Your Garage Best Books of the Month STEM nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Samsung S8 Launch Starting at $39.99 STEM Handmade Mother's Day Gifts Shop Popular Services henriettalacks henriettalacks henriettalacks  All-New Echo Dot Starting at $49.99 Kindle Oasis Nintendo Switch National Bike Month on Amazon disgotg_gno_17

Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:$24.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 30 reviews(Verified Purchases). See all 80 reviews
on June 22, 2016
Nothing prepared me for this incredibly wonderful film Moving, tragic really, and yet one identifies with Battisti throughout. His dog is a key character, and anyone who has ever had a pet will empathize here. Stunning neo-realismo photography frames every scene in textures that are coincident with the man's predicament. All truth seems an illusion, false at last.

Buy this film,,you will watch it many times.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 10, 2016
A very moving picture that goes deep into the character dilema. He was a man of dignity who had worked all his life to support himself, now finds himself old, sick, with little income for retirement, without a family to help him or care for him, and unable to live with such meager income, therefore faces the only alternative he has left, to beg. It forced me to empathize with the many beggars and homeless I see everyday in my city, whom I unconsciously tended to judge without knowing anything about the circumstances that brought them to have to beg. It is the kind of film that teaches us to be human and understanding of our fellow men.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 30, 2016
An absolutely engaging classic film! This will having you thinking about the main character and his dog long after you watched it. I still think about it even after the first time I watched it years ago. If you like film at all, you MUST see this. If you don't get emotional after watching it, you are missing a human gene.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 23, 2016
A sad and intensely moving film. The dog, Flike, provides the impetus for an ending that makes it difficult to hold back the tears. Well worth watching.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 2, 2017
Amazing and thoughtful movie with an important message of how to live life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2017
A Classic! As all great movies do, this is a film of the complexities, hardship, and resolve of living life.
It's honesty is present throughout.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 18, 2016
For those few on the outside who can appreciate it
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2015
Very poignant naturalism in this Italian film from 1950's, directed by Vittorio DeSica. It is a character study of an old man who is impoverished, and only has his small dog for a friend, and his trying to make his way in a rapidly modernizing post war Rome. It is slow at times, but when the camera is on Carlo Battisti, as the old man, the film's sincerity is apparent, and as the dog is the only one faithful to his human master, some kind of philosophy must be underlying here, but just short of being pretentious. A decent artsy, foreign film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 19, 2016
Heartbreaking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2017
xcellent.. tragic.. heartwarming.. a classic of post wwII Italian neo realism.. music and cinematography outstanding...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse