BCA Month Beauty Fall Reading Hallo nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Learn more about Amazon Music Unlimited Electronics Gift Guide $69.99 Handmade Gift Shop hgg17 Book a house cleaner for 2 or more hours on Amazon Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent Baby Driver Available to Rent  Three new members of the Echo family All-New Fire 7, starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis South Park Shop Now PSFF17_gno



on June 10, 2017
Fantastic book about investing. Mr. Fisher describes his experience starting out in the investment business just before the great depression and the 50 or so years that followed. He calls himself a growth investor, but I think anyone looking for a good solid foundation in value investing, ala Ben Graham, Warren Buffet, or Joel Greenblat, should give this book a shot.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 18, 2016
Must read! This book explains the investment philosophy of how Fisher finds growth stocks that lead to massive gains if held forever! It also includes his other writings such as Conservative Investors Sleep Well. I won't go into too much detail as to spoil the book but this is a great read for any investor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 4, 2017
This is an outstanding book. Although most of it was written almost 40 years ago, the ideas presented in this book are as compelling as when they were first published. This book is as relevant to someone trying to build a business as it is to someone who is trying to find the right sort of business in which to invest. The fifteen points that he uses to evaluate a stock can also be used as guidelines for rapid and succesful growth for the outstanding company
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 8, 2016
One of my top favorite books on investing! Very easy to read, but each time I read, I learn something new! It allows you to appreciate the qualitative side of investing. It's not all about the numbers! Very refreshing and eye-opening​.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 10, 2015
There is reason why this book is one of three important works that Warren Buffet acknowledge as the foundation for his approach to investment. In this book Fisher goes through his method and philosophy when it comes to investing in stocks. He is a true mastermind when it comes to the valuation of companies. Of course much has happened since this book, but it is still highly relevant and has for me worked as the foundation of how I approach stock trading.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 9, 2013
Mr.Fischer explains how one would be able to invest in company with a good growth prospects in the future. However, this is not a trait that is not easy to acquire, and one may find that he/she is very wrong about the projection into the future. A TV business that Mr. Fischer describes, for example, is no longer extant in the United States. But, if one can find the competitive advantage in a business, then by all means one should invest in it at a reasonable price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 23, 2009
This book is written from a relaxed point of view on common stock investing. It avoids all the financial analysis, the numbers, and talks about broader ideas. In the early 1960s when it was first printed, it basically replaced all the get rich scheme books like "How I made a Million in...." and "The Sophisticated Invstr...", which were books that mainly told how the author bought and sold, without mentioning elements of scrutiny or luck.

The book served me well from the early 1960s, providing hope in the reality of making large profits.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 3, 2017
This was on my list of books to read. I finally bought it and read it. It contains valuable information, but is geared more towards growth investors.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 8, 2017
Wonderful book that provides a great balance to the teachings of Ben Graham.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 16, 2017
good book worth the read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse