try Audible.
Your transaction is secure
We work hard to protect your security and privacy. Our payment security system encrypts your information during transmission. We don’t share your credit card details with third-party sellers, and we don’t sell your information to others. Learn more
Ships from Amazon
Sold by Collectiblecounty
Ships from
Amazon


Ultraviolet: A Novel has been added to your Cart
FREE Shipping
Get free shipping
Free 5-8 day shipping within the U.S. when you order $25.00 of eligible items sold or fulfilled by Amazon.
Or get 4-5 business-day shipping on this item for $5.99 . (Prices may vary for AK and HI.)
Learn more about free shipping
on orders over $25.00 shipped by Amazon or get Fast, Free Shipping with Amazon Prime
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Stonebridge1
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Minor dust cover wear. No spine creasing. Pages are crisp and clean. SHIPS DIRECTLY FROM AMAZON with delivery tracking number. No-hassle return policy. Your satisfaction is guaranteed.

Other Sellers on Amazon
$10.24
+ $3.99 shipping
Sold by: belles-books
$16.15
& FREE Shipping on eligible orders. Details
Sold by: Amazon.com
Have one to sell?
Loading your book clubs
There was a problem loading your book clubs. Please try again.
Not in a club? Learn more
Amazon book clubs early access

Join or create book clubs

Choose books together

Track your books
Bring your club to Amazon Book Clubs, start a new book club and invite your friends to join, or find a club that’s right for you for free.
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more

Ultraviolet: A Novel Hardcover – September 4, 2018

4.1 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
Hardcover
$13.97
$7.22 $1.95

Books with Buzz
Discover the latest buzz-worthy books, from mysteries and romance to humor and nonfiction. Explore more
click to open popover

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
    Apple
  • Android
    Android
  • Windows Phone
    Windows Phone
  • Click here to download from Amazon appstore
    Android

To get the free app, enter your mobile phone number.

kcpAppSendButton

Special offers and product promotions

Editorial Reviews

Review

Praise for Ultraviolet

"This unostentatious yet intricate novel follows the women of a family across nearly a century . . . Domestic scenes emit blasts of emotional life, as the women grapple with the 'swooning collapse and then the expanding distance' between their interior lives and the outside world." —The New Yorker

“This gorgeous novel examines the complexities of the mother–daughter relationship.”— Real Simple

"This sprawling, beautiful novel follows the lives of three generations of women. . . It's an emotional, poignant look at the ways in which our dreams for ourselves often fall apart, and how even lives that seem quietly lived are filled with profound meaning." —Kristin Iversen, NYLON

“Explores the lives of several generations of one family across America and overseas—and in doing so ventures to unexpected emotional states.” —Vol. 1 Brooklyn

“Fascinating and stirring . . . . Matson glides through her characters’ lives in almost self–contained chapters punctuated by explosions of burnished emotion . . . . Readers will latch onto the unforgettable characters of this accomplished saga of the shifting personal and historical complications of American womanhood.”—Publishers Weekly (starred and boxed review)

“Fans of Anne Tyler and Geraldine Brooks will enjoy the intertwined, intergenerational narratives, historical details, and emotional depth of this engrossing novel.”—Booklist

“Matson's chapters, each of which jumps forward in time, conclude with an especially poignant reflection on aging, as Samantha cares for her dying mother in her final days. This is a stoic view of mother–daughter love: an unsentimental reflection on both the tribulations and the importance of filial connection.”—Kirkus

“From its wonderful opening in 1930s India, Suzanne Matson's beautifully accurate and illuminating Ultraviolet follows the fates of three generations of American women, along the shifting borders of safety and freedom. As time carries them past risks and refuges, the reader is left with a shimmering sense of lives lived.”—Joan Silber, author of Improvement

“Capacious, unsentimental and yet forgiving, Ultraviolet brings us both the intimacy of women's lives and their trajectories across continents and generations. This is Suzanne Matson at her wisest and deepest—wonderful.”—Gish Jen, author of The Girl at the Baggage Claim

“Acutely, elegantly, Suzanne Matson traces her characters' paths from the hills of colonial India to the suburban American west to the dislocated excesses of an Alaska cruise ship. Here are the women in a family and the impact they have—or fail to have—on one another. And here, in the silences between vivid moments, we see how years pass, how lives pass, how a century passes.”—Joan Wickersham, author of The News from Spain and The Suicide Index

"A beautiful, passionate, utterly absorbing novel."—Margot Livesey, author of Mercury

Review

Praise for The Tree-Sitter (2006)

“Through the lens of first love, Suzanne Matson raises questions of morality and responsibility, of idealism and identity. . . . It’s rare for fiction to push its protagonist and its readers to such moral dilemmas, but Matson is unflinching.” ―Ann Hood, author of Morningstar

The Tree-Sitter is one of those rare, elegantly written, quietly intense books that, without resorting to sensationalism or fanfare, winds up keeping you awake at night.” ―Suzanne Berne, author of The Dogs of Littlefield

“With its vivid characters, suspenseful plot, and moral complexity, this is a wonderful and very timely novel.” ―Margot Livesey, author of Mercury

“At once luminous and dark, The Tree-Sitter asks age-old questions in a brand-new world. This is Suzanne Matson’s most gripping, resonant, and timely book to date.” ―Elizabeth Graver, author of The End of the Point

“A confounding but compelling romance with impeccable timing.” ―Los Angeles Times

Praise for A Trick of Nature (2000)

“A compelling, unpredictable narrative that moves beyond its calm suburban setting into darker social and psychological territory. Suzanne Matson’s gripping second novel only confirms what readers of The Hunger Moon already know: she is a writer of uncommon wisdom and emotional depth.” ―Tom Perrotta, author of Mrs. Fletcher

“Like Ann Hood and Sue Miller, Suzanne Matson captures average people reevaluating their once comfortable domesticity as middle age slowly approaches. In delivering the Goodmans’ stumbling marriage, A Trick of Nature plumbs the attractions and terrors of giving up the familiar for an uncertain freedom.” ―Stewart O’Nan, author of City of Secrets

“A compassionate psychological portrait of one family’s slow unraveling―A Trick of Nature skillfully charts the often unpredictable aftershocks of tragedy.” ―A. Manette Ansay, author of Good Things I Wish You

“So skillfully does Matson describe the calm before the marital storm that it’s possible to be lulled right along with them into their own blind harmony.” ―Boston Book Review

Praise for The Hunger Moon (1997)

“In this fast-moving, elegantly crafted novel, Suzanne Matson traces the arch and swoop of women moving through each other’s lives.” ―Pagan Kennedy, author of Inventology

“Matson has given us a poet’s-eye view―not just the behaviors but the emotional map as well.” ―Harvard Review

“A lovely, engaging first novel about the intersections between three women at very different points in their lives, each looking both inward and outward to find her place in the world.” ―Melanie Thernstrom, author of The Pain Chronicles

“Crisp, clean writing. . . . Compassionately drawn characters. . . . Matson examines the full sweep of women’s lives.” ―The New York Times Book Review


Product details

  • Publisher : Catapult (September 4, 2018)
  • Language : English
  • Hardcover : 256 pages
  • ISBN-10 : 1936787954
  • ISBN-13 : 978-1936787951
  • Item Weight : 1.05 pounds
  • Dimensions : 6.3 x 0.87 x 9.3 inches
  • Customer Reviews:
    4.1 out of 5 stars 14 ratings

An Amazon Book with Buzz: "The Four Winds" by Kristin Hannah
"A timely novel highlighting the worth and delicate nature of Nature itself." -Delia Owens Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5
14 global ratings
How are ratings calculated?

Top reviews from the United States

Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2018
Verified Purchase
6 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
3 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 8, 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on October 16, 2018
Verified Purchase
One person found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on November 7, 2018
Verified Purchase
2 people found this helpful
Report abuse
Reviewed in the United States on September 4, 2020
Verified Purchase
Reviewed in the United States on December 30, 2018
Verified Purchase