Bubble Witch Saga 3 Check out Santa's new ride Beauty Best Books of the Year Black Friday Deals Week nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc For a limited time. 3 months for $0.99. Amazon Music Unlimited. New subscribers only. Terms and conditions apply. PCB for Musical Instruments $24.99 for a limited time only Grocery Handmade Gift Shop Home and Garden Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video Black Friday deals: save 40% or more on Amazon Video  Echo Show Black Friday Deals Week: Fire tablets starting at $29.99. Limited-time offer. $30 off Kindle Paperwhite Shop Now HTL17_gno



on July 24, 2016
The earth is round and our current treatment and ideas of charities are about as useful as a flat earth understanding of the world. I began this book with an interest in starting a non-profit...I finished it with the goal of actually solving a human need problem. Neither of which can happen if we dont fix our outdated and dangerous ideas about how charity should work.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 30, 2017
Very thought provoking. I enjoyed discussing and arguing these ideas and their feasibility. I was disappointed by the massive scope in the conclusion. I was hoping Pallotta would offer some tips and tricks of handling the status quo. SPOILER ALERT: Instead, he concluded that our whole society needs to change for nonprofits to be successful. That was an discouraging conclusion.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2017
Pallotta turns upside down the way nonprofits have operated for 400 years and has compelling reasons as to why the way they have been run is wrong and evaluations of charities based on percentage of overhead versus AMOUNTS going to the cause makes little sense.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 4, 2016
Th Book gives interesting insight and makes some good points however the author seems to be making the same point over and over - just different illustrations of it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 3, 2014
This books makes a very compelling argument, that the very design of non-profits (limited admin/marketing, poor exec compensation) hurts their ability to actually solve the problems they were chartered to solve. Very convincing, well researched and fun to read. I've told a dozen people about it already.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 7, 2016
While I'm not sure unfettered capitalism is the panacea that Pallotta claims, but many of the ideas he writes about do seem very prudent for non profit success.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2016
This is a fantastic description of the perverse rules that apply only to non-profits and hold them back from their potential impact.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2013
It is undeniable that the public has been grossly mislead into believing that the only useful metric for evaluating charities is the percentage of contributions that go "to the cause." The unrelenting focus of the media and self-appointed watchdogs on overhead has obscured the more important question of the effectiveness of a charity in performing their mission. Author Dan Pallotta's book is a masterful argument that begins with an examination of the Puritan roots of our conception of charity, showing how we have lost sight of the most powerful impetus to the improvement of human welfare. Anyone who understands the insight of Adam Smith will realize that self-interest is not confined to economics. It can and should be harnessed to alleviate suffering and solve the problems that afflict our world. He then lays out a comprehensive critique of our current efforts and makes some clear recommendations for the reforms necessary for improvement. Everyone should read this book.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2015
Great book on why most not for profits fail.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 5, 2013
Readers who do not accept the power of markets and competition to drive innovation and growth will not accept the premise that there is a better way to endow charitable organisations with the tools to enable them to successfully achieve their goals. I have no such concerns and so found Dan's arguments very powerful. I have worked in the private sector and now have a variety of links with charitable organisations. With the opportunity for growth, innovation and increased scale and risk there will need to be changes to governance and accountability but overall his message is a very powerful one. Well worth reading and debating by all who are interested in making this sector more effective.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse